Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum by IBM

4.9
stars
1,769 ratings

About the Course

Get started with using Agile Development and Scrum with this self-paced introductory course! After successfully completing this course, you will be able to embrace the Agile concepts of adaptive planning, iterative development, and continuous improvement - resulting in early deliveries and value to customers. You will look at Scrum as a framework and learn how to apply it alongside Agile. You will also become familiar with related methodologies like Waterfall, Extreme Programming (XP), and Kanban. Apply Agile practices derived from lean manufacturing concepts, like test-driven development. Learn how a scrum team functions. Also learn about the importance of Agile iterative planning and enable yourself to write good user stories and track your team’s progress using a kanban board. Create and refine a product backlog collaboratively with the team and the customer, in a flexible and blameless culture. You'll also learn how to use burndown charts, achieve sprint goals, and conduct the sprint review and retrospective. This approach will lead you to higher levels of efficiency, with the ability to plan and execute sprints with your development team, measuring success with actionable metrics. This course is about more than facts and processes. It is about working collaboratively on a self-organizing team, coached by a scrum master, and building what is needed, rather than simply following a plan. Developed and taught by an experienced Agile practitioner, the course includes hands-on practice through realistic scenario-based labs using GitHub and ZenHub. The course will benefit anyone who wants to get started with working the Agile way or transform the organizational culture to adopt and realize the benefits of Scrum. This includes Project Managers, Product Managers, and Executives. It is particularly suitable for IT practitioners such as software developers, development managers, and IT Scrum Masters....

Top reviews

QA

Sep 13, 2022

One of the best training sessions, very engaging and delivered in bite-sized format that is more effective complimented by multiple quizes to reaffirm learner's grasp of the knowledge being received.

XJ

Feb 16, 2024

Detailed overview of Agile Development and Scrum without getting too into the weeds on things. Gives a good basic and I feel comfortable reflecting on the ideas that were covered in this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 399 Reviews for Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum

By Martin B

Dec 10, 2021

The course has a really high quality and I learned a lot. But some of the videos and tasks are not up-to-date and cant be fullfilled (Use and close milestones instead of sprints, see a diagramm about the milestones, etc.)

By Jan F

Oct 6, 2021

Very good course that provides the essentials for understanding agile development and scrum and includes the tools and practices to implement in my organization. The videos and instructor were very engaging. The course layout was organized and easy to follow.

By Hunter B

Sep 17, 2021

A great course on agile philosophy and scrum! John presents the material clearly with good examples and the labs help solidify the scrum process.

By Ritesh K

Sep 2, 2021

I was absolutely new for this topic , I found this course very helpful . I will practice it to learn more about Agile Development and Scrum .

By Alison W

Oct 6, 2021

I enjoyed the course, learned a lot and liked the style of the videos

By David H

Sep 8, 2021

The instructor is excellent. He clearly knows his topic and talks from experience. His delivery is very engaging. The principles and practice of SCRUM are well communicated. The exercises are very helpful in making the practice real as you create stories and move them across the kanban board.

By Nzoji H

Sep 2, 2022

Absolutely a must, in this day and age for any software developer/engineer or even aspiring students. It was very practical and could apply everything immediately to my work. Thank you Team.

By Patrick M

Aug 1, 2022

John Rofrano is an excellent instructor and makes the topics of Agile and Scrum very interesting. Thorougly recommned this course even if you have experience working in an Agile way.

By VEERUPAKSHAPPA

Jan 7, 2022

very poor course materials .Please give detailed explanation course material instead of giving only in the points and also please provide some E books for download options . please consider my feedback .

Thank you .

By Elven J

Jun 17, 2023

I want to express my deep appreciation and gratitude to instructor John Rofrano for his assertiveness in delivering the course content. Articulating complex ideas clearly and concisely contributed to our understanding and successful completion of the labs and final project.

I must also highlight the entire course team for their exceptional work. The structure and organization of the course were flawless, ensuring a seamless learning experience from start to finish. The logical sequence of videos and practical activities in realistic scenario-based labs using GitHub and ZenHub, allowed us to apply theoretical knowledge in applicable settings, further solidifying our understanding of Agile principles.

In conclusion, I want to reiterate my appreciation to the instructor, the entire course team, and IBM for offering such a remarkable learning experience and motivating us to continue moving forward in our learning journey.

With sincere thanks and warm regards,

Elven Jr.

By Sal S

May 15, 2023

Solid introductory course into the concepts of Agile and Scrum. Enabling access to GitHub and ZenHub was a great way to experience and learn more about these principles. Glad I took this course!

By Junior

Sep 14, 2022

This course was straight to the point and ease to understand, the introduction to agile Development and Scrum was explained very wel. Highly recomment this course to a begginer student!

By RaviTeja V

Oct 22, 2021

Very well organized with minimal distractions from the point...As a qualifier of all quizzes I can state above sentence so that all aspirants get access to this great tool

By Sabyasachi M

Oct 20, 2021

This is a very good course covering the basics of Agile methodology. I would highly recommend this to someone who is into project planning and implementation

By Vasanthi M

Mar 26, 2023

Wonderful insights with the real environment and Lab practice and peer review was an awesome experience and experiment. I got my certificate.. thank you

By Rizvan A

Dec 12, 2021

It was really good experience and clearly demonstrates the agile philosophy. I really enjoyed and would strongly recommend it for agile beginners

By Basak a

Oct 8, 2021

Extremely practical course! It has everything you need to get started to Agile way of working. Well Done!

By demian t

Oct 12, 2021

perfect introducction to SCRUM!

By Héctor M

Jul 28, 2023

Many agile concepts are wrongly described. Many of the lectures are repeated from previous course "introduction to devops". Many quizes repeated again and again the same questions. Scrum is not a metholody.. it is an agile framework!

By Google C

Sep 22, 2023

The entire course was exceptional at every level for me, everything was explained in a clear, concise way and it's primarily due to the primary instructor, John Rofrano for he's effective communication and understandable teaching style, whenever he explains something, I always look forward to it, because he says it as it is and doesn't waste time by over complicating it by using difficult expressions or language that is too abstract to grasp. 5/5 rating for me, I enjoyed every part of it and feel confident that I understand all the content covered throughout this course. Thank you to everyone involved in the time, effort and dedication you've put into creating this course, I loved every part of it.

By Tom L

May 1, 2022

Absolutely top notch. This is as good as instruction gets and it is quite apparent that the instructor has lived the talk and walked the walk. Not only does he know the information he is an excellent communicator in a very technical subject. Never found any part boring or hard to understand and follow.

The labs were very well done as well and were a big part of the course and gaining a thorough understanding of the subject matter.

I'm sold on both agile and the encompassing larger subject area of DevOps! I highly recommend this course and the others that I have taken during the IBM DevOps and Software Engineering certification track that I'm on.

By Андрей Б

Apr 4, 2024

I completed this course with great interest. It shows very well what the advantage of Agile is. This gives an understanding of why it needs to be studied. The history of the development of approaches to organizing development from Waterfall to Agile is shown. This gives an understanding of why companies need Agile. Particular attention is paid to Agile thinking and mistakes due to which companies failed to implement Agile. Very good and understandable laboratory tasks, as a result of which you can formulate work on an Agile project and conduct a Sprint. I recommend this course for anyone working in software development and beyond.

By Daniel P d T

Jul 19, 2022

John Rofrano is a rare find (in my experience), in that he is an excellent instructor who can communicate material simply, succinctly, and profoundly to even the uninitated. His instruction is engaging, provides context beyond just what is being taught, and includes real-world cases to elicit critical understanding of the significance of what he's teaching. Communication of the material was clear enough that I didn't have to take a single note. I wish he were the instructor for every single IBM course!

By Gurvinder S

Nov 24, 2023

The learning path is designed thoughtfully. The lecture contents are rich. Examples quoted to explain the concepts made the learning journey interesting. The body language of the instructor kept engaging. This course cleared all the terms used in real-life situations. Pitfalls, and advantages of the way of working entered the subconscious. This course is the foundation course recommended to the learners who are opting for a career in DevOps.

By Robert E E A L

Oct 17, 2021

I highly recommend this course. It is clear and quick and a great preparation for scrum.org certification. An exceptionally well constructed course with excellent video lectures, lab exercises, review tests, and assessments. John Rofrano, the course instructor, is engaging and clear throughout.

Big thank you to John and his team. Great job, thank you for your excellent tuition.