Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum by IBM Skills Network

4.9
stars
933 ratings

About the Course

After successfully completing this course, you will be able to embrace the Agile concepts of adaptive planning, iterative development, and continuous improvement - resulting in early deliveries and value to customers. This course will benefit anyone who wants to get started with working the Agile way. It is particularly suitable for IT practitioners such as software developers, development managers, project managers, product managers, and executives. You will learn to apply Agile practices derived from lean manufacturing concepts, like test-driven development. Learn how a scrum team functions. Learn how to write good user stories and track your team’s progress using a kanban board. Create and refine a product backlog collaboratively with the team and the customer, in a flexible and blameless culture. This approach will lead you to higher levels of efficiency, with the ability to plan and execute sprints with your development team, measuring success with actionable metrics. This course is about more than facts and processes. It is about working collaboratively on a self-organizing team, coached by a scrum master, and building what is needed, rather than simply following a plan. Developed and taught by an experienced Agile practitioner, the course includes hands-on practice through realistic scenario-based labs using GitHub and ZenHub....

Top reviews

QA

Sep 13, 2022

One of the best training sessions, very engaging and delivered in bite-sized format that is more effective complimented by multiple quizes to reaffirm learner's grasp of the knowledge being received.

AA

Mar 19, 2023

It is really a great course to start with. it really clarified me a lot of concepts that I knew but I did know their value.

I recommend it for anybod that wants to start his/her AGILE journey

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 229 Reviews for Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum

By Jan F

Oct 6, 2021

Very good course that provides the essentials for understanding agile development and scrum and includes the tools and practices to implement in my organization. The videos and instructor were very engaging. The course layout was organized and easy to follow.

By Hunter B

Sep 17, 2021

A great course on agile philosophy and scrum! John presents the material clearly with good examples and the labs help solidify the scrum process.

By Ritesh K

Sep 2, 2021

I was absolutely new for this topic , I found this course very helpful . I will practice it to learn more about Agile Development and Scrum .

By Alison W

Oct 6, 2021

I enjoyed the course, learned a lot and liked the style of the videos

By David H

Sep 8, 2021

The instructor is excellent. He clearly knows his topic and talks from experience. His delivery is very engaging. The principles and practice of SCRUM are well communicated. The exercises are very helpful in making the practice real as you create stories and move them across the kanban board.

By Martin B

Dec 10, 2021

The course has a really high quality and I learned a lot. But some of the videos and tasks are not up-to-date and cant be fullfilled (Use and close milestones instead of sprints, see a diagramm about the milestones, etc.)

By Nzoji H

Sep 2, 2022

Absolutely a must, in this day and age for any software developer/engineer or even aspiring students. It was very practical and could apply everything immediately to my work. Thank you Team.

By Eraldo V C J

Sep 14, 2022

This course was straight to the point and ease to understand, the introduction to agile Development and Scrum was explained very wel. Highly recomment this course to a begginer student!

By Patrick M

Aug 1, 2022

John Rofrano is an excellent instructor and makes the topics of Agile and Scrum very interesting. Thorougly recommned this course even if you have experience working in an Agile way.

By RaviTeja V

Oct 22, 2021

Very well organized with minimal distractions from the point...As a qualifier of all quizzes I can state above sentence so that all aspirants get access to this great tool

By Sabyasachi M

Oct 20, 2021

This is a very good course covering the basics of Agile methodology. I would highly recommend this to someone who is into project planning and implementation

By Rizvan A

Dec 12, 2021

It was really good experience and clearly demonstrates the agile philosophy. I really enjoyed and would strongly recommend it for agile beginners

By Basak a

Oct 8, 2021

Extremely practical course! It has everything you need to get started to Agile way of working. Well Done!

By demian t

Oct 12, 2021

perfect introducction to SCRUM!

By VEERUPAKSHAPPA

Jan 7, 2022

very poor course materials .Please give detailed explanation course material instead of giving only in the points and also please provide some E books for download options . please consider my feedback .

Thank you .

By Tom L

May 1, 2022

Absolutely top notch. This is as good as instruction gets and it is quite apparent that the instructor has lived the talk and walked the walk. Not only does he know the information he is an excellent communicator in a very technical subject. Never found any part boring or hard to understand and follow.

The labs were very well done as well and were a big part of the course and gaining a thorough understanding of the subject matter.

I'm sold on both agile and the encompassing larger subject area of DevOps! I highly recommend this course and the others that I have taken during the IBM DevOps and Software Engineering certification track that I'm on.

By Daniel P d T

Jul 19, 2022

John Rofrano is a rare find (in my experience), in that he is an excellent instructor who can communicate material simply, succinctly, and profoundly to even the uninitated. His instruction is engaging, provides context beyond just what is being taught, and includes real-world cases to elicit critical understanding of the significance of what he's teaching. Communication of the material was clear enough that I didn't have to take a single note. I wish he were the instructor for every single IBM course!

By Robert E E A L

Oct 17, 2021

I highly recommend this course. It is clear and quick and a great preparation for scrum.org certification. An exceptionally well constructed course with excellent video lectures, lab exercises, review tests, and assessments. John Rofrano, the course instructor, is engaging and clear throughout.

Big thank you to John and his team. Great job, thank you for your excellent tuition.

By Bello S

Aug 20, 2022

This course is very awesome. The instructor is very good at explaining concepts in a way that is very easy to grab.

After taking the course, I have a total mindset change with regards to the way I handle projects. In fact, I am immediately switching to Agile in handling my current and future projects. Special appreciation to the instructor for this wonderful work.

By Milena V V

Dec 6, 2021

Thank you so much for all the great insights into Agile philosophy and Scrum methodology we can apply and need to have in mind on active projects. It was a great please for me to use this opportunity to learn and better myself.

I would recommend this course to anyone trying to find out more about Agile and as a must have basis to learn more about Agile and Scrum.

By Laura A D

Dec 8, 2021

I definitely recommend the Introduction to Agile Development and Scrum course imparted by John Profano. I've learned a great deal about how high-performance teams should work to achieve continuous improvements and be able to "Build what's needed it, and not necessarily what's planned" The Agile philosophy behind the efforts makes the difference. Get on board!!

By Shawn T

Jan 6, 2023

This is a very good and challenging course. I learned a lot from the labs about navigating Github and Zenhub to create a repository and user stories and following the project through the Kanban board. I also learned a lot about each persons role from the Product Owner, development team and how to conduct sprints. Looking forward to more courses.

By Ya J S

Aug 7, 2022

Excellent course. Agile and Scrum concepts are thoroughly explained with examples. Hands-on labs are provided for all the Scrum processes. The optional final project is very interesting and tests all the skills taught in the course. I highly recommend especially for Software Engineers and teams that want to get started with Scrum right away.

By geanina i

Nov 27, 2021

Amazing course in which I have learned so many great things that can be put into practice not only in an work environment, but also into the real life planning. John is an amazing tutor and coach, and the way he has taught the course was fun and easy to follow. IBM is a lucky team to have such a person in their team.

By USMAN Y

Dec 11, 2022

Well structured course with high quality contents, hands on labs, graded assignments, in-depth explanation of every thing one nee to know. The instructor is great, he takes one the course like he's taking little child in mid school.I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in pursing any career.