Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
7,600 ratings
1,575 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AC
Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

AS
Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

Filter by:

1501 - 1525 of 1,542 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Cyril M

Aug 22, 2020

Disappointed. At the end I don't feel especially more equipped to work on Busines metrics.

Unless it is in the finance domain or on specific revenue metrics from online shops or some more very specific domains. A deep dive into finance too. very interesting if you are interested in Stocks and finance (which is my case), but probably a little specific for the large audience of this course.

On Profitability metrics Muda's, lead time, process time. and other more general notions that could be applied more widely.

The end assignment is a good demonstration of what was the central topic and what was more "fillings" => focus on metrics how to apply them.

I've seen other courses from the same time that was much mor interesting.

By Elvin D

May 10, 2020

The course touches to the points very broadly, and would probably be forgotten in a week after the completion. Main problem was that you find yourself jumping from topic to another and having basic knowledge of the subjects. I would expect to have narrow however deep understanding of the course.

The module would probably be nothing but a waste of time for someone who intends to grasp the idea of data management and metrics.

By Arun S

May 14, 2020

I purchased the Excel to MySQL: Analytic Techniques for Business Specialization, to learn about data analytics, mainly to transition from Excel to SQL. However, I personally felt this particular course about Business Metrics for Data Driven Companies could have been condensed, as it did not have any learning related to data tools. Hopefully, my requirements are covered in the next 3 courses.

By Kaela W G

Feb 7, 2016

Everything was either super basic or else more advanced but so niche that it doesn't really apply to everyone and we don't need to learn it in that depth. Would have liked to learn a lot more about how to determine what KPIs you should be measuring in different businesses, what kinds of metrics are important, etc. The very large majority of this course will never be applicable to me.

By Mark A

Mar 8, 2018

The description of the course/series does not adequately represent what is taught, more details up front about the material covered would have helped set expectations. The first course in the series focuses primarily on terminology, with little practical application. Almost all of the material was on finance & accounting.

By Aaron K

Jan 20, 2021

Finished first week of work. Not designed for people with business degree who are looking to expand technical data analysis skills. It goes over many fundamental concepts of Business Administration.

By Vikram R

Mar 9, 2016

Found it boring and pretty irrelevant. I was hoping to lean more on metrics especially in the digital marketing section. Pretty let down and $79 waste

By Nagraj N

Apr 16, 2018

Course material is too heavy for a beginner. I would not be able to continue. For a new comer it is an heavy stuff taught like a brushing up course.

By Maggie L

Dec 8, 2015

I really did not like the portion that went into detail about business analytics and related career paths. Not a technical skill or ne

By Injah S

Oct 17, 2017

It would help to have more interaction whether via slides or examples.

By Anthony

Aug 30, 2019

Very bare bones and mostly irrelevant to the industry

By vadym h

Jun 24, 2016

Authors are too greedy for the course material.

By Zuoren P

Jun 28, 2016

Can be packed into a two-week course.

By William W

Aug 10, 2016

Basic introduction to data analytics

By Jacob S

Feb 3, 2016

Very very entry level information.

By Jussi N

Jan 9, 2017

Easy and pointless.

By Michael M

Nov 14, 2017

No content.

By Nathan L A

Oct 12, 2016

R

By Brian N

Jan 18, 2016

I would not recommend this course for a few reasons:

1. There are no course notes accompanying the video lectures. Transcripts of the lectures in unformatted text files and a glossary are available for download. I really can’t figure why the instructor doesn’t provide an outline of what key concepts he wants us to learn from each lecture. Also, I’m surprised that Coursera doesn't require a basic set of learning tools for a paid class, such as lecture notes or an outline. This might be a good class for you if learn well from videos.

2. The quizzes contain ambiguously written questions for no good reason.

3. Two weeks in and there is little substance. For example, week 2 includes a few Skype videos of the professor interviewing former students from a Duke Master’s program. They seemed like very intelligent and nice people but the content of the videos offered little value (i.e., nothing new) to someone already working in corporate IT.

By Thomas N

Feb 21, 2016

If you are going to try and complete the specialization for this course series I suggest you look elsewhere. I was able to complete the first course with ease, but the second course to this specialization felt incomplete and does not tie in very well with the how excel is used. Don't be fooled by how easy the first weeks assignment is for the second course of this specialization.

**My initial rating for this course alone was 4 stars, but due to the lack of effort and information in the 2nd course of this specialization I have to give this 1 star as these courses are all tied together.

By Joan H

Feb 6, 2016

I an very disappointed that DUKE hits your up for $79 just to grade the fist quiz (which should cost them $0). This is the fist time I have seen an Institution do this. I can understand charging for a certificate, or for a Final project, but not right out of the gate. I hope that the spirit of Coursera is not changing to a "pay to play" site. There are other higher rated Universities that take a more noble approach. I wonder if all the reviewers paid $79 day 1 for this class, or did DUKE recently changed their pricing policy after the reviews...

By Jeremy B

Jul 20, 2020

Absolutely did not click with the first week lecturer, and did not understand the relevance of some of his lessons to the bigger picture. The quizzes ask questions about the material that maybe demonstrate that I paid attention, but again, the relevance of the quizzes to the larger topic was occasionally not clear.

Course material aside, someone please also tell the instructor that it's okay to do a second take if he stumbles over his words or coughs. Super glad I didn't pay for this or I'd be annoyed at the low production value.

By Anna S

Sep 25, 2020

This course is badly structured and contains too much information from various poorly related areas, neither of which is explained properly. They tell you about private equity funds, Google AdWords, skills needed to become a Data Scientist, cash flows and the amount of time it takes one to learn SQL (this question was even included in test!). Some of the content includes recorded Skype interviews with poor image and sound quality. I would not recommend paying for this course

By Grant V

Apr 12, 2019

I have done a lot of online classes, and this is boring and very dull. There are so many better resources out there, and this lecture doesn't teach you anything. I wish this had better content and videos coming from Duke, and this is a very interesting subject as well. I am very disappointed in this product.

By Lehar K

Jul 11, 2016

The quality of videos is not good. There is some absurd voice in between. Also the course for week 3 has information related to finance which is beyond understanding levels of a person with no financial background.