Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,867 ratings
594 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 595 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By Denise P

Feb 9, 2020

I really do not want to finish this course. Please remove from my courses. I signed up for it because it was a free course offered to me. It is very interesting but I am having a hard time following this course. I really need to focus on my current course Google It.

Thanks

By Jim C

Mar 25, 2018

A fairly shallow look at the content, with delivery and comprehension sometimes limited by language issues.

The worst thing, though, is that unlike most Coursera courses, you CANNOT COMPLETE this course without paying. That's very disappointing.

By jean-marc J

Dec 19, 2016

I am very sorry to say that the course is very poor in english (speaking), too bad you do not teach the course in french this could be useful for a lots of french speaking students and better for the quality of the course.

By Helene

Dec 28, 2016

The first courses are great.

Unfortunately, the course that covered the installation (week 2 - "create your first basic application with android studio") got me lost.

By Andreea B

Sep 11, 2018

Coursera says this is a free course, but you have to pay at the end if you want to take the final quiz or get a certificate.

By Freya S

Jun 3, 2020

Outdated android studio (four years out of date) made it very difficult to apply to a modern system

By nerpatu

Oct 24, 2016

The instructor's explanation is not orderly nor structured, and with a lot of 'noises'.

By Akash D

Aug 6, 2020

Not so much good.... Very sort description... Or not clear their lecture..

By Deleted A

Aug 2, 2020

In my view "I had very bad experience" i think course is outdated

By Fizza N

Aug 21, 2020

Had trouble understanding instructor's accent.

By rajesh d

May 6, 2016

Explanation of concept was poor

By léane S

Apr 19, 2021

Franglais

By neha m

Oct 18, 2020

Outdated

By Pooja R B

Oct 5, 2020

nice

By Uche M E

Apr 26, 2020

very poor instructor participation

there are threads that are months and years old that have not been attended to by the instructors.

a video in the course used an older version of the language (convert miles to Km) and the download for same android studio was not given. the recent android studio which every student downloads is way different in language and the same syntax used in the video do not work.

after much complains about the android studio and the video disparity. the instructors are still very absent.

Please come to our rescue. the course is really stagnated due to the fact we have android studio different from what was used in the course. this is very unusual compared to other courses taken on coursera.org

By Mary H

Mar 28, 2016

You really need prior coding experience to understand the training. I also was very disappointed in the teaching. We have an incredible opportunity to improve education, and I feel that this course is merely an extension of current learning techniques. It was extremely difficult for me to fully participate without paying. I was using this course to make a specific android app to control my wheelchair. I act as an analyst for my programmer husband. So I fully understand code architecture, but absolutely hate coding by hand. This course glossed over coding however it is far more code intensive then I was led to believe.

By AJAY P

May 26, 2020

The course has to be updated. the video instruction in the course was meant for the older versions of Android studio. There is no instructions for using the latest studio which is completely different from the older one. For beginners like me, there should be instruction on at least which software to download. There is a link for which the software could be downloaded but, that link doesn't even exist.

I've tried using the latest version, but everything in the video seems to different when comparing with my software. I've stopped learning from this course just because of my frustration.

By way k s

May 20, 2020

The male lecturer keeps sighing during his presentations. It is distracting and discouraging. In particular for his Week 2 course, there were insufficient explanations to help us to understand what the programming keywords mean. This became more frustrating when I typed the exact thing in my Android Studio and my app could not run due to multiple errors. I am unable to tell how to debug the app. I am not sure if this is because either Android Studio or the programming instructions have changed since then. I have not faced such issues with other courses.

By RK

Oct 18, 2019

Not the best introduction class that I was hoping for. While the structure of course seemed promising, it lacked on providing proper tutorial on how to use the Android studio as well as building an app consists of just following the tutorials in the beginning, which lacks in creativity. i.e. "app-building" tutorials presented here is low-quality which can, and should, be substituted by higher quality YouTube video. Udacity offers more detailed introduction course to android development that is sponsored by Google, which is a better course than this one.

By Yann

Jun 26, 2017

Very bad communication skills of the teachers. Especially one who seems to be doing his job with no enthusiasm at all.

This is already not very engaging when you're starting to learn a new skill, but the worst thing is that it's very poor in explanations throughout the course.

My feeling is that this course was not ready to be released on Coursera, or maybe this is a Beta version? But still...

I was disappointed as Supelec is known to be a prestigious Computer science and Ingeneering French university.

By Michael M

Aug 1, 2020

The course is terribly put together and much of the quiz work is based off material not covered in the lectures or reading. Additionally, even if you get a quiz question right, they mark it wrong because the people that put this course together have no idea themselves how to put the class together properly. You really aren't going to find a suitable App Inventor class on Coursera, but there are sites where you will find some fantastic low cost options. I'm working through one right now.

By Martin B

Aug 22, 2017

The video and sound qualitty is terrible! and also the programming - it is explained pretty bad. It is so frustrating, when you trying to catch what the guy is doing when he's writing the code. For example he marked part of the code, then pressed some button on the keyboard, but didn't said which button was it... oh my god, so frustrating!!!!!

I started another course on udacity.com and it looks so much better, totaly can recommend that! it's called Android Basics.

By Sherry C

Jun 10, 2020

The course content is quite outdated. The course does not explain how to properly zip the folder containing the android project nor how to import properly so that other peers can view properly. Week 2 was completely not explained well. We just had to copy the code directly. The building block layout is no longer a viable building block because the XML cannot be written in that way.

By Sunil T

Dec 7, 2020

1 . There are pronunciation problems , i am not able to understand what the instructors were telling me

2 . The pace is very fast - basics were not cleared to us properly

3 . Peer graded assignments were a nightmare , did not get graded properly and not on proper time

4 . They taught us very basic things but in the quizzes they ask us more complicated questions than we can answer.

By Mohamed M

Jun 17, 2016

i was very excited at the beginning of the course

but when i figure out that i must paid for unlock some important lecture

i really felt disappointed i thought i should only paid if i want to took the Certificate

i had been wasted some time at this course

now i have to search for another course but complete one this time.