Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,878 ratings
596 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 598 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By AYAN D

May 20, 2020

Beginner friendly and Easy to Learn course.The instructors code projects from scratch,which is always a positive.The forum is very helpful(in case you have any doubt).

By Melchior i D

May 5, 2019

could not run all examples, perhaps my Android Studio had a newer Version and my Notbook had trouble with the support of test phones.

The exxplanations were very good.

By Edwin L

Jul 15, 2017

Great Course to know basics of making an android app.

But Limitation is that it lack database implementation which is much needed to make a bit complex apps

By Sai V

Nov 13, 2018

Would have rated better if the course was updated with the usage of latest versions of android studio. Anyways the course was fetched me a lot of skills.

By Shafat A

May 10, 2020

This course is good but it should add some more fundamentals of app development and upgrade their teaching system. Overall its good.

By Kartik J

Jun 25, 2020

Course is very good with great explanation but the videos are much old . Please update the content with new videos and concepts.

By Zin S W

Jul 19, 2021

The course is good for beginner who have basic knowledge of programming language and would like to study android development.

By Vishakha A

Apr 19, 2020

This course is amazing. I will suggest to all you should take this if you want to lean Android App.

Thank you for this course.

By Bradley M

Jul 8, 2016

I still do not know how to put the application that I created to my phone or make it available to other phones to download.

By Efendi B

Jun 27, 2016

this course was good for every begginner who has no basic understanding about android.. it help me alot to learn the basic

By Damian A M

Jan 23, 2020

Es un buen curso, la metodología de enseñanza y la dificultad de las evaluaciones son acordes al nivel de enseñanza.

By Zhen Y L

Jul 6, 2020

Thanks for the nice info sharing but because it is a dated course, it took me some time to tweak to latest format.

By Henk K

May 8, 2017

Good course to built an app for the first time. Requires some Java knowledge but everything is well explained.

By C K

Sep 22, 2020

It was a nice course but I have a just one suggestion that speed of teaching by tutor should be little less.

By SREERAJ T

Oct 19, 2017

The course was really helpful to get basic knowledge in developing android applications using android studio.

By Larry W

Jul 28, 2017

Excellent course!! The only difficulty was the French accent of the instructors c when they spoke to fast.

By Rafael V

Aug 6, 2020

The course is great, but it needs updating, especially regarding Android Studio versions and some widgets

By Вахбе М И

Oct 28, 2019

Good one. Everything is clear. Sometimes feels like course is too old for 2019 already, but also useful.

By Jakub P

May 1, 2020

This course was pretty simple made and explained very basic and entry-level ideas everyone should have.

By Michael C

Apr 6, 2016

Nicely targeted for the programmer needing a jump start into Android while having a good base in Java.

By Arthur L

Aug 27, 2017

Very concise intro to Android programming. Enough to get you started and learning more on your own.

By Zsolt S

May 13, 2016

Good basic course hard to get lost but does require some follow through if things are unfamiliar

By Fong C M

May 5, 2020

Informative session but would be great if the content is updated for the latest android studio.

By Vishali R

May 21, 2020

Good course for starters.....But something more has to be given to student,that may worth it.

By Pawan U

Sep 28, 2019

all course was good but it can be improved if it includes about firebase and related project.