Chevron Left
Back to Apache Spark (TM) SQL for Data Analysts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Apache Spark (TM) SQL for Data Analysts by Databricks

4.5
stars
496 ratings

About the Course

Apache Spark is one of the most widely used technologies in big data analytics. In this course, you will learn how to leverage your existing SQL skills to start working with Spark immediately. You will also learn how to work with Delta Lake, a highly performant, open-source storage layer that brings reliability to data lakes. By the end of this course, you will be able to use Spark SQL and Delta Lake to ingest, transform, and query data to extract valuable insights that can be shared with your team....

Top reviews

AV

May 25, 2021

Content was amazing. Labs were really good. Videos from the lady talking the dense part need to improve. Audio from the lady had a messy stereo, also her pronunciation is not clear. Very bad quality

FI

Jul 30, 2021

This course is amazing. The hands on labs was outstanding. But, the audio quality was poor. Needs to improve the audio quality. Overall a great experience learning Apache Spark.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 140 Reviews for Apache Spark (TM) SQL for Data Analysts

By Dave H

Mar 8, 2022

This requires you to sign up and pay for external accounts to complete. I would not sign up for it. Videos are outdated and there is no community edition that is for you to .learn on a limited basis. Outdated.

By Omar A

Nov 8, 2020

Very useful for starting out with Databricks and Spark. I highly recommend this course to learn the many advantages of using Spark SQL. The notebooks provided by the course are very informative and I learned a lot of new tricks! Databricks community edition is an awesome way to get your feet wet, and this course guides you through it.

By yosef c

May 16, 2022

the course is good in eneral, but:

1. there are mistakes in notebooks.

2. seems that the course isnt updated.

3. they promise "Associate SQL Analyst" certificate, which you dont get it!

By Jeffrey L

Jul 3, 2023

BEWARE when you instantiate Databricks for this course!!

Since this course was made, Databricks redesigned their website and hid the free Community Edition link below their AWS and Azure options. If you accidentally start Databricks on AWS, you'll also resource several permanent EC2 instances, which you will eventually be billed for. I got hit with a bill for $1000 a month later.

By nyki j

Apr 29, 2023

The course content is outdated. The classroom link for the assignment doesn't even work. Databricks updated the UI and the course instructions haven't. worthless until otherwise updated.

By Adam S

Oct 23, 2023

Everything is out of date, a lot of the learning is done in workbooks but I was spending more time trying to fix their code than learning anything.

By Cindy S

Mar 27, 2023

This course is very old. The set up code used deprecated JSON in Spark. Not possible to set up working environment.

By Matthias H

Oct 23, 2023

Needed resources cannot be accessed. Community Edition not available any longer.

By Bruno H d C E

Feb 3, 2023

It's a great course! Obviously, you won't master Databricks or Spark with this course alone but it is a great start!

The negative sides to me are:

Sound quality is not so great and volume varies a lot between instructors.

The written material, especially the questions, could be improved a lot. Some questions were very confusing.

By Princess D

Aug 9, 2022

Great intro course to Databricks! I love how the lessons were note-book based with very short videos. I got through the whole course in less time time than I thought and got enough practical experience to make me feel much more confident using Databricks at work.

By Xiaoyue Z

Nov 27, 2020

Real cutting-edge knowledge is being taught here. One drawback is that the community of Spark SQL is small and when I met some difficulties it's hard to find a quick solution with google or stackoverflow. Other things are perfect. Very nice course!

By edilson l

May 5, 2022

Excellent course!! Totally hands-on with a real-life approach. I truly recommend this course for all of those who intend to sharpen the analytical skills through Spark SQL.

By IBRAHIM E

Dec 29, 2020

Nice work but the exam is not real test to the materials , and it is not difficult but I would say strange and difficult to read

By Guillermo B

May 2, 2022

Good for new data analysts who recently started with Databricks and have some experience with SQL.

By Victor M

Nov 9, 2020

its great to learn and have hand-on experience, its not SQL, its a combination of SQL and python

By stephane d

Dec 2, 2020

Nice course. Kate Sullivan is a great teacher !

Coursera is really a high quality site.

By Sanket S

Jun 16, 2022

Hoping to have more content on pptimization of query time

By Gimwell Y

Jun 20, 2022

Great learning materials and course overall. I do wish they could clean up some minor typos and go over some of the notebooks. Audio on the videos really need some balancing as well (even across presenters). I hope to see better production on the video presentations in the next courses.

By Cochet

May 26, 2022

Well designed , providng clues for SQL queries and Delta Lake architecture

By Nate F

Feb 19, 2022

It's okay. Biggest issue I had were the mistakes. Questions would have the wrong code, as in the question would ask to limit the data by year and month but each answer was limited by month and day. There is one instance where the entire work through won't execute unless the data file is renamed in each code chunk. Plenty of spelling errors. The subtitles for the videos have errors, at one point it states "inaudible" when the speaker is clearly talking. The course looks to have been posted a year ago and it is unfortunate that such simple mistakes haven't been fixed yet. It is true that you don't need much (or any) experience with SQL to understand the material which makes it excellent as an introductory course. Another participant talked about rejoining the course after a few months break and no longer had access to the free community edition of the software, another responded that the community edition is only a 14 day trial (of a 9 week course). Did not run into that issue myself as I was able to finish the 35 hours of content within a week. Would of received a much higher rating if the mistakes had been fixed.

By Dominic d A F

Nov 16, 2021

Positive:

* The instructors do a good job of easing non-technical people into the subject matter.

* Instructions for interfacing with the GUIs are explicit and clear.

Negative:

* The questions for quizzes and exercises were written by someone that is not fluent in English -- you will waste a LOT of time digging through the forums where other students had to piece together the intended meaning.

* The exercises are extremely easy for intermediate technical level students. More technical focus on the differentiating value / power of Databricks would have been a far better use of time.

By Deleted A

May 10, 2022

Some moe details on Data bricks would have been usefull. Some places important details where missing. Sometimes questions where bit confusing. Especially Week 8

By Ryan K

Feb 19, 2024

It was OK. A good introduction to Spark SQL. You can tell the labs and videos have not been updated in a few years which occasionally will be a nuisance

By Javier C

Apr 6, 2023

The course seems quite promising but when you need to get hands on, one quickly realizes that content is obsolete. Basically, all provided work notebooks are obsolete and one cannot work with them. Really disappointing and a waste of time

By Max A

Jul 26, 2023

The materials on the cloud do not charge, no feedback from the teaching team after raising the issue. Impossible then to make the hands on... Too bad because seemed quite a nice course. Need some updates.