Chevron Left
Back to Blood Film Morphology - A Practical Guide

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blood Film Morphology - A Practical Guide by University of Western Australia

4.9
stars
65 ratings

About the Course

This is a unique online course which teaches students the basics of blood film analysis. This course is specifically tailored to those with a background in Medical Science, Medicine or Pathology who are studying or starting work in a haematology laboratory but also serves as a valuable continuing education resource. To be successful in this course, access to a haematology laboratory is desirable but not essential. This is not a textbook or a laborious examination of every blood film abnormality but rather focusses on the approach – both an overall method for analysing a blood film, and a framework for analysing quantitative and qualitative changes in blood cells. At each step students are taught a method, provided with the theoretical framework for interpreting abnormalities, and shown examples of abnormalities highlighting their clinical significance. This is reinforced with frequent in-lecture interactive quizzes, end of lecture mcqs, and suggested lab exercises which engage the student with the laboratory and their colleagues. At the end of each module and at the end of the whole series are summative assessments which must be successfully completed to attain the course certificate....

Top reviews

RG

Jul 15, 2023

Excellently presented overview of important haematological issues and examples of the morphology required for identification. Great for undergrads and those in the workforce as a refresher.

MA

Sep 19, 2023

this is very informative and summarized course which wold help me i my professional life. I am thankful for the mentor who provided this unique course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 25 Reviews for Blood Film Morphology - A Practical Guide

By Melinda S W

Nov 27, 2022

This was an excellent and very informative course. I'm a Medical Laboratory Technician who has worked mostly in Clinical Chemistry and Microbiology. I thought this was an excellent course for review and also to learn new methods. Thank you to all those who provided this course.

By Michael E S

Jul 8, 2023

I just completed the course and wanted to give feedback to others thinking about enrolling. I work in a teaching hospital and rotate through the hematology section of the core laboratory at least weekly. Our hospital’s Cancer Care program treats both pediatric and adult hematology/oncology patients. Consequently, the laboratory technologist working on the hematology differential bench see many abnormal blood smears daily. I took the class to improve my knowledge in reading abnormal blood smears. I accomplished that goal and will cycle back through the course as time permits to to continue to improve my knowledge.

The course content is very comprehensive in and the video presentations are very well done. The instructor, DR Matthew Wright, is very passionate and enthusiastic about the topic. It was both a challenge and a pleasure to sit in his virtual class.

The only aspect of the course that I didn’t enjoy was the Peer Graded Assignments. I often felt that a number of the peer assignments I was asked to grade indicated to me that the person submitting the assignment either didn’t read or didn’t understand the instructions based on their answers. And, these same individuals were grading my assignments. Peer grading is an interesting concept but makes sense only if the participants are truly peers.

By Merlyn M R

Nov 11, 2022

Very good course. I learnt a lot of important things throughthis course.

By Mozdalefa A

Oct 21, 2022

good information

By Rina G

Jul 16, 2023

Excellently presented overview of important haematological issues and examples of the morphology required for identification. Great for undergrads and those in the workforce as a refresher.

By manuel m v

Jul 20, 2023

An excellent course, you learn a lot without it being tedious and they put the information in an easy way to digest. Totally recommended.

By Sílvia G

May 24, 2023

Excellent presentations. Very clear explanations. Very good for beginners in Blood cell morphology.

By Muhammad H S

Apr 11, 2023

A must take course for every medical lab professional.

By Greg P

Mar 7, 2023

Very helpful content delivered in an easy to follow and concise matter. Very useful for starting out in the lab.

Did run into some minor issues with the grading system.

By Rowena M

Mar 12, 2023

Excellent course for anyone looking to learn morphology. Tricky contacting any humans to get coursework graded, but well worth doing.

By Muhammad H A

Sep 20, 2023

this is very informative and summarized course which wold help me i my professional life. I am thankful for the mentor who provided this unique course.

By Raed H

Aug 15, 2023

Best course for Blood Film Morphology

By Dr. A

Jan 2, 2024

very informative and helpful course.

By Abdullah a

Mar 15, 2024

Thanks very much it was very useful

By manal f

Apr 5, 2023

awesome

learning

experience

By Takio M

May 6, 2024

it was so good to learn.

By Bilal A

Oct 25, 2023

Outstanding 😊

By Jafari A

Jun 21, 2023

amazing course

By Feisal A A

Sep 19, 2023

good course

By Tanveer T

Apr 5, 2023

Best Course

By Muhammad W 0

May 17, 2023

great

By Rehanna M

Mar 25, 2024

.

By Jayali D

Oct 22, 2023

I am very pleased to get this certificate. I would like to take this opportunity to give thanks to all the academic staff and the Coursera team for my achievement.

By Hope N

Aug 8, 2023

I would highly recommend this course for people in lab settings and even learners in the medical field.

By Chioma E

Oct 23, 2023

Very helpful