Chevron Left
Back to Inferential and Predictive Statistics for Business

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inferential and Predictive Statistics for Business by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
439 ratings
76 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. The course aim to cover statistical ideas that apply to managers. We will consider two basic themes: first, is recognizing and describing variations present in everything around us, and then modeling and making decisions in the presence of these variations. The fundamental concepts studied in this course will reappear in many other classes and business settings. Our focus will be on interpreting the meaning of the results in a business and managerial setting. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through use of Excel and using data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Test for beliefs about a population.. • Compare differences between populations. • Use linear regression model for prediction. • Learn how to use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

SG

May 20, 2017

Very good introductory Statistics course. The topic selection is very pertinent to meet the need of a manager to analyze data and to make decision. Quality of teaching is GREAT.

EK

Dec 08, 2019

Great course! Incredibly well organized and clear. I was terrified of Stats before I took this class, now I feel confident and am seeing my entire world differently. Thank you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 75 Reviews for Inferential and Predictive Statistics for Business

By Emi K

Dec 08, 2019

Great course! Incredibly well organized and clear. I was terrified of Stats before I took this class, now I feel confident and am seeing my entire world differently. Thank you!

By Laleen D

May 09, 2018

For business students and professionals who really want to understand and apply statistics to their business, there's no better course series that Professor Taghaboni-Dutta's Coursera Series. This course is particularly a unique gem because it integrate statistics lessons into actual practice. The lessons also include great little video clips on how to use Excel to run calculations. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta's lessons are easy to follow and understand; so don't worry, you don't have to be a quant or know calculus to get through this. Just be prepared to spend the time, it's not "statistics light. It's worth the effort!

This class teaches inferential and predictive statistics and the early steps of model building. What really makes this course sizzle is that students also learn how to integrate statistics into business management. Professor Taghaboni-Dutta a phenomenal teacher with a good sense of humor. Students at the UofI campus consistently rank her as one of the best teachers at the school. (How many times have you heard of a statistics professor getting high reviews from students?) I can't imagine how many hours were spent making these videos, but she's thought of everything.

One of my friends is an engineer who has recently moved to management and had been struggling. "They just don't understand anything," she cried. She took the course as part of the iMBA program. She told me that it has helped her learn how to talk with her non-quant executive board and tweak her messaging so that they understand. The course contains tons of of actual real-life problems, such as analyzing Flint Michigan's Drinking water data, testing to find out if a discount store is really the cheapest; figuring out if a marketing plan is working and all sorts of interesting problems.

Honestly, this is a home-run course !

By Jai P

Sep 28, 2018

Very well taught and explained. One of the best statistics courses I have taken. As a non math student I have tried many books to understand statistics, but they were all intimidating. This course and the prior course on Exploring Data are my Holy Grail to learning and understanding Statistics. Hats off to the Prof. FATANEH TAGHABONI-DUTTA for the wonderful course and the way she helped approached it.

By Dmitriy K

Jul 14, 2017

Great course for decision makers with no prior experience in statistics and modelling. Lots of real life examples used to illustrate the steps needed to build a model that could predict and explain ones data. Step by step examples in Excel make the life easy for those with no math background in statistical calculations. I liked the professor's focus on the interpretation of the models' results.

By 阳 汪

Feb 11, 2017

Very good class that teaches you the basic statistic models and its use in real life. The instructor is extremely clear in teaching and the examples she used are really helpful for understanding and applying. Highly recommend this class!! Take it if you wanna have some knowledge about statistics. And its use in real life is more than I imagined...

By Andras I

Dec 29, 2019

It was a good (re) introduction to the basics of statistics with some more practical applications in Excel.

I had a couple of issues with the first course that his one builds on but I felt this second one was a bit better, relying less on the external reading material to get the points across and felt a bit more practical.

By Andrew P

Dec 10, 2019

Well paced course with lots of real-life examples to try in Excel. This course helped link the terms we all throw around (r-squared, correlation, etc.) too liberally and helped provide the tools leaders need to dig into an analysis we're using to make business decisions.

By KARTHIK B S

Feb 01, 2017

Excellent Course!! Ms Dutta has profound knowledge and it helped me to implement the concepts learnt in my profession. I'm a Business Analyst and look forward to enrol in all of her courses. Thanks to Coursera for hosting such a great portal!!!

By May S L

Dec 17, 2019

Professor Fataneh Taghaboni-Dutta is a great educator. Her goal is for her students to really learn what she is teaching and she explained it in every possible way that she can. I never thought I will enjoy stats class until I had this.

By David H

May 19, 2017

Great class, very useful for deeper thinking into ways to approach problems in my organization than anyone including the upper management team does today. Fly by the seat of the pants decisions cannot suffice for good data approaches!

By Feng X

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent as an intermediate level statistics for business analysis. Great teaching by Professor Fataneh Taghaboni-Dutta. If you have taken engineering or science majors, you may find the content not challenging.

By Briana T

May 04, 2019

Can be tough and could challenge someone to refer back to stats content learned during a BS program, but the professor is brilliant at relating the material to real life job and situations. I learned a lot!

By EPHRAIM M

Apr 18, 2018

Instructor was excellent. Good balance of providing the information in understandable situations, and follow up with Excel models that put it into action. The tips and tricks for Excel were very helpful !

By T. J I

Nov 02, 2019

After half-a-dozen classes with linear regression models, finally, a class that has taught me regressions with multiple variables! Oh, yeah, and how to work the multi-variable regressions with MS-Excel.

By Subrat G

May 20, 2017

Very good introductory Statistics course. The topic selection is very pertinent to meet the need of a manager to analyze data and to make decision. Quality of teaching is GREAT.

By Nayeli H P

Jan 19, 2020

This class was great, professor Fataneh does an excellent job explaining the analysis methods in a way that you can apply them immediately to your projects at work.

By Martin C

Oct 06, 2016

Really great course! With a little bit of data you can explain anything! The course is really easy to understand with great and interesting examples! Thanks a lot!

By Grant M

May 14, 2017

Super practical exploration of how to use inferential and predictive statistics in everyday business decision making. So good I want more!

By Jay K

May 05, 2019

great to learn on how regressions are run and used for all kinds of examples. Feels great to accomplish and finish this course.

By Jishnu R

Aug 19, 2016

Excellent course. The lectures by Prof. Dutta were clear and to the point. This course helped me in clarifying a lot of doubts.

By Muskan T

Sep 26, 2016

Concepts are well explained with very good examples.Also doing it in excel makes it easier.

Thanks!Great course for beginners

By Jawwad H

May 08, 2019

Awesome experience riding through this course and learning key concepts in statistics that can be used in the daily life.

By Guillaume B

Dec 15, 2017

Very informative and practical. The examples used and the pace of the lessons help understand all the key concepts.

By Maheshkumar P

May 20, 2017

Fantastic course. This is the "quants" part of MBA education. Picked up additional Excel skills as a bonus!!

By Mohammed A S

Oct 26, 2019

Very beneficial and straightforward course about the practical side of inferential and predictive analysis.