Chevron Left
Back to Inferential and Predictive Statistics for Business

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inferential and Predictive Statistics for Business by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
447 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. The course aim to cover statistical ideas that apply to managers. We will consider two basic themes: first, is recognizing and describing variations present in everything around us, and then modeling and making decisions in the presence of these variations. The fundamental concepts studied in this course will reappear in many other classes and business settings. Our focus will be on interpreting the meaning of the results in a business and managerial setting. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through use of Excel and using data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Test for beliefs about a population.. • Compare differences between populations. • Use linear regression model for prediction. • Learn how to use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

SG

May 20, 2017

Very good introductory Statistics course. The topic selection is very pertinent to meet the need of a manager to analyze data and to make decision. Quality of teaching is GREAT.

EK

Dec 08, 2019

Great course! Incredibly well organized and clear. I was terrified of Stats before I took this class, now I feel confident and am seeing my entire world differently. Thank you!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 80 Reviews for Inferential and Predictive Statistics for Business

By Brice A G

Mar 26, 2020

The course was well designed, and the instructor explained the material in a more comprehensible way.

By James S

May 05, 2018

Great Professor and a very interesting class! The possibilities are endless for regression testing.

By Anup P

Dec 11, 2019

Exceptional course material with utmost clarity in explaination and content.

Thank you Prof. Dutta!

By Valerio C

May 18, 2017

One of the best classes I have taken, Great Job explaining complex issues. Thanks Professor!

By Olatunde O

Apr 28, 2019

Course makes sense. Equips you with practical tools to make predictions in the real world.

By Dan M

Apr 28, 2018

Great course. Great build of skills. Great logical walk-through of each of the concepts.

By Jaime B

Dec 15, 2019

Absolutely must have for anyone that needs to understand stat and excel at their craft

By Gang M

May 01, 2018

Great course! a lot of insight on data collection and analysis. Very practical course.

By Brett C

May 17, 2019

The Professor takes a very difficult subject and makes it both accessible and useful.

By Guilherme C

Jan 25, 2018

Good explanation of inferential statistics and how to apply the models. Very useful.

By Aneliya M

Sep 15, 2017

Faced a lot of technical issues but the course itself is the best in the program.

By Priyanshi S

Sep 21, 2016

Lucid and follows a step-by-step structure which allows for conceptual clarity.

By Seetha B

May 03, 2019

This course is very educative and i have learnt lot about statistics analysis

By ARVIND K S

Sep 01, 2019

Excellent course for learning conceptual skills in statistics and analytics.

By Sondra L

Jan 07, 2017

Great instructor. Complex topics were taught in an easy-to-follow manner.

By Cameron M

Dec 13, 2019

Professor Taghaboni-Dutta keeps you engaged the entire time. Excellent

By Azizbek R

Mar 17, 2020

Very informative and short to the point explanation with good examples

By Brian D

May 02, 2019

Excellent professor and delivery of very useful content!

By Sami Y

Dec 13, 2019

Excellent introductory course to Predictive statistics!

By Gautham B

Apr 27, 2019

Best stats course I've taken ever, and I've taken MANY.

By Temp

Oct 14, 2016

A very good instructor ...totally explain everything

By Anil B

Dec 12, 2019

Excellent Professor. Very detailed explanations

By Bruno A

Sep 21, 2018

Very good course. Simple, objective and useful.

By Arun P R S

May 23, 2017

Excellent course taught by wonderful professor.

By Jorge A

Jul 10, 2019

Coemplet ,concise and very practical!!!