Chevron Left
Back to C++ For C Programmers, Part B

Learner Reviews & Feedback for C++ For C Programmers, Part B by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.5
stars
300 ratings

About the Course

This course is for experienced C programmers who want to program in C++. The examples and exercises require a basic understanding of algorithms and object-oriented software....

Top reviews

CK

Jan 31, 2019

It was good to avoid redundantly learning what C language is. Graph theory and Monte-Carlo methodology were fun. I enjoyed listening history of computer science and programming languages.

AP

Aug 23, 2020

From History to Today's Programming World, every session lookout from Great perspective & passes through students that's really appreciate.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 90 Reviews for C++ For C Programmers, Part B

By fn

Jan 22, 2018

This course is garbage. It doesn't cover or test ANY important feature of C++! No derived classes, no namespaces, no discussion of the STL or special member functions, just for a start.

There is no possible way that passing the practice final exam can be considered a meaningful for understanding C++.

By Oliver W

Dec 12, 2019

The lecture was good, the reviews of my work were pointless. I reviewed the work of six fellows and got one in return with a dull comment and no rationales at all. The same situation occurred in the second assignment - same reviewer and a useless comment again. So finally I got my grade from a single person with unknown qualification. Sorry, but I can‘t take Coursera serious anymore.

By Aaron T

Jun 13, 2017

I was hoping for more coverage of the newer C++ features. Instead there's a heavy emphasis on AI techniques which was kind of cool, but not what I signed up for.

By Dhruv S

Aug 22, 2019

I still don't believe that I am lucky enough to get the opportunity to learn so much about such a great language from one of the most knowledgeable professors i.e Ira Pohl. I have gotten so good with understanding the most complex of the constructs in c++ now and have built up an affinity for the language and one of its most disliked and almost not much known by most of the c++ users i.e graphs.

I have become 6 star problem solver on competitive programming platforms and have gained a lot of confidence and knowledge of its new features.

Would be Forever grateful to Cousera for this wonderful experience! Thank You!

By Ramesh K

May 3, 2022

It's wonderful platform to learn. highly recommended for those people who are intrested to learn particular concept of c++ program.

By Saurav R

Jun 23, 2020

this course gives brief explanation of modern c++ and gives best intro about how to use this C++ into factory and real world

By Chang K

Feb 1, 2019

It was good to avoid redundantly learning what C language is. Graph theory and Monte-Carlo methodology were fun. I enjoyed listening history of computer science and programming languages.

By Soroor E

Sep 9, 2019

I learned a lot doing the programming assignments. I also really enjoyed the calm and patient manner that the prof taught.

By Dimas F

Jul 28, 2017

hard for me but worth it! absolutely. many new C++11 things. hope there is more to cover boost

By Rahul k

Apr 30, 2019

yes the course was good for my understanding of C++

By Yuhao J

Jun 27, 2017

The assignment is way too hard for a self-learn

By Thiago P B

May 10, 2017

The course gives you a well-designed overview of the main features of C++11. Programming concepts are introduced in the context of an AI-based game of HEX which truly motivates the course for me!

Instructor seems well-versed in the course contents and presentation of the material is done in a rather logical way. I really enjoyed and learned a lot!

By Jerry C

Jul 10, 2018

The peer-review homework is challenging and I really enjoy doing it. The course provided me a good foundation of C++ knowledge and skills and I think I'm ready to further explore the C++ universe. Thank you professor and thank you my classmates for providing such a good learning experience.

By Prashant K

Jun 29, 2022

Though theory and teaching of concept like Alpha Beta and Min Max were lacking, the assignment and assignment directions and peer review were great. This AI Hex Game really builds confidence in yourself that you know C++. The specialization is great along with assignments. Thank you!

By Ankit A

Apr 10, 2018

It s a good course for a C programmer to get started with C++. It gives you all the fundamentals which is required to carry out day to day development work and gives you aptitude to learn the remaining c++ via documentation or other resources.

By Miguel F

Mar 16, 2022

Despite this course focuses a lot on implementing algorithms I liked a lot because of the challenge that the exercises represented and all the knowloedge that I acquired from the libraries and new features of C++

By Ravitej G

Feb 2, 2021

Very informative course. Helps a lot to learn important c++ concepts, c++11 features and much more stuff.

Overall quite an exciting course !

Recommended !!

By Anshumaan K P

Aug 23, 2020

From History to Today's Programming World, every session lookout from Great perspective & passes through students that's really appreciate.

By Riemer G

Nov 25, 2021

Liked the split between looking at new features in C++ and working on a reasonable sized and reasonably complex assignment.

By Harsh K

Mar 23, 2020

Course is well structured and have sharp learning curve. Sense of achievement after completing this course.

By Dmitrii B

Feb 4, 2020

Good course for C ++ developers. I recommend this course as for beginners and experienced programmers.

By Quentin V

Jan 9, 2018

The course is excellent. It is very well presented and polished. The projects are very interesting.

By Fahimul K W

Jul 31, 2020

Very much helpful course for learning C++properly both of the part A and B are very much helpful.

By Marcia D

Dec 28, 2022

Excellent course for transitioning from C to C++. Challenging and fun assignments too.

By Rutvij G K

Apr 4, 2019

Highly recommended for anyone wanting to learn some serious C++ and introductory AI!