Chevron Left
Back to Camera and Imaging

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Camera and Imaging by Columbia University

4.7
stars
120 ratings

About the Course

This course covers the fundamentals of imaging – the creation of an image that is ready for consumption or processing by a human or a machine. Imaging has a long history, spanning several centuries. But the advances made in the last three decades have revolutionized the camera and dramatically improved the robustness and accuracy of computer vision systems. We describe the fundamentals of imaging, as well as recent innovations in imaging that have had a profound impact on computer vision. This course starts with examining how an image is formed using a lens camera. We explore the optical characteristics of a camera such as its magnification, F-number, depth of field and field of view. Next, we describe how solid-state image sensors (CCD and CMOS) record images, and the key properties of an image sensor such as its resolution, noise characteristics and dynamic range. We describe how image sensors can be used to sense color as well as capture images with high dynamic range. In certain structured environments, an image can be thresholded to produce a binary image from which various geometric properties of objects can be computed and used for recognizing and locating objects. Finally, we present the fundamentals of image processing – the development of computational tools to process a captured image to make it cleaner (denoising, deblurring, etc.) and easier for computer vision systems to analyze (linear and non-linear image filtering methods)....

Top reviews

HS

May 27, 2022

This was a great introduction to image processing. I learned a lot that's applicable to my current job. I expect the follow on courses to improve that learning!

GS

Nov 1, 2021

Good introduction to camera and imaging topics - great first course for the First Principles of Computer Vision Specialization program.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Camera and Imaging

By Derek T

Jun 3, 2022

Not a beginner friendly course, very little explaination !

All topics are quickly covered and details are skipped. Learners without image processing knowledge or advanced math will easily struggle and get stuck. Furthermore, after hours and hours trying to understand strange equations that the lecturer quicky covered, leaners would be frustrated as those equations won't be used or even seen again.

Most importantly, not a single example was given, not a single coding assignment exists !

Worst course I've ever taken. Those giving 5 stars probably already known all the things.

By Andrew

May 10, 2022

I'm giving 1 star because of this description: "Students are required to know the fundamentals of linear algebra and the fundamentals of calculus. No prior knowledge of imaging or computer vision are assumed."

in fact, the teacher taught as if he assumed you have prior knowledge of imaging or computer vision. Complex maths were not well covered, discussion forum was helpless.

By Guy S

Nov 2, 2021

Good introduction to camera and imaging topics - great first course for the First Principles of Computer Vision Specialization program.

By Fernando M

Jan 12, 2022

I was expecting to actually learn about how to choose a camera for Computer Vision application. Concepts like resolution for a certain application, FOV, sensor size needed to be included on this course.

By Abtin R

Dec 10, 2023

brief introduction to image processing and camera, yet very much informative. many of the theoretical subjects are covered in a very intuitive way. some parts need some background on signal processing and calculus, which without that, it would be hard to understand. this is one of those courses that I would suggest to anyone who wants to explore the general idea behind image processing with zero background (even half of the signal processing parts could be understood without any engineering degree and only high school math).

By Joe S

Dec 21, 2022

This gives a quick review of the basics of optics and Fourier transforms, and some of the other math and algorithms associated with vision. The topics can be a little quick at times. If you haven't already done a course in Fourier transforms, for instance, you can easily get lost in the overview. The presentation does of good job of capturing the qualitative aspects, but you may get lost in the details when taking the quizzes.

The strength here is the good, clear presentation of the topics.

By Marco M

Dec 5, 2022

The Camera and Imaging course delivers on the promise of teaching the first principles of computer vision from optics and imaging systems to the basics of image processing. The lectures are very high quality and easy to follow and the quizes reinforce the material from lecture. I look forward to taking more courses in this specialization.

By Guillermo C

Jan 20, 2022

Very clear and entertaining. The content and quizes are easy and do not require much extra study (other than watching the videos). Nonetheless, as an introduction to the subject it feels very complete.

By Hank S

May 28, 2022

This was a great introduction to image processing. I learned a lot that's applicable to my current job. I expect the follow on courses to improve that learning!

By Deleted A

Oct 7, 2022

Prof. Nayar is an excellent speaker and the slides are well-structured and easy to understand. Thank you!

By Lei D

Feb 8, 2023

very interesting class and proud content for learning. Thanks, teacher and contributor.

By Waclaw K

Feb 12, 2023

The best course on Coursera in terms of clarity, pace, quality of materials.

Thank you!

By Sissia W

Jan 1, 2023

An awesome course that covers all the important image and processing fundamentals.

By Mahendar K

Mar 6, 2023

Good course for learning fundamentals in image processing.

By Tony F

Dec 10, 2022

Excellent teaching. Concise and clear. Highly recommended.

By 胡纲

May 8, 2022

Good contents to cover basic camera and imaging.

By Seda B

Jul 5, 2022

Wonderful course by an excellent instructor.

By Kemalettin K

May 23, 2023

Very good theoretical background

By Krushi J

Jan 14, 2022

The lectures are amazing!!!

By Olivier P

Dec 13, 2021

Really well explained !!!

By BILAL A

Aug 30, 2023

Outstanding course.

By Venkat k

Mar 7, 2023

Its fabulous course

By Oriol C

Jun 29, 2022

Great!!

By Әкім Н С

Mar 16, 2024

5

By Henry R

Dec 19, 2021

Some topics are too advanced for a beginner course.

Some basic and fundamental materials are not clearly covered. It requires a lot work for students to study some fundamental materials if students are not familiar with signal and image processing.