Chevron Left
Back to Innovative Teaching with ChatGPT

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Innovative Teaching with ChatGPT by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
222 ratings

About the Course

Despite what you may have heard, ChatGPT offers exciting possibilities for supporting innovative teaching and personalized education. This course provides practical techniques that any educator, from K-12 to higher education, can use to help support their teaching. No experience with ChatGPT, prompt engineering, or Generative AI is required. In this course, you will learn how to do exciting things to support your teaching and student learning, such as: 1. How to brainstorm lesson plans that integrate learner interests and needs, such as generating a lesson plan to teach fourth graders about fractions using concepts from Pokemon 2. Create interactive games and turning them into concrete educational materials that you can print, such as creating a game inspired by World Cup Soccer and creating a PDF of the necessary game pieces 3. Generating engaging class activities, such as having students design fictional characters based on vocabulary and then generating funny fill in the blank stories based on the dialog 4. Helping students think of new and innovative ways of solving problems, such as generating possible ideas for building a bridge out of paperclips and plastic bottles that could support a person 5. Generating personalized quizzes on the fly that students can use to test themselves on topics and incorporate their interests, such as creating a Geometry quiz that a student can customize on the fly to use questions based on BMX bicycle racing The techniques taught are adaptable to almost any subject and student level....

Top reviews

TJ

Dec 1, 2023

It was an interesting course and helped me wonderfully in my teaching. I do not have to worry about next week, what else will we have to teach? It is very good.

KB

Feb 1, 2024

It's an amazing course that will not only help teachers teachers develop more effective lesson plans but also improve the teaching quality.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 71 Reviews for Innovative Teaching with ChatGPT

By Brittany S

Oct 5, 2023

I learned how to use ChatGPT to develop more engaging and effective lesson plans, create personalized learning experiences for my students, and provide support for students with disabilities. It is a valuable resource for any educator who wants to learn how to use AI to improve their teaching practice and better support their students.

By Elizabeth E

Nov 15, 2023

This course is great for teachers who are beginning their journey with ChatGPT and AI in education. It helps them to think about how to use AI as a tool for amplifying learning, both with and about AI.

By Vedran A

Sep 25, 2023

The course is great for primary and secondary school teachers. I think that it would be even much better course if there would be much more practical examples and teaching approaches that can be used in higher education and to PhD level students.

By Billy P

Oct 11, 2023

The other two courses by this instructor were excellent. This one, however, seemed to have been thrown together. It didn't have innovative ideas, and the fourth grader theme got tiresome. There were also many misspellings and other such issues.

By Melanie M

Oct 23, 2023

I think this was a rather superficial course., and many of the videos were too long and boring. What I liked was the suggestion to use ChatGPT for creating concepts for lessons. I will use that in the future to get inspiration, even though I think that most of the suggestions from ChatGPT won't work in my context, they will rather function as a starting point that I will need to adjust. However, the course leader seems to be very enthusiastic about the technological possibilities of ChatGPT but neglects many of the risks it brings along. I missed critical reflection about these risks that prepares teachers better to using ChatGPT in their own teaching. For the assignment, there was not any quality check, in the second I had submitted it, I already received the certificate. To me this looks like I could have typed in any text, even text completely unrelated with the tasks, and would have received a certificate. Altogether, this course was a rather disappointing experience.

By Agatha B

Nov 19, 2023

Embarrassing content. It's a pity. Never do it for money!

By Martin C

Nov 11, 2023

This will be the first class I would suggest to teachers considering the impact of AI on teaching. A tool that provides superpowers to magnify the work they are already doing. A way to provide differentiated and personalized instruction.

By Kausar B

Feb 2, 2024

It's an amazing course that will not only help teachers teachers develop more effective lesson plans but also improve the teaching quality.

By William O

Feb 21, 2024

I wish I had this tool when I was an Adjunct Professor. I could have provided a much richer experience for my students

By Loïc P

Dec 1, 2023

It is a very nice, well-crafted course. Very clear. It comes with many examples, that can give us good ideas. However, I was expecting a course that would have been dedicated to higher education, while examples are focused on 4th grade (very great examples, nicely done, detailed, etc.). That's the only reason why I would give 4 stars instead of 5 to this course, which is really worth being followed anyway.

By Siobhan C

Mar 19, 2024

The "Innovative Teaching with ChatGPT" course from Vanderbilt University on Coursera surpassed my expectations in terms of ease of understanding, clarity, and immediate usefulness. The instructor presented the course content in a clear and concise manner, breaking down concepts into digestible chunks. The practical strategies and techniques provided throughout the course were immediately applicable, offering valuable insights into integrating ChatGPT into the teaching process. Real-world examples showcased the potential applications of ChatGPT in enhancing teaching and learning outcomes. Overall, I highly recommend this course to educators seeking to leverage artificial intelligence technology to create engaging and innovative learning experiences for their students. I used my new skills to assist in creating this review

By Jeffrey W

Apr 18, 2024

After 21 courses at some of the most prestigious universities in the world, I know a gifted educator when I observe one. Mr. Jules White makes everything he teaches come to life with his warm, conversational style and wit. I consider myself very fortunate to have taken his courses. I look forward to utilizing ChatGPT in the classes I teach in the coming months and years!

By ZAKIR U

Mar 28, 2024

Course is very interesting and easy. However if you do each and everything practically it will be more helpful. Moreover there are large number of students / peoples want to learn via coursera having large number of financial issues. Therefore it is also requested that all courses may be granted on 100% Financial Aid specially for poor / backward countries / areas.

By A. L

Mar 23, 2024

Impressive, very useful, direct, and practical. All we, teachers, need for instructing our students. After all, we only need schools, around the world, to realize ChatGPT cannot be banned or hidden anymore. Students need to know the real way to use the AI properly.

By Srdjan S K

Oct 17, 2023

A great introduction to prompting patterns for educators. Sure to help broaden the understanding of potential applications that can improve the quality of teaching and learning and provide some assistance to time-poor teachers.

By Atsushi K

Oct 14, 2023

Brilliant! This course inspired my creativity and showed me 3 lesson plans and crazy game ideas using ChatGPT. This usage can definitely be used in real-life lesson planning for university/school. Thank you, Prof. Jules.

By Derek R

Jan 30, 2024

This mini-course is perfect for busy education professionals, both teachers and administrators who seek to support their faculty in using AI effectively as both a planning tool and an instructional tool.

By Andrés V

Jan 6, 2024

Straightforward. Provides good examples that encourage you and your students to make of your class a more interesting place to be part of. ChatGPT is a great tool to come up with new and detailed ideas.

By THANAKIT J

Dec 1, 2023

It was an interesting course and helped me wonderfully in my teaching. I do not have to worry about next week, what else will we have to teach? It is very good.

By Freelancelder

Jan 26, 2024

Con lo platicado aquí en el curso aprendí que estaba utilizando mal la IA y que hay otra forma de utilizarla para obtener mejores resultados fue magnifico

By MAURICIO E C K

Sep 28, 2023

Me parece que Jules White es un excelente profesor y le pone pasión a la ensañansa. El el segundo curso que tomo y ya me inscribí en el tercero. Gracias.

By Sheetal P

Jan 31, 2024

It's a fantastic course giving away tips on making teaching more personalized for individual students with the help of Generative AI Tools.

By David L

Apr 27, 2024

Not only was this very informative, which one expects from courses, but the immediate practical usability is obvious from the start.

By Nasreiah Z

Apr 28, 2024

Allow us to get the most current information on Chatgpt! Now I know how to make use of Chatgpt for innovative teaching

By Nagla

May 4, 2024

The course is highly beneficial, providing substantial support and insight into the subject matter.Thank you.