Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
3,019 ratings

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB

Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 792 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Sue L

Aug 6, 2020

I can't say how much I like the course. It is perfect including the content and the learning style. I am not only learned it also I gained the confidence of learning medical knowledge in a second language. I always seek an opportunity to learn something related to work in a Pharmacy too. (that is my dream job) but I didn't find one can match my goal in Coursera so far. I hope I can have one to learn to start my dream career in a pharmacy. Also, I want to thank the teacher in the videos. She explains so well and shows so much patient to speak slowly and clearly. Thank you so much!

By Tri N

Oct 1, 2020

This is really a helpful course for all medical students, regardless of being an international or U.S students. I highly recommend this for you because of some reasons. First of all, you will be taught by a supportive lecturer who gives you step by step instructions about how to decode many abbreviations in clinical circumstances. Secondly, the course will give you a list of PRS (prefix, root, suffix) that really come in handy with my campus life. Thus, I assure you that it will useful for you too.

By Dhruvkumar P P

May 17, 2022

The course is aptly designed to provide important information about the ways by which medical terms can be dissected and understood. This course dives the learner from the abbreviations concerning the vital signs of the body to the different medical professions to the medical interventions for common diseases & conditions to medications and laboratory procedures. The final clinical simulation activity to apply the knowledge acquired in the course is also worth experiencing.

By Janice S

Nov 10, 2020

Thank you for the time put in developing this course. I found it to be extremely helpful and quite educational. I particularly enjoyed the scenarios in module 6 that showed what it would be like in a clinical setting. The vocal demonstrations of the terms were great as well. I really appreciate all that I have learned and I feel that I have gained greater knowledge of terminology used in a clinical setting and am sure that this will be beneficial in my career.

By Khalil M

Jan 22, 2022

The course was excellent. I liked it a lot as I learned how to organize the studying materials. It keeps the student search and check the concepts of the medical terminology. I myself wanted to understand this field and not only competing the course. Here it is not the end, I will keep revising what I learned and expand my knowledge in this field. Thank you so much and I appreciate all of those who participated in preparing and presenting this course.

By Alice X H

Aug 20, 2021

I learned some new medical terminology in English on American clinic unit even if I am a doctor. I graduated from my undergraduate university and graduate university in China. I have been living in the Bay Area for almost two years. I must learn more medical terminology in English and be familiar with American clinic situation. I hope I can work as a physician again at a hospital in the U.S. in the future. I'd like to help more people. Thanks so much.

By Buyantogtokh D

Jul 17, 2023

Thank you for your great course. I am not a student in a medical field. I am a technical translator, not a medical translator. I used to always wonder why doctors use words that I did not understand. Now I am able to understand what vital signs mean at hospitals. At least, I am able to read my tests or what tests they are. I am quite surprised the quality of this course.

Thank you again. I hope you will find what you are looking for in this course.

By Rafael V d S C

Sep 25, 2019

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics on Clinical Terminology and really helped me through a clinical experience I had the chance to do after completing the course! It allowed me to have the first and important contact with most terms and abbreviations commonly used in different scenarios of healthcare professions. Great course instructors, easy to read and comprehensible materials. Highly recommendable.

By Giao N

Sep 14, 2021

The course is very useful for students who approach medical practice for the first time. Although it can't provide all the medical abbreviations due to limited time, I gain an overview about clinical terminology, which can help my studylotlot. The most thing I like about this course is that the teacher taught me how to decode comlicated medical words by myself. It's absolutely worth studying this course.

By punnajee d

Apr 17, 2023

It is a great pleasure to get this vital certificate from a globally recognized and reputed university. This is my first Coursera Certificate and wish to complete all the courses I have already enrolled in coursera.org. All the credits should go to the course coordinators and the academic staff. Thanks a lot to everybody who empowered us as health care professionals to serve the world much more.

By ayesha t

Aug 21, 2022

I had a great experice by taking this course, it helps me to learn alot of things related to medicine, hospital, patients history and many medical terminologies . This course describe the human body and the abnormalities and how to treat them in different scinarioes . It helps me to learn the proper terminology for major diseases and pathological conditions as well as each system of the body.

By Laura D H T

May 29, 2020

An excellent course. Topics gradually increase in difficulty, building up on previous lessons so as to continue to practice and not forget the knowledge acquired in the first weeks. I found it most useful and I was actually able to put in into practice today at work (as an over-the-phone interpreter), as I encountered the term "syncopal episode", which I learned during this course.

By Conner D

Apr 11, 2021

I am very happy with the course content. While I wish there was more interaction in the earlier weeks of the course, the information is invaluable and presented in a straightforward manner. I am very glad I spent the time to take this course, it was worth it. Dr. Swigart seems very nice, and I appreciate her wanting to share her knowledge online with a global community.

By Mark C

Apr 11, 2020

As someone who needed a certificate but has advance knowledge in the medical field I found this course to be well taught and guided to common/specific terms used. It as well teaches discussions between patient/provider and between healthcare workers. Great class that should greatly ease learners to the language needed to operate in the medical field.

By Epitacia C

Jul 3, 2018

Greetings from Colombia.This is a very good course. I learned a lot of medical terminology in English. The topics that correspond to the doctor were hard for me. Those that correspond to the nursing staff were very easy, because that is what I know how to do. Many thanks to the University of Pennsylvania for offering this free course to us.

By isabella i t m

Mar 22, 2020

Un curso muy completo, digerible y práctico. Los creadores fueron muy precisos con los objetivos educativos lo cual hace mas fácil y rápido el aprendizaje, a pesar de su contenido en idioma Ingles (mi lengua materna es español). Sin embargo, se recomienda tener mínimo un nivel intermedio de ingles para el completo entendimiento del curso

By Halyna Y

May 28, 2021

Great course for someone who interested in US medical care, equipment and communication between nurses-patients-doctors. Great examples and chalanging quizes after are waiting for you! Also course will be useful for proffesional who is going to take a shadowing or other types of exchanging a medical expirience in US. Highly recommend!

By María A B

Apr 17, 2019

This course is very well organized in six weeks, the information learnt over these weeks was completely useful and rewarding for the student to acquire. The videos and activities were helpful to picture all the ideas and contents studied during the course. I'm very glad to have participated in this course. Thank you very much.

By Nathan E M

Oct 15, 2018

Very good course for learning how to speak with medical terms. I have had no real training in the health care field, but I work at a hospital and I want to get ahead in the administrative side of health care. This was a great course for the person taking his first health care baby steps. Next step is Intro to Human Anatomy.

By Zobia

Jun 17, 2020

It was really helpful how the teachers taught us in the most efficient way.I was doubtful at first,but later on,when the information began to sank into my mind, I felt satisfied. I am thankful to the institution for providing us the best course and I feel more confident working in the medical field now.

Thank you so much.

By Ricardo V F

Jul 23, 2020

A very well designed training, with updated terminology, explained in a very simple and efficient manner. It has proven to be very helpful for my work and has broadened my language, allowing me to be of better assistance to the medical providers as well as to the patients. Thank you for this opportunity...

By Dr. T L

Sep 29, 2020

I sometimes could not open the Audio file and could not listen to answer the question, and I was so busy last month. That's why I delayed to submit the assignments. Thanks a lot to give me a chance to finish this course and encourage me. I really appreciate your kindness. I'm grateful and enjoy to learn

By Linh T H

Mar 20, 2023

It's really useful. This course creates a favourable condition for me to get access to working environment in US hospitals. In addition, knowledge from the course assists me to have a good grasp of clinical terminology. Special thanks to Coursea for giving me such great chance to broaden my mind!

By Vinaya D

Jun 29, 2020

This course was really helpful. In a simple and systematic way i understood the topics and also took notes for my future reference. I really liked doing the practice quizzes, i could easily do the tests because this course improvises and gives a clear understanding about the clinical knowledge.

By Juan P R M

Aug 5, 2020

This course is very helpfully for introduce into the clinical terminology of U.S. As a foreign student, from Colombia, who speak spanish and who is learning medicine in spanish is a good contribution for my future plans to study in U.S. thank you pitrsburg university for this awesome course