Chevron Left
Back to Collaborative Foresight: How to Game the Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Collaborative Foresight: How to Game the Future by Institute for the Future

4.9
stars
122 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

You’ll never have a complete picture of what's possible in the future if you look at it from just one point of view. The best way to expand your vision? Engage as many people as you can, and “game out” the possibilities together. In this course, you’ll learn how to use collaborative gaming techniques to go beyond your own thinking and see many, many different sides of the same future. Over the past decade, the Institute for the Future has pioneered new methods in “massively-multiplayer foresight.” You’ll learn how to adapt these methods to get diverse, surprising views of what’s possible, build your empathy for other people’s futures, and reduce your risk of being “blindsided” by the future. This course features content from the Ethical Operating System, a tool created by the Institute in collaboration with Omidyar Networks’ Tech and Society Lab. It’s designed to help technology companies anticipate risks and prevent unwanted consequences of the things they build. Whether or not you work in tech, the Ethical Operating System will give you the chance to participate right now in an urgent future forecasting game. The stakes of the game are the future of truth, privacy, democracy, security, and our collective well-being. It’s a unique opportunity to join creative and strategic forces with people who are making the tech that’s inventing the future, and with fellow futures thinkers like you. Many thanks to the Enlight Foundation and the Enlight Collaborative, which provided a grant to support the creation of this course....

Top reviews

PB
Jan 31, 2021

Fun, thoughtful, useful, empowering! Well designed with a good mixture of lecture, visual aides, reading material and practical assignment. Learning should be fun, and this really was.

RS
Nov 12, 2020

This course is amazing. And the lecturer also telling everything very clearly. It was very fun. Having lots of games to do. Recommend everyone.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Collaborative Foresight: How to Game the Future

By A.L.Kishore A

Aug 2, 2020

One of the best course I did on Coursera. Thanks for Institute for the Future Team and especially to Dr Jane McGonigal.

By James R

Mar 31, 2020

Excellent - very insightful and interesting course.

By Raymond N

Apr 3, 2020

This course is well presented by a Thought Leader in Futures Thinking. It is well designed with abundant readings, exercises, and videos. One of its most powerful components is the connection "Classmates" can develop with each other during the discussions and exam reviews. This is where the student gets chance to learn how people from around the world think on important issues and contribute to the character of the course. Ray Newkirk

By David H

Nov 20, 2019

Thank you, Jane. I'm finding this whole specialisation very inspiring. The gaming idea really speaks to me. I've downloaded Unity and I've started working on the flooding game I did for one of the prompts. The Simtainers were also great - and I'm doing some VR with Unity looking at a couple of scenarios.

By Nathan K

May 9, 2020

A perfect class for teaching you how to work with others to game out the future, and discover all the possibilities. This is a tool I think every team and company should use, because what better way to forecast/predict the future than to include everyone in it together?

By Petra B

Feb 1, 2021

Fun, thoughtful, useful, empowering! Well designed with a good mixture of lecture, visual aides, reading material and practical assignment. Learning should be fun, and this really was.

By Rathmalgodage J U S

Nov 12, 2020

This course is amazing. And the lecturer also telling everything very clearly. It was very fun. Having lots of games to do. Recommend everyone.

By Kamasani P

Aug 11, 2020

Activities were so just making my mind work and fun to do! You can step yourself as a futurist as i did. I just loved Future wheel the most!!

By Marianella B F D

Apr 5, 2021

Ready to collaborate to create the future! A really interesting and fun course! To crush your brain!

By Rodrigo A R C

Apr 20, 2021

muchas gracias, me encanto y ahora podre aplicar lo aprendido en mi carrera profesional

By Alice N

Jun 27, 2020

My favorite course in this specialization! Bravo!

By Maribel

Aug 30, 2020

I loved! Game is a wonderful resource!

By Alejandro E

May 12, 2020

was agood course.

the tools are new for me

By Akshat O

Feb 11, 2021

The best course in coursera (imho)!

By Winston A W

Sep 27, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

By R.E. L

Feb 12, 2021

New helpful tools!

By Javier M

May 20, 2020

AMAZING! THANKS!!

By Ruben S

Apr 14, 2020

EXCELLENT!!

By Fernando L M

May 3, 2020

Fantastic

By limor

Jan 11, 2020

loved it

By DHIVYA M

Aug 30, 2020

good

By Nassra S A A A

Sep 17, 2020

I

By VISWANATH K

Jul 13, 2020

Very good course, But the review takes some time. Waiting for the review result make us unrestful. Good. Happy to move forward

By Cleonildo S

Dec 6, 2020

Great insights. it expanded my views on how to game not just the future as well as other things