Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Complex Analysis

Introduction to Complex Analysis, Wesleyan University

4.8
510 ratings
161 reviews

About this Course

This course provides an introduction to complex analysis which is the theory of complex functions of a complex variable. We will start by introducing the complex plane, along with the algebra and geometry of complex numbers, and then we will make our way via differentiation, integration, complex dynamics, power series representation and Laurent series into territories at the edge of what is known today. Each module consists of five video lectures with embedded quizzes, followed by an electronically graded homework assignment. Additionally, modules 1, 3, and 5 also contain a peer assessment. The homework assignments will require time to think through and practice the concepts discussed in the lectures. In fact, a significant amount of your learning will happen while completing the homework assignments. These assignments are not meant to be completed quickly; rather you'll need paper and pen with you to work through the questions. In total, we expect that the course will take 6-12 hours of work per module, depending on your background....

Top reviews

By RK

Apr 06, 2018

The lectures were very easy to follow and the exercises fitted these lectures well. This course was not always very rigorous, but a great introduction to complex analysis nevertheless. Thank you!

By NS

Jun 25, 2018

The prof makes it easy to understand yet fascinating. I enjoyed video checkpoints, quizzes and peer reviewed assignments. This course encourages you to think and discover new things.

Filter by:

155 Reviews

By viren kantaria

Jan 14, 2019

this course very good for starting the study of complex number and most important it is designed in very good way

By Stanley Yelnats

Jan 12, 2019

Excellent pacing of materials. The assignments strike that rare balance of enforcing key concepts that were discussed during that week's lectures and not being too difficult. And more than that, in my opinion, you can certainly tell that the instructor really cares about teaching in general. I took this class on a whim because I saw it was available and thought "eh, why not?", and I am delighted to say that this feels stumbling on some hidden treasure.

By Jianlong He

Jan 05, 2019

It's wonderful!!

By Neeti Sinha

Jan 03, 2019

Thanks, Very much enjoyed this course, and learned a great deal from it. Thanks!

By Nilesh khatri

Dec 30, 2018

Wonderful course. Learned a lot.

By Daizhou

Dec 28, 2018

Very informative, very good explanation, highly recommend!

By Colin Young

Dec 22, 2018

The course covers quite a wide range of topics but are very approachable. Nice lecturer, and very clear pdf slides available for read at any time. One can follow the lecture contents either by watching the videos or by walking through the reading resources provided, either way serves my need. The assessment questions are well-designed to test the learner's understandings. Good course!

By Bryan Scott Vance II

Dec 16, 2018

grateful for the opportunity to learn some complex analysis.

By Luis Felipe Gomes da Silva

Dec 09, 2018

The course is great! Everything is explained soundly well and concise.

By CHEN NI

Dec 02, 2018

Amazing! Professor Petra Bonfert-Taylor is a real master of simplifying complex conceptions. Very clear and inspiring :)