Chevron Left
Back to Converter Circuits

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Converter Circuits by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
635 ratings
108 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces more advanced concepts of switched-mode converter circuits. Realization of the power semiconductors in inverters or in converters having bidirectional power flow is explained. Power diodes, power MOSFETs, and IGBTs are explained, along with the origins of their switching times. Equivalent circuit models are refined to include the effects of switching loss. The discontinuous conduction mode is described and analyzed. A number of well-known converter circuit topologies are explored, including those with transformer isolation. The homework assignments include a boost converter and an H-bridge inverter used in a grid-interfaced solar inverter system, as well as transformer-isolated forward and flyback converters. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand how to implement the power semiconductor devices in a switching converter ● Understand the origins of the discontinuous conduction mode and be able to solve converters operating in DCM ● Understand the basic dc-dc converter and dc-ac inverter circuits ● Understand how to implement transformer isolation in a dc-dc converter, including the popular forward and flyback converter topologies. Completion of the first course Introduction to Power Electronics is the assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SK

Jul 15, 2018

The course has intensified my interest towards the field of Power Electronics. One won't find such systematic and lucid teaching anywhere else. I am grateful to the instructors of the course.

TS

Apr 06, 2019

This is very awesome course which had cleared my concept and it's assignment had helped me out to implement theory while design related problems. Thank you so much Coursera and Prof.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 103 Reviews for Converter Circuits

By Faheem A

Nov 26, 2016

Aim to complete this specialization course. My interest and work both aligns perfectly with this course, and its immensely helping me out.

By saurabh v

Mar 29, 2019

Great course, well presented. Goes over basics and the HW is complex and interesting enough to keep you hooked. Hope the rest of the series is like this as well

By Chinedu O

Dec 09, 2018

It exposes the learner very well and makes one rattle the brain.

By Thai D N D

Feb 13, 2019

It's useful !!!

By Deleted A

Mar 12, 2019

Power Electronics Rocks

By Lionel M

Jul 29, 2018

Course materials are clearly explained. While the quizzes are really tough, they help you consolidate all the learning you have done.

By Abdul B

Jul 30, 2018

This course is so awesome it have blown my mind. Thank You Coursera. Thank You University of Colorado for bringing such a great course to us.

By Akanimo I

Aug 07, 2018

Great course.

By Musaib

Dec 30, 2016

good

By sanjay m

Dec 30, 2017

excellent course

By Michael B

Jul 23, 2017

Very thorough course. Glad it contains very realistic and well explained examples. One suggestion (maybe this would be a better comment for Coursera programmers) would be to allow the homework assignments to auto-complete answers you have already gotten right.

By Claudio J C P

Mar 18, 2017

This course was a very interesting and challenging. I highly recommended to anyone who wants to start with power electronics. The quality of the course was outstanding and the instructor really knows how to teach it. Looking forward to participate in the following courses.

By Julio E F

Dec 19, 2016

Amazing course!

By Ronald J M

May 10, 2016

Excellent...!!!

By Scott S

Sep 08, 2017

Professor is concise and clear. Problems are challenging and what you learn in this course is excellent and directly applicable to real work design work.

By Foube

Nov 30, 2016

Great course!

By Luis V

Jul 15, 2016

Excelente curso. Muy didáctico y con abundante información

By Shafquat H

Oct 22, 2017

very interesting course !

By VENKATESH B

Jul 03, 2017

No words describe it,just Awesome.............

By Ólafur Í B

Nov 19, 2017

Great course

By Kao S

Nov 04, 2016

Good course.

By Hellenic S

Aug 03, 2017

Excellent Course!

By Italo A

Oct 20, 2016

Awesome course, very well explained!

By Luciano B

Apr 12, 2018

Very interesting course. All these dynamics involving converters are awesome. Congratulations for the course. Now heading for course 3. Thanks a lot.

By Carlos F H P

Feb 26, 2016

It has been one of my favorites MOOCs, I would say a top 3 of the best courses i have taken.

Even though you have to work so hard to deal with the homeworks, you are going to learn a lot. Professor Erickson is a great master in his field and he explains so clear. I really recommend this course to those who love electronics and want to develop their own projects.