Chevron Left
Back to Science Matters: Let's Talk About COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science Matters: Let's Talk About COVID-19 by Imperial College London

3.9
stars
81 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to ‘Science Matters: Let's Talk about COVID-19’, from the Abdul Latif Jameel Institute for Disease and Emergency Analytics (J-IDEA) at Imperial College London. The outbreak of the Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) is the most significant public health emergency of the 21st century so far. As the epidemic spreads, people around the world want to understand the science behind the most pressing questions: how many people have been infected? How dangerous is the virus? When will a vaccine be available? How can the epidemic be contained, and the damages mitigated? What is the economic impact? What’s the role of social media and local communities in the epidemic response? Researchers at J-IDEA and other research institutes at Imperial College London have been at the forefront of the response to the COVID-19 emergency, with clinical, epidemiological and social science analyses informing the outbreak response. They are generating robust empirical evidence that governments and international agencies are using around the world to plan their responses. On this course, you will hear directly from our world-class experts about the theory behind the analyses of COVID-19 and its spread, while learning how to interpret new information using core principles of public health, epidemiology, medicine, health economics, and social science. You will be able to watch regular situation reports about the state of the epidemic, provided by the researchers of J-IDEA and its director Professor Neil Ferguson. If you want to learn even more about these topics, a number of free MOOCs are available from Imperial College London. We also offer a fully online Global Master of Public Health for those of you who want to delve even deeper and join our professional community. Please note: This course was launched in February 2020 and we have continued to develop content as the COVID-19 situation progresses and new insights emerge. While we endeavour to include the most recent information, this is a fast-moving situation and information is constantly changing. This course is to be used for educational purposes only and is open to all and free of charge. The information in this course does not constitute clinical or other advice and must not be used for the purposes of providing any clinical or other advice. If you have any health concerns, please refer to your regional health authorities’ guidelines and consult a medical professional. Please note the views expressed by individuals in the course content do not necessarily reflect those of Imperial College London, J-IDEA and any other funding partners. Imperial College London, J-IDEA and any other funding partners shall not be liable, to the maximum extent permitted by law, for any loss suffered or for any other adverse or negative consequence arising directly or indirectly from your reliance on the information contained in this course....
Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Science Matters: Let's Talk About COVID-19

By Norma G L A

Mar 24, 2020

Excellent! thank you for your effort, God Bless you.,

I will be so grateful if you inform me when the course begins again to sing up for a certificate by taking the quizes, on free mode. Thanks.

By Haider T K

Apr 01, 2020

Very important information and up to date

By Jose A G R

Mar 30, 2020

Great information, thank you.

By Abdifatah M A

Apr 16, 2020

Very interesting updates

By Dr M S K

Apr 15, 2020

Really knowledge able

By MOHAMMAD H

Apr 10, 2020

Very good, thank you

By Dr S k

Apr 22, 2020

Very helpful course

By Dr H s

Apr 18, 2020

Very informative

By Antonio M d S N

Mar 26, 2020

Very good course

By MD. A R

Apr 10, 2020

Effective

By Magdi S S S

Mar 31, 2020

thank you

By DrAjay k

Apr 20, 2020

Superb

By Zia M

Mar 25, 2020

I want to thank Imperial College London & Abdul Latif Jameel Institute for Disease Emergency Analytics for their efforts. This course is Good to know an overview of what is happening in the world.

I recommend you include, how to stop this according to available research and what is the effect of temperature on it? Will, it propagates as fast in hot countries and how to counter this?

how China became corona free and what is their strategy to fight against it? What lesson we can learn from china to counter this? Importantly it does not spread in entire china and the rest of the world has multiple cases?

Last but not least, Why china is buying company shares which are facing degradation and facing low market values? how can china defend this thing completely while other developed countries are struggling for it? (A recent survey showed that china bought 30% of shares for US-based companies).

By Zaki D

Mar 19, 2020

Great to have this course in real time.

Please input the date of each lesson or video as this is it most relevant in this case.

allow audio to be turned louder to enable listening in different environments, like outside.

Keep this up.

By MIGUEL A I D

Apr 16, 2020

Es gratis el certificado ?

By chagantipati A

Apr 30, 2020

Very nice

By Mai

Apr 16, 2020

Thank you so much for this nice course ..

I just felt it was a bit unorganized in terms of topics ...

The course was mainly focused on the spread of COVID-19 and its statistics.

But nothing about how it works inside the infected body .. I wish the course included the life cycle of COVID-19, how long does it live outside a host, how does it replicate and mutate on the DNA level, how does it travel through the infected body ...

If these information are not yet available, then at least about similar Coronavirus, like SARS or MERS, or even anything about the Corona Viruses in general ... or at least about the behavior of any virus in general ...

And ... I completed the whole course, every item and every week is marked completed in green, it still shows that the course is "in progress"!!

So, I'm not sure why it doesn't show that I have completed it!!

By ASIF A

Apr 30, 2020

Good

By leopold c

Mar 12, 2020

I would compare this course to eg the development of the alphabet system. Let's say lesson 1 would be on the development of the letter "A", lesson 2 "B" etc. Now imagine running this course now! how would you rate this course? Excellent or bad?

To be constructively critical, I would give a general introduction and then jump into what the Scientists know now, not go into old news which is already on TV, Radio etc.

I would surely commend the college on its attempt to enlighten the general public, only that they would be current.

Thank You

Sincerely

Leopold

By andrey

Mar 19, 2020

just a lot of word about general statistics and absolutely nothing about the virus itself

By Manuel C B

Mar 21, 2020

I found it outdated... Actual situation has changed a lot

By Dr. D P

May 16, 2020

No Certificate given to me ...time waste

By Katharina A

Mar 31, 2020

So far useless

By Jose R M

Mar 22, 2020

Out of date