Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Fundamentals for Data Analysts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Fundamentals for Data Analysts by Databricks

4.2
stars
39 ratings

About the Course

In this course we're going to guide you through the fundamental building blocks of data science, one of the fastest-growing fields in the world! With the help of our industry-leading data scientists, we’ve designed this course to build ready-to-apply data science skills in just 15 hours of learning. First, we’ll give you a quick introduction to data science - what it is and how it is used to solve real-world problems. For the rest of the course, we'll teach you the skills you need to apply foundational data science concepts and techniques to solve these real-world problems. By the end of this course, you'll be able to leverage your existing data analysis skills to design, execute, assess, and communicate the results of your very own data science projects....

Top reviews

JM

Aug 4, 2022

The Databricks Data Science Fundamentals for Data Analysis coursera was outstanding. I found the lessons to be industry relavent, challenging, and fair.

JS

Oct 24, 2022

Excellent, lucid and enriching, this is one of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Kudos to the instructors.

Filter by:

1 - 12 of 12 Reviews for Data Science Fundamentals for Data Analysts

By Ayon B

Nov 8, 2021

Not satisfied with the peer review process. Delays generation of specialization certificate. I will not pay for another subscription cycle just to wait for peer review for my assignments. People also don't provide useful comments if they feel that something is wrong with the submission. This leaves the participant wondering where exactly things went wrong.

Also, instead of focusing on pyspark ML would have been better instead of sklearn which most course participants are already familiar with.

By Dzmitry S

Jan 9, 2022

If your goal is to get just basic understanding about Data Science - it will be absolutely fine for you. However you'll find almost nothing about Databricks ML features and runtime used by authors is obsolete and no longer available for selection during cluster configuration in community edition. Chapter about Statistics contains serious mistakes in notebooks and misses a lot of key information - I would propose either expand it or totaly remove and add statistics as prerequisite for the course. Also, to my mind peer review system is not as good as quizzes to evaluate students level.

By Daniel F

Nov 9, 2021

DO NOT PAY FOR COURSE UNTIL FIXED!!!

The notebooks in the course are broken. Many users posting in the forums but no response from Coursera or Databricks.

By Crystal G

Aug 27, 2021

A good primer into DS, but only tangentially related to this specialization. Work was done in Databricks, but could very easily have been done outside of it. Was hoping to learn more about DB platform for this specialization. Also, for the most part, the assignments were unclear as to what we were being asked to do.

The peer review of assignments is not a bad concept, but difficult to assess your peers when you (and probably they) don't even understand what is to be assessed.

By Dr. S D G

May 16, 2021

I am indeed so happy to finish this course with coursera. Awesome teaching, clear plan and preparation of teaching modules and lab modules. Great exposure. I am so happy that I learnt how to design a course, start from the basics, move up and land with a project. Testing the skills after very session was is a great idea and give good impact on the learning. Overall look forward to take more courses. Thank you

By Salma N

Jan 30, 2022

Great for beginners, yet as an experimented data scientist, it was refreshing to recall basics of what I love doing the most, while learning a new tool for me.

By Jeff M

Aug 5, 2022

The Databricks Data Science Fundamentals for Data Analysis coursera was outstanding. I found the lessons to be industry relavent, challenging, and fair.

By Judhajit S

Oct 24, 2022

Excellent, lucid and enriching, this is one of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Kudos to the instructors.

By Kiran B

Aug 1, 2022

The quizzes and assignments help a lot!

By AVIJIT J

Mar 27, 2022

good, consized, appropriate.

By Augustin L

Nov 3, 2022

The course gives a good overview of some of the basic/fundamental ground for data science : global methodolgy, some basic technical regression and classification methods. However I found some of the labs to be lacking in quality (some question unclear, some which I struggled due to some subtelty within only to realize that the solution proposed did not answer the question, repetition of the same structure and questions for each new regression method but no in depth commentary about the comparison of the score which would be helpfull to understand how one would choose one or another in real life). The final Project is also clearly ML oriented even if some basic data analysis can answer the topic without the need of any of the methods discussed in the course. This leads to kind of over-engineer a solution with ML, which is not a good real life practice. A dataset where ML would have been mandatory to meet the requirement would have been more adequate. I would also have liked the course to dwell more on the technical/practical skills and tools : sklearn, pyspark, hand in hand use of spark and python to quicken data analysis, etc.

By Leandro C

Apr 18, 2021

Good explanition, but the exercises are not so practical.

Wait to someone to correct your works is really hard. For this reason, I recommend to star by this course.