Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
2,529 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to create data visualizations and dashboards using spreadsheets and analytics tools. This course covers some of the first steps for telling a compelling story with your data using various types of charts and graphs. You'll learn the basics of visualizing data with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics without having to write any code. You'll start by creating simple charts in Excel such as line, pie and bar charts. You will then create more advanced visualizations with Treemaps, Scatter Charts, Histograms, Filled Map Charts, and Sparklines. Next you’ll also work with the Excel PivotChart feature as well as assemble several visualizations in an Excel dashboard. This course also teaches you how to use business intelligence (BI) tools like Cognos Analytics to create interactive dashboards. By the end of the course you will have an appreciation for the key role that data visualizations play in communicating your data analysis findings, and the ability to effectively create them. Throughout this course there will be numerous hands-on labs to help you develop practical experience for working with Excel and Cognos. There is also a final project in which you’ll create a set of data visualizations and an interactive dashboard to add to your portfolio, which you can share with peers, professional communities or prospective employers....

Top reviews

HT

Jun 5, 2022

It is very constructive and very important course for the future of data analyst career. providing practical handin experience makes it the perfect self starter and motivational course.

Thank you

BW

Sep 4, 2022

Great Course! Still some gaps between what is expected to have learned and what was actually taught as far as a couple of the charts are concerned. But overall just an absolutely WONDERFUL course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 434 Reviews for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

By Olivia K

Dec 17, 2020

There was not enough, by far, information on teaching you even the basics on using Cognos. Out of the four weeks for this course, with the fourth week being your final exam, only week three is dedicated to Cognos, and I had a LOT of questions that weren't answered. This should be re-named "Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Introduction to Cognos".

By William L

Jan 14, 2021

Many basic functions not taught, many terms not taught but referred too in hands on models, hands on models were missing key steps to complete, student must complete many steps not shown and it becomes very time consuming, this classes should be reviewed and updated

By Bongurala G

Nov 8, 2020

The design of the course is very interactive and a person without any knowledge can understand and execute the program effectively. One of the best course, it improved my understanding about data analytics to take further.

By Mary A P

Nov 7, 2020

I think I accomplished the most with this course. It was very cleanly accelerated but left enough open to explore more capabilities. I really love Cognos.

By Belinda B

Oct 30, 2020

Great course! Looking forward to working with IBM Cognos analytics more in the real world!

By Bijan A

Jul 7, 2021

Although the course has a lot to offer, but the outdated videos are hard to follow, because the IBM Cognos has changed some of the interfaces since the videos were created and it makes it very hard to follow as a hands on course to learn. The videos can also dramatically improve, by offering more examples, and also they were recorded like TV commercials, very fast moving on screens which they needed to be more gradual for the students to follow. Unfortunately the support for this course wasn't good at all, either the support personnel didn't have the inadept knowledge of the products specially IBM Cognos, or they refused to provide educational support to help us resolve problems. The support was more like the Uber support rather than the one expected from an organization like IBM.

Before taking this course I was so excited to learn all I could about the IBM Cognos. but I had to learn everything on my own at a very slower pace than I usually do. It is a shame that a course offered as part of a certification program which introduces a powerful tool which is also made by the same company, is butchered so badly .

Please review all the course materials and update them appropriately and hire some professional people with knowledge and patience to properly address the course shortcoming's which are a lot.

By Derek N

May 3, 2021

Nothing more than a hidden advertisement for IBM Cognos, and from what I saw, probably the only way to attract new users to it. Poorly finished product, inability to control critical elements of visualization. No PDF export, just to name one of many many aspects missing or poorly finished. The course work that relates to Cognos is little more than a run though of the 'features'. In the end you will not know how best to prepare your data for Cognos, but you will know how to generate a 1930' dashboard ... Fallout anyone?

By Tarek J

Dec 5, 2020

I find it very useful. it expands my knowledge of Data Visualization. Also, I become more familiar with IBM programs.

Thanks, Coursera and IBM.

By Hichem D

Nov 9, 2020

I'm glad that i improved my visualization skills with Excel and also being introduced to a powerful tool like IBM Cogno Analytics.

By Hans A E

Nov 11, 2020

Very good hand on the topic with practical applications. I am really feeling equipped for more of this king of learning...

By NEGUSSIE G

Jan 26, 2021

Very short instruction for a big software like Cognos. I had to help from other teaching platforms to begin to understand even the basics. Could be much better.

By Carlos J

Feb 27, 2022

While the material in this course is not difficult, the course was unnecessarily challenging because of the presentation and instructions. All of the instructions and images are based off of an older version of Cognos which is very confusing. Additionally, the instructions just tell you where to click without ever explaining why any of the options are selected. The only thing that this course teaches is how to follow directions, not necessarily how to utilize the tools presented.

By Pamela F

Dec 29, 2020

The class was easy to follow along to and the content as well as the labs provided a lot of information and a great overview of how to create visualizations, the types of visualizations available, and dashboarding in Excel and Cognos Analytics.

By Karel G

Dec 29, 2020

Although the excel section was a bit on the basic side, the Cognos dashboarding functionalities were truly an eye-opening experience for me. Produces the type of dashboards that gets your C-suite pants wet.

By Elsa H

Jun 11, 2021

I have learned some advanced methods of Excel from this course. It helps me feel more confident when I am using Microsoft Excel or Google documents.

By Bin L

Dec 20, 2020

The course is good. However, I met some reviewers that is malicious. So hope the course designer to take some measures to avoid this issue.

By Sahil V D

Jan 11, 2021

I got so many things to learn from this course. How the data can be visualized using IBM COGNOS just by simply loading .csv or excel file.

By Claudio L d P

Feb 27, 2021

I loved every aspect of this course. It taught me a lot about data analysis and cognos, and I am willing to know more.

By Samuel K N

Jan 14, 2021

great intro to visualisation, though I think it could do with more homework to get more juice out of the course.

By Giuseppe P

Dec 6, 2020

I found this course very useful, it have been able to give performing knowledge in Excel and Cognos.

By Peck M

Mar 1, 2021

Strongly recommend to take this course and other courses for this Data Analytics Specialization!!!

By Monique V

Feb 12, 2021

Labs & HW are really good practice for maximizing use of the features in excel and Cognos

By Fares A D D

Nov 4, 2020

Thank you, it was really helpful in terms of informativeness and particle exercises.

By Richard M

Feb 6, 2021

This course was the best so far. I learned so much about Cognos and Dashboards.

By Reinaldo G

Jan 2, 2021

Thank you for the exciting course which now I could implement this in my work!