Chevron Left
Back to Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship by The University of Sydney

4.6
stars
572 ratings
154 reviews

About the Course

This course is for entrepreneurial managers who are looking for tools and techniques to introduce exciting, innovative products or services to market quickly and informed by high-quality customer insights. It is applicable to a range of organizations from small-medium sized enterprises through to corporates, and across a range of industrial segments. The problem this course helps address is the constant pressure managers face to be innovative and introduce novel products and services for their customers. However, many creative ideas get ‘stuck’ in the boardroom or are subject to intra-organizational tensions or group think. This course provides methodologies to break through these challenges. We build on the widely known concept of design thinking but update it and apply it to advance business strategy and entrepreneurship. Over five weeks you will learn what ‘design strategy’ is, how it differs from traditional design thinking and business strategy, and how it can be used to improve existing products or services in your business, or introduce breakthrough ideas. We will also provide an exclusive, deep-dive into the practical application and impact of these strategies in one of Australia’s newest, most innovative financial institutions, UBank, and the global re-insurance giant, Swiss Re. Through conversations with their Senior Executive Leadership Teams, including UBank’s CEO, we will explore how they have embedded innovation through design thinking. By the end of this course, you will have a set of tools to inform product design and development for your own start-up, or to extend the product roadmap of an established organization....

Top reviews

JJ
Aug 19, 2019

This was very interesting and detailed oriented learning experience, giving insights towards the overall design leg strategy and components of creating a design led customer driven value proposition.

SK
Dec 9, 2020

It's really an excellent course for UX professionals. It takes deep insight from the design thinking process to Design Strategy to Corporate Strategy. Thank you so much for the opportunity.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 152 Reviews for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

By Alejandra A

Jun 19, 2020

I think it’s very complete and touches every important part of the subject. I liked how it was structured. I gave it a 4 because I didn’t really find useful week 4.

By Geneviève G

Aug 5, 2019

Très bien conçu. Chaque étape inclut différentes approches d'apprentissage (vidéo, quiz, devoirs et travail de réflexion). J'ai vraiment apprécié ma formation.

By Greg K

Jul 1, 2019

Excellent insight and tools for turning Design Thinking into Strategy. Easy to follow pace and clear course materials. Going to look for more...

By SAJITH M P

May 16, 2019

Good Material , Good discussions & Examples were very relevant & Enjoyed the Learning process. This is my first Certification from Coursera :)

By Sudipa G

Jun 10, 2020

It's a very good course and specially for who wanted to be a entrepreneur, so I love to this course and I learned so many things, Thank you.

By Tiago V

Dec 2, 2019

Very interesting way to put on practice the theory you learn with a project that you may want to take off finally!. Great stuff!

By Charles L

Aug 20, 2018

Interesting content, but still not entirely sure how the concepts of design thinking and corporate trategy really gel together.

By Tryambak C

Jan 17, 2020

Great course. But definitely not of intermediate standard. It should be categorized under basic. Just above beginner level.

By Phani K

Jul 21, 2018

A Good course which can give a detailed introduction about Design Thinking. The assignments can be made still tough .

By Cam M

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative with up to date case studies. Would recommend to any entrepreneur, product manager, or designer.

By Sophie B D

May 12, 2020

Excellent course to better understand Design thinking in the context of business strategic initiatives.

By Denis F d S

May 8, 2019

Very good and practical. Even though it's a virtual course, thought it was really interactive.

By Harul M

Mar 5, 2019

Very good course for a solid introduction on design thinking for business strategy.

By Mathew N

Apr 3, 2020

Good insight on design thinking and its application in Corporate environment.

By Kartikey G

Jul 11, 2020

A good primer and experience on business strategy and design thinking.

By Thomas O

Nov 13, 2020

I think the course was nicely put together. Well done to the team.

By Bhavesh L

Jun 15, 2020

Fruitful course with excellent content & tutor.

By TAM H Y

Feb 9, 2019

A good introduction to Design Strategy.

By Alessandra C

Sep 18, 2020

very interesting and well explained

By Ivan T

Jan 3, 2020

nice and concise course.

By Andy R

Feb 11, 2019

Clear video, concise!

By Anadi s

Sep 6, 2020

Great content

By Filipe V G

May 30, 2020

The course is a very good introduction about the exposed subjects. Even better if:

-Use more examples when explaining principles. The course ends up very superficial and theoretical even with the cases used they just talk about things but they haven't shown any real example. It would be much better they show real examples of each section (persona, MVP, prototype, canvas...)

-Lots of links from the reading materials are offline

-Most of the links are not very useful and from good sources. I'd expect more resources as the one used in the first week from HBS

By Steeve P

Jul 11, 2020

Good overview of the design thinking process, but despite the title, it is still very focused on digitization products. I was hoping that there would be more comparing and contrasting with established strategy frameworks.