Chevron Left
Back to Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship by The University of Sydney

4.6
stars
569 ratings
153 reviews

About the Course

This course is for entrepreneurial managers who are looking for tools and techniques to introduce exciting, innovative products or services to market quickly and informed by high-quality customer insights. It is applicable to a range of organizations from small-medium sized enterprises through to corporates, and across a range of industrial segments. The problem this course helps address is the constant pressure managers face to be innovative and introduce novel products and services for their customers. However, many creative ideas get ‘stuck’ in the boardroom or are subject to intra-organizational tensions or group think. This course provides methodologies to break through these challenges. We build on the widely known concept of design thinking but update it and apply it to advance business strategy and entrepreneurship. Over five weeks you will learn what ‘design strategy’ is, how it differs from traditional design thinking and business strategy, and how it can be used to improve existing products or services in your business, or introduce breakthrough ideas. We will also provide an exclusive, deep-dive into the practical application and impact of these strategies in one of Australia’s newest, most innovative financial institutions, UBank, and the global re-insurance giant, Swiss Re. Through conversations with their Senior Executive Leadership Teams, including UBank’s CEO, we will explore how they have embedded innovation through design thinking. By the end of this course, you will have a set of tools to inform product design and development for your own start-up, or to extend the product roadmap of an established organization....

Top reviews

JJ
Aug 19, 2019

This was very interesting and detailed oriented learning experience, giving insights towards the overall design leg strategy and components of creating a design led customer driven value proposition.

SK
Dec 9, 2020

It's really an excellent course for UX professionals. It takes deep insight from the design thinking process to Design Strategy to Corporate Strategy. Thank you so much for the opportunity.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 152 Reviews for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

By Ana L D M

May 27, 2020

This course is very helpful to get into Design Thinking. It is really an eye opener. With real cases it helps you to understand the journey of design thinking and how to apply it on your personal and professional life. Enjoy!

By Jéssica F d C

Jul 6, 2020

Como eu curti fazer esse curso! O conteúdo é rico e robusto e o que mais gostei foram os materiais que poderei usar em meus projetos e os cases de aplicação de Design Thinking que foram feitos em empresas da Austrália.

By Ta H T

Dec 14, 2020

It's interesting and informative. Although I learned about Design Thinking before but I find this cource helpful with many reading resources and new ideas and questions to help me understand Design Thinking better.

By Aries S

May 22, 2020

This training is easy to understand and in provided with good pace. The material is enough to understand the framework of product inception and self exercise is provided to test the understanding of the concept.

By Holger W

May 19, 2020

Thank for having offered this course and your dedication. Perhaps you should amplify the theme to the complete Service Design, so Design Thinking can also be viewed in the context of which it is part of. Thanks!

By Siddarth D

Jul 8, 2019

Very cleanly designed with good explanations for all the modules. I feel having a few more actual worksheets to fill out would be even more effective but the information presented was extremely helpful.

By Jitesh J

Aug 20, 2019

This was very interesting and detailed oriented learning experience, giving insights towards the overall design leg strategy and components of creating a design led customer driven value proposition.

By Subeer K

Dec 10, 2020

It's really an excellent course for UX professionals. It takes deep insight from the design thinking process to Design Strategy to Corporate Strategy. Thank you so much for the opportunity.

By NATALIE C T L

Aug 18, 2020

This course is a very useful and excellent course I would say. Well comprehend and I love the part which brings in real life examples of how Swiss Re and Ubank used the design strategy.

By Jose B

Jul 18, 2020

Great course with very useful insights of how design thinking is implemented in different organizations and experienced as how it has changed the strategies used by common business.

By Elizabeth B

Mar 5, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It uses real cases to help you empathise with corporate internal issues which happens in any company. I definitely learned from it and recommend it.

By David H

May 16, 2019

Excellent structure, insights and case studies to give a solid foundation course into design strategy. Will be applying directly these tools and learnings in my consulting work.

By SANJEEV S

Jan 15, 2019

The course was really helpful in my workplace and even in personal life. I could apply the learnings in a innovative yet logical manner to achieve better than desired results.

By Hoang B T

May 10, 2020

This course is very advisable for university students, entrepreneurs or anyone who want to have a big picture for the application of design thinking in business innovation.

By Kalyan,Varun

Jul 13, 2020

Very interactive class with actionable tasks and projects. Personally I've gained a lot from this course that I will use in real life situations to build products

By Tanja N

May 6, 2020

It was a great course with many aha-moments, practical examples and it was a pleasure to participate. Many thanks to the lecturers, all participants and coursera.

By Mary U

May 11, 2020

This course was incredibly easy to follow. Lessons were very clear and concise. I felt like I learnt a lot from this course and would definitely recommend it.

By Judy M S

Dec 12, 2020

I learned a lot about design strategy in such a short time. I am excited to apply my learnings to my small business. Thank you, University of Sydney!

By Rahul R B

Apr 12, 2020

This course was very theoretical. It helped me in learning practical business strategy skills. I would recommend this course to every MBA student.

By SeeKiat K

May 31, 2020

Excellent course to seriously think through with guidance and considerations to make a value proposition, based on human centric requirements.

By Upenyu M

Oct 15, 2020

This course is comprehensive and educational. All the modules were clear and understandable with resourceful links for further reading.

By Danladi M

Mar 16, 2019

The course was an eye opener into better strategies to introduce new products and solve business problems. I enjoyed every bit of it.

By Kumar V N

Jun 5, 2020

The whole content was so delicious and easy to digest, I hope I’ll come again for another course of a meal !/ Thank you COURSERA !

By Miguel H

Dec 23, 2019

Great traininig, it truly make you understand how to apply Corporate Strategy and Design Thinking together, for better results.

By Carlos F S a

Jun 7, 2020

Very good and essential for learning the best way to built a strategy based on the real importance of the product or company.