Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,889 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

M

May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

SK

Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

Filter by:

976 - 991 of 991 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By Yash W

Apr 15, 2022

Quizzes makes me feel like a failure.

Got up to the first quiz

The course does not provide nearly enough info and I had to look up alot of the keywords in google like risk aversion, since you only get a basic example and nothing else. When it comes to quizzes its really hard as it is ambiguous, the wording and how it relates to content is difficult to understand. I felt that i studied the two lecture slides for a long time plus i did my own reading, yet i keep scoring between 30 - 50 % over 4 attempts. Another thing about the slides is eventhough they are 27 and 47 slides they say very litle on them.

Overall collosally disappointing

By RAHUL J

Jun 14, 2022

I did personally did not like this course. There was good information in the course but it needs to be presented in more easy to understand manner for beginners. Also it was difficult to do the excercises after doing the course. I have done 2 more courses on topics related to finance on coursera and they had great content and quizzes were also completely relevant to what was being taught in videos.

Duke University should come up with updated version of this course. I would love to go through the updated course again.

By Anni Z

Jan 22, 2024

I was expecting more from this course. The topic is fascinating, but the way it is taught, designed and delivered is very dull and uninspiring. The course does not take advantage of any of the available technical tools to make it more engaging and interactive- just tedious videos and poorly crafted slides. I regret taking this course. I would recommend finding a book or a YouTube channel that covers the same subject in a more appealing way.

By Salem A Y B

Jul 23, 2022

Thank you for the article The trainers are specialized and scientifically capable, but the level of information delivery is less than the standard, The reading material is very long and complex Most of the questions are incomprehensible I suggest simplifying it further and making reading materials optional thank you

By Christopher J D

Jan 31, 2024

Not enough discussion on the different biases, introduce situational examples but really failed to explain the relevant biases at play. Also thought the materials/readings were not lacking in substance.

By James O

Oct 5, 2021

The format for Quiz 1 is FUBAR. Messages to the site bring NO response or correction to the problem. Avoid courses from Duke! They evidently aren't computer savey or concerned.

By Abbas Y

Apr 30, 2023

I would've read a book instead of this course, it's all filled with presentations and readings. A course should be videos not readings.

By Sophia E

Dec 4, 2023

Please I would like to unenroll for this course. I can't say much about it because I don't see the value since I'm not interested

By Piyush P

May 4, 2021

Lectures and readings don't go hand in hand with the quizzes

By Erfan T

Jul 16, 2022

I think the lecturers could sometimes teach a bit more!!!!

By Sophie H

Jun 15, 2021

Very boring. Excessive reading. Would not recommend

By Tahmid M

Sep 5, 2021

Course materials such as videos were missing.

By Wai N C

Feb 4, 2022

Trash Course. Don't take this course!

By Samir Y

Oct 8, 2021

Too hard for beginners

By VALERIA A A M

May 3, 2021

Little info for exams

By Peter F C

Apr 18, 2021

Terrible...