Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,905 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

SK

Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

M

May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 995 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By Avneesh H

Feb 18, 2023

Good introduction to behavioral finance. The different types of biases could have been explored a little bit deeper to get a better understanding of it.

By Markus R

Dec 24, 2016

Very interesting topic and great instructors.

Unfortunately, many things were not covered by video lectures. It often felt like there were parts missing.

By Sayan D G

Apr 21, 2020

A very interesting course, but it needs to be made more exhaustive in terms of explanations and lecture coverage. Definitely helps meet my objectives.

By Sathyajith S M

Jul 27, 2020

While the content is interesting, having the videos deal with more content and reducing the reading material would make it a lot more accessible .

By Ailcheap

Dec 20, 2018

Teach me 鱼 in videos;

Test me

鱽鱾鲀鱿鲃鲂鲉鲌鲄鲆鲅鲇鲏鲊鲋鲐鲈鲍鲎鲝鲘鲙鲗鲓鲖鲞鲛鲒鲚鲜鲟鲔鲕鲑鲧鲬鲪鲫鲩鲣鲨鲡鲢鲤鲠鲥鲦鲺鲯鲹鲴鲶鲳鲮鲭鲵鲲鲰鲱鲻鲷鲸鳋鳊鳁鳀鲾鲼鳈鳉鳃鳄鲿鳇鳂鳆鳅鲽鳌鳒鳎鳏鳑鳐鳍鳘鳛鳕鳓鳙鳗鳚鳔鳖鳜鳟鳞鳝鳡鳠鳢鳣鳤

in quizzes.

By Rafael W

Nov 21, 2016

The lectures dont cover all the subjects discussed.

I would be delighted to listen to lectures about economic bubbles and non rational behavior.

By Zizhuo L

Aug 12, 2022

The quizs are not really covered by the videos and some are not even covered by the reading materials. The whole course is not well organized.

By Aditya B

May 31, 2020

There is a lot( A LOT) of reading. Though content is very good. Would have been better if more of the reading part was explained in videos.

By Gerald S

Jul 24, 2019

I feel the course needs more scaffolding and further explanation of the abstract concepts to gain further understanding before the quizzes.

By Marai C W

Aug 19, 2016

I think this course is great as an introduction to behavioral finance, however I think the content lacks depth and is rather superficial.

By Ute O

Dec 20, 2019

Would definitely need detailed answers to questions, esp after the quizzes. Week one was great, but struggled with Weeks 2 and esp. 3.

By Mingtong S

Jan 12, 2022

Covered a broad spectrum of topic, but didn't go in-depth, which makes assignments very difficult and extra work necessary

By Ishita D

Feb 17, 2018

Its really nice to learn about this as it helps investors in making decisions after considering their irrational behaviour

By Vanchhit R

Dec 27, 2018

The course is well designed, especially the case study examples. However, exercise questions are not that clear.

By Ali A

Jun 13, 2020

Video material was not sufficient, some quiz questions were not mentioned neither in the reading nor lectures

By Venkat C

Jul 8, 2017

Good concepts but the lectures were a bit 'all over the place'. No as structured as I would have expected.

By Lori C

Apr 30, 2018

Basic introduction to Behavioral Finance - mostly application of terms on exams that did not tie to lect

By Fernando R

Aug 21, 2017

A more in depth course would be great. this barely scratches the surface. but as an intro it works well.

By K S

Nov 7, 2020

Valuable information but the quizzes lack clarity and explanation. Would suggest auditing if anything.

By PARIDHI M

Jul 11, 2020

The course content is extremely good but the answers and explanations to the quizzes must be provided.

By Edd U

Nov 27, 2018

You should divide week two in 2 or 3 weeks. The concepts are interesting but nor very well explained.

By Amin M

Apr 15, 2024

I found this course very challenging. If you work at it you can get the grades required to pass it.

By R R

May 4, 2020

Certain concepts were not clear. Had difficulty in understanding the terms with appropriate examples

By Daisuke K

Aug 1, 2022

Great slides. If their video lectures are as amazing as their slides, I will give them five stars.

By Parv C

Sep 21, 2017

Not very easy to understand specially for someone without much background on finance and economics.