Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
11,359 ratings
2,479 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS
Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

2326 - 2350 of 2,442 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By srigiri d k r

Jan 27, 2017

Can be mprovised in terms of course content

By Sajan M

Mar 30, 2016

javascript part is not covered in depth

By Ron D

Sep 21, 2016

Can't be completed without payment

By Akhila K

Mar 6, 2016

HTML/CSS - easy

JS - extremely hard

By Ashesh s

Oct 8, 2016

lectures should be more detailed!

By Muhammad A A

Oct 31, 2015

its very good for beginners.

By Olman A D

Jul 26, 2020

no se puede leer en español

By Roman V

Mar 3, 2016

Hard to understand JS part.

By ABHISHEK S 1

Sep 9, 2016

Should Make courses audit

By Samarth S

Jun 12, 2020

Not Detailed course

By Benjamin V

Nov 5, 2016

work, work, work.

By VISHAL S

Sep 3, 2020

Good courses

By Dmitry F

Sep 15, 2016

No so good

By Abhijat G

Feb 16, 2016

It's ok...

By VIJAY M R

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent

By Niranjan B

Apr 24, 2020

it was ok

By William S

Dec 28, 2016

not bad

By Weerachai Y

Jun 27, 2020

thanks

By Sanika A G

Jun 6, 2020

Good

By Vennubaka J R R

Apr 29, 2020

Good

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Apr 12, 2020

Good

By Doaa S M Y

Jan 30, 2020

Good

By Eric K

Sep 23, 2020

l did learn some basic programming with this course, however, there were several issues. Overall, I might have been better off learning the material on my own for free. The biggest downfall, in my mind, is that the course seems to have been abandoned. Mentors don't respond in the forums anymore, and you used to need 3 other students to grade the work on the projects, but now you just mark it as done. This means in theory you could get your cert without doing any of the projects, just by doing the quizzes, which you get multiple attempts on and feedback and clues for your wrong answers after each attempt. In my mind, that makes the certificate much less meaningful. Additionally, I spent large portions of the course feeling lost. It's supposed to be a beginner course but it feels like the already expect you to have a fair amount of background knowledge. They use jargon that a complete beginner might not understand, and I felt like they skipped over key concepts and expected you to figure them out. This led to difficulty doing the coding assignments. Assignments that were estimated to take an hour and a half took me anywhere from 4 - 10 hours each and I feel it's because there weren't enough resources. There are almost no actual readings, and the videos are helpful but don't tell you everything you need to know.

By Claudine J

Dec 4, 2020

First, the strong points: most of the quizzes have explanations when answers are submitted. This allows the user to easily find the material that they need to review.

Now onto the weak points: The course as a whole is extremely lengthy for "foundations" and there are many highly-technical ideas that are just too daunting to learn in a mere four weeks. Personally I had no problem with that, but here comes the actual issue that I had with this course: the tone is very erratic. Are you talking to a grade schooler while expecting them to understand loops and binary numbers? Or are you talking to young adults or budding professionals but somehow think that they would appreciate borderline baby talk? Even the presenters are varying: some talk to us as if we were children, others sound like bored students reading off a powerpoint presentation. This course just feels like... everyone had an idea to pitch in and they didn't want anybody to feel excluded, so they just threw everything into the pot and hoped for the best.

By Cameron B

Mar 24, 2018

This course could be very useful for extreme beginners trying to wrap their heads around programming in HTML/CSS/JS. It has some decent fundamentals, but it gets way too granular on image manipulation and really lacks in just about every other applicable application you'd like to use HTML/CSS/JS for.

The hosts were actually pretty entertaining and they definitely do a great job of presenting the material that is provided, but it just seems very much lacking in terms of content.

It would have been great to see more topics pertaining to things such as implementing CSS/JS into HTML, using a real IDE, creating navbars, display properties, mixins, using preprocessor tools, etc.