Chevron Left
Back to Effective Programming in Scala

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Programming in Scala by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
stars
155 ratings

About the Course

Scala is an expressive, versatile, and safe programming language. In this course, you will learn how to get the most out of Scala to solve common programming tasks such as modeling business domains, breaking down complex problems into simpler problems, manipulating data, or running parallel tasks. Along the journey, you will also learn the best practices for writing high-quality code that scales to large applications, how to handle errors, how to write tests, and how to leverage a productive development environment. This comprehensive, hands-on, course aims at leveling up your programming skills by embracing both functional programming and object-oriented programming. You will become familiar with the standard library and the common patterns of code used in the real world. Each week contains about 1h30 of video lectures. Each lecture is a ~10 min video focused on a specific skill or concept. We always start by looking at concrete problems, and then explain how language features or libraries make you more productive to solve these problems in general. Lectures are generally followed by a quiz to assess your progress. At the end of each week, a graded assignment inspired by real-world applications will give you an opportunity to put things in practice. The course covers Scala 3, and it mentions the differences with Scala 2....

Top reviews

BA

Feb 15, 2022

Wow, I would've never thought that I could finish it, but I did, yay! The assignments are challenging but totally worth it. I think I lost some hairs in the process :)

RK

Jun 15, 2021

Excellent course, I really enjoyed it! With not a lot of practical experience with FP (yet) it was a bit of challenge at times. But the forum and support was helpful.

Filter by:

26 - 45 of 45 Reviews for Effective Programming in Scala

By Oto B

Feb 23, 2022

This course nicely captures the spirit of Scala 3 and gives you nice challenges to test your new skills.

By Piotr K

May 1, 2024

Great course for anyone what would like to have a more hand on eperience.

By Daniel W

Dec 29, 2023

Very clear and knowledgeable explanations + interesting coding exercises

By Mingliang L

Aug 25, 2022

The assignments are challenging and also interesting.

By Rafael C

Jun 23, 2021

looking forward for course about typed programming

By Akshat K V

Jan 23, 2022

I think the course material is very practical

By Andrey K

Mar 28, 2022

Last assignment was challenging

By Peter S

May 26, 2022

a nice course, short and sweet

By Adianto W

May 28, 2021

Nice guided tour to scala 3.

By Hyeonsoo L

Jun 17, 2021

Fun and helpful materials

By Grisha P

Apr 30, 2022

Суперовий курс!!!

By Eder R

Jun 23, 2022

great course!

By MIN H

Mar 17, 2023

Best course

By Hieu N V

Aug 25, 2021

good course

By Leo U

Nov 23, 2021

My goal taking the course was to get acquainted with Scala 3. The course is good in covering most of the new features but I feel this is not a beginers course. Some of the assignments are quite challenging which may discourage people from completing the course.

The lectures are generally short and, in my opinion, could spend additional time with examples that are worked out during the lecture to solidify the student's understanding the material which might be more helpful to tackle the assignments.

The discussion forums generally prove to be quite helpful, thanks to the staff and other learners.

Thanks Coursera for putting together this course, I look forward to additional Scala 3 classes.

By Hartwig T

Jun 24, 2022

For me the assignments projects are ressources of good programming. But to understand the provided source code took me some time and only with the stuff learned in this course it is very hard.

Sometimes it is a bit challenging to fill in the blanks but after some time of thinking how to combine the provided functions it was clear. Often when I got to return the correct type also the tests were correct (follow the types).

By FabianH

May 13, 2022

Starts pretty easy and ends quite hard. I liked the approach where I had to complete code of example projects but I wish more time were spent on basics.

By José d J G R

Oct 30, 2021

Great course. Some of the assignments are really difficult, not suited for beginners.

By Pablo E G

Sep 8, 2022

muy bueno

By Artur

Feb 27, 2022

I would not reccomend that course for beginners. I find this really hard, I had to give u after week 4. And I am not a beginner. Critical moment - when I have discovered, that every test check method I have problem with. I realized, that I will have 100% or 0%, I do not find this fair if I did rest of exercises. I come back to "classic" specialization with Scala2.