Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
stars
3,710 ratings
1,003 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N
Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A
May 30, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 996 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By Joshua K

Nov 11, 2015

Love this course it is a basic introduction to epidemiology a MUST! It's engaging and the instructors explain things in a really easy way.

By Pooja P

Nov 14, 2020

Well designed, basic course for introducing the importance of public health to students, health sector, basic research professionals.

By Quek S

Apr 19, 2020

Very good basic introduction for anyone interested in learning simple concepts and looking at health problems as portrayed by media.

By Carlos R L

Oct 13, 2015

It was overall pretty decent. Learned alot. Almost every lecture is applicable in my real MedStudent Life as an amateur researcher.

By Danilo A H C

Jun 14, 2020

Las preguntas de las 4 primeras pruebas son confusas y no existe retroalimentación de las respuestas. En la prueba 5 esto mejoró.

By Esteban M H

May 9, 2020

It is a really good introduction to epidemiology, giving you the general ideas and enough resources if you want to go any further

By Carmela B B

Apr 4, 2020

It was a great course, I really enjoyed it. I prefer a little more statistical information (for week 4) but it was really useful!

By Laura S D V

Sep 4, 2015

This is a great introductory course (and it's even useful if you've already studied these topics but need a bit of reminding). ;)

By Siddhant N

May 6, 2020

A great introduction to the science of Public Health, with just the right balance between ease of learning and depth of study.

By Eduard R

Apr 10, 2020

Really good introduction to most basic public health topics and some practical application. Enjoyed the way it was presented.

By Bruno A M P B

Sep 15, 2015

This is a great course. It accomplishes its objectives to give a basic understanding regarding the basics about Epidemiology.

By Sandra M

Aug 29, 2018

I really enjoyed to follow this course. The lecturers were easy to listen and understand and the topics were so interesting.

By Aminu S

Apr 14, 2020

This course is well organised and a very good foundation in helping one learn about the basics of public health. Thank you.

By ZOAKAH A I

Jul 4, 2018

A well conceived and presented Basic methods and principles in Epidemiology. Recommended for all beginners in Epidemiology.

By Patricia W

Feb 21, 2021

It was a good review course. It did assume some prior knowledge of information when it came to taking the assessments.

By Alexandra J J M

Nov 11, 2020

Some of the course quizzes were a bit tough, but the course was overall challenging, informative and well put together.

By Yucheng T

Feb 5, 2017

The course is great, but more practices would be better. In addition, the exams are too detailed to test one's ability.

By Varsha J S

Jul 19, 2020

Well taught and nice case study examples. Content could have been better consolidated and less repetitive though

By erik d

Jan 24, 2016

Helpful to get an overview of the field of epidemiology and what options epidemiologists have in the real world.

By Deepa N

Jun 29, 2021

The course was very intresting. Learning was rationalized. The concept was very clear & easy to understand.

By samina B

Jul 5, 2020

Overall course was really good. I learnt alot however, in quizzes please remove multiple choice questions.

By Osita U

May 10, 2020

The course has a very interactive sections. I can't wait join the crusade of saving lives across the globe

By Sebastian P B

Jun 22, 2017

El curso es muy bueno, sin embargo sentí que aún le faltan más cosas para dar todos los conceptos básicos.

By Quist J O A

Sep 13, 2020

Amazing course, it gave me a good foundational understanding of Epidemiological terms and associations.

By Sonika S

Mar 15, 2016

I have just started with the course and the introductory slides I found are perfectly designed. Thanks.