Chevron Left
Back to Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.7
stars
4,022 ratings
1,068 reviews

About the Course

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top reviews

N

Apr 11, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A

May 30, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,067 Reviews for Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

By Varsha J

Jul 19, 2020

Well taught and nice case study examples. Content could have been better consolidated and less repetitive though

By erik d

Jan 24, 2016

Helpful to get an overview of the field of epidemiology and what options epidemiologists have in the real world.

By Deepa N

Jun 29, 2021

The course was very intresting. Learning was rationalized. The concept was very clear & easy to understand.

By samina B

Jul 5, 2020

Overall course was really good. I learnt alot however, in quizzes please remove multiple choice questions.

By Osita U

May 10, 2020

The course has a very interactive sections. I can't wait join the crusade of saving lives across the globe

By Sebastian P B

Jun 22, 2017

El curso es muy bueno, sin embargo sentí que aún le faltan más cosas para dar todos los conceptos básicos.

By Quist J O A

Sep 13, 2020

Amazing course, it gave me a good foundational understanding of Epidemiological terms and associations.

By Sonika S

Mar 15, 2016

I have just started with the course and the introductory slides I found are perfectly designed. Thanks.

By Brendan M

Sep 7, 2015

Not as in depth as I was hoping for. Useful for gaining a more precise vocabulary for epidemiology.

By Johannes G A B

Apr 2, 2020

One of the tougher courses in terms of how the exams are formulated, but interesting, nonetheless.

By Starleen M

Oct 8, 2015

Gives a great overview of Epidemiology. Perhaps more clarification on cross-sectional studies.

By NAYELLI Y V H

Feb 12, 2018

It's very well, I have understood many topics that help me in my university classes. Thanks <3

By Olufemi E

Oct 24, 2016

The course was enlightening. The module on measures of association was very clear and simple.

By A E U

Apr 9, 2020

Studying at my comfort makes this course enjoyable. Thank you to all the course lecturers.

By Pablo V M

May 8, 2020

It was a good introductory course to learn or refresh the basic concepts of epidemiology.

By Evans K

Apr 25, 2022

Loved it. Great Overview of the discpline and the lectures were short and precise.

By Shehreen F

Apr 22, 2020

excellent course if you are interested in public health. just what u need to start

By Andrew J

Nov 29, 2018

Very good starter/introductory course to epidemiology. Manageable and informative.

By PRITOM K

Jun 26, 2020

Very Detailed and Good enough for encouraging us to do something in this field

By Ahmed T E

Mar 18, 2016

I am really enjoying the course. It is really simple, informative and helpful.

By Leila N

Jun 2, 2016

it's an excellent introduction to epidemiology, with very clear explanations.

By Ong J J

Sep 26, 2016

Succinct presentation of the information for a beginner. Highly recommended!

By Mostafa E

Aug 28, 2017

I really learned a lot from this course it was amazing. keep the great work

By Temi A

Jun 20, 2016

Content was easy to follow and the tutors delivered material appropriately

By Borokinni, B O

Aug 1, 2020

Nice course!

Could be more statistically inclined in consequent updates.