Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization in Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization in Excel by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
1,117 ratings

About the Course

In an age now driven by "big data", we need to cut through the noise and present key information in a way that can be quickly consumed and acted upon making data visualization an increasingly important skill. Visualizations need to not only present data in an easy to understand and attractive way, but they must also provide context for the data, tell a story, achieving that fine balance between form and function. Excel has many rivals in this space, but it is still an excellent choice, particularly if it's where your data resides. It offers a wealth of tools for creating visualizations other than charts and the chart options available are constantly increasing and improving, so the newer versions now include waterfall charts, sunburst diagrams and even map charts. But what sets Excel apart is its flexibility, it gives us total creative control over our designs so if needed we could produce our own animated custom chart to tell the right story for our data. Over five weeks we will explore Excel's rich selection of visualization tools using practical case studies as seen through the eyes of Rohan, an environmental analyst. Rohan is required to produce visualizations that will show trends, forecasts, breakdowns and comparisons for a large variety of environmental data sets. As well as utilising the usual chart types he wants to use conditional formats, sparklines, specialised charts and even create his own animated charts and infographics. In some cases, he will also need to prepare the data using pivot tables to drill down and answer very specific questions. We are going to help him achieve all this and present our finished visualizations in attractive reports and dashboards that use tools like slicers and macros for automation and interactivity. These are the topics we will cover: Week 1: Dynamic visualizations with conditional formatting, custom number formatting, sparklines and macros Week 2: Charting techniques for telling the right story Week 3: Creating specialised and custom charts Week 4: Summarising and filtering data with pivot tables and pivot charts Week 5: Creating interactive dashboards in Excel This is the second course in our Specialization on Data Analytics and Visualization. The first course: Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis, covers data preparation and cleaning but also teaches some of the prerequisites for this course like tables and named ranges as well as text, lookup and logical functions. To get the most out of this course we would recommend you do the first course or have experience with these topics. In this course we focus on Data Visualization in Excel, join us for this exciting journey....

Top reviews

AR

Nov 26, 2021

Excellent course, all the videos and material on point, a lot to practice, i did many courses and specializations and this one is excellent in so many aspects, i put it like a role model.

IK

Sep 22, 2023

I really enjoyed and learned new skills. it's awesome... Thanks instructors. I am thankful to Higher Education Commission of Pakistan for providing scholarship for this Courera license.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 297 Reviews for Data Visualization in Excel

By Ali S

Dec 28, 2020

As usual, course material and instructors methods in teaching are more than perfect.

It was so useful material, the same as the previous courses and specialization.

I can't wait to enroll in the last course of this specialization. Thank you so much.

By Tanzeel U R

Feb 3, 2023

The Data Visualization in Excel course was incredibly helpful and well-structured. The instructor was knowledgeable and effective in teaching the material, and the exercises provided ample opportunity to put the skills into practice. The course covered a wide range of topics, including creating charts and graphs, using PivotTables and slicers, and building interactive dashboards. I appreciated the emphasis on using real-world data and showcasing creativity, which made the course both engaging and practical. Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their data visualization skills in Excel.

By Cristian D H M

Jan 2, 2021

This is a great course! You can obtain some advances skills in Excel (if you don't have a great experience in this program) and it provides with the whole tools you need to complete the quizzes and weekly challenges. Really cool!

By May

Mar 2, 2021

Well structured course! Lecture videos are very easy to follow and practice challenges are awesome.

By Inna S

Mar 25, 2021

I rarely write reviews because the majority of courses are not challenging enough for me, but this course is an exception. Despite having advanced knowledge of excel as I use it every day for work/studies I learned a lot during this course. The material was presented in a very good format with the info straight to the point. I feel no minute of this course has been repetitive and it consisted of only useful info. The case studies are very interesting and challenging. I definitely recommend it and will take another course from these uni/tutors for sure! Thanks!

By Najeeb R

May 14, 2023

This course is a must for data analyst beginners. The concepts are explained in detail and in comprehensible way. The instructors are very knowledgeable and explain the concepts clearly and concisely, using real-world examples to illustrate how Excel can be used to analyze data. The pivot chart session are really helpful in practical application of data analysis. Additionally, the course materials are well-organized and easy to follow, making it easy to review and reference content as needed.

P.S. loved the solar panel joke !!

By Syed F S

Jan 31, 2021

Hi,

I am very thankful to Coursera org. Data visualization in excel is very effect course. The course has change my presentation visualization style.

During the course of time i have learnt lot of new thinks and idea from the my teachers.

The course is very affective for every one not even those who are only dealing data work in excel.

My suggestion is that to every one to enroll and get the training.

By Jennie M

Mar 1, 2021

I loved this course. Both instructors are very clear and engaging and the learning materials are excellent.

Completing this course has helped me to cement my existing, largely self-taught Excel data visualisation skills and given me lots of ideas for exciting new things to try as and when opportunities arise.

Thank you Nicky and Prashan for a very enjoyable 5 weeks!

By Asdrúbal C R

Nov 27, 2021

Excellent course, all the videos and material on point, a lot to practice, i did many courses and specializations and this one is excellent in so many aspects, i put it like a role model.

By Dana M

Sep 28, 2022

I learned so much in this course! As a regular PivotTable user, I still gained so much insight even from this module. I've already been able to use what I've learned in my job.

By stefano t

Sep 1, 2023

I was able to learn a lot of tricks on Excel that I did not even know were possible. I met people who have been working for a decade on excel and don't know all this features

By Hariom S

Jun 6, 2021

Instructors are really great and the way course is designed is commendable. It was an amazing course, way beyond my imagination. Thanks Coursera and Maquarie University.

By Colette A P D

Jan 24, 2021

Excellent presentation, examples, and organization. Appreciate videos, transcripts, forum and creative corner ways to interact with other students around the globe.

By Haiying Z

Jan 4, 2021

Excellent! Learnt a lot skills in a well organized and paced course.

By José R A M

Jan 8, 2021

Great information, great videos. I have learnt a lot in this course

By Riccardo G

Jan 16, 2021

As always,perfect course structure as great teachers.

By Stefano V

Jan 21, 2021

The best course on excel ever.

By Yong V K

Feb 27, 2021

Very interesting and useful

By Gulnur B

Feb 23, 2021

Thank you! Amazing course.

By Chungu E C

Feb 24, 2021

Excellent Experience!!!

By Shady A

Jul 29, 2021

Never Had such high quality excel course, even in the university. very good !

To my taste it lacks a bit of in detail in some of the subjects like:

1.How to Select Data source when creating different charts (Excel got smart but sometimes It doesn't pick the data like you need) ,different charts have different ways selecting the Data source.(which is X-axis and which is the y-axis ?) what is a series ? is it numbers ?including the heading ?

It's not even mentioned in the course, How it's like to insert a Blank chart and then assign the data source (very difficult)

2. Macros are explained pretty good, how to record, how it works in the background

Unfortunately it's only explained for specific actions needed to be automated in the sheet

Using Macros to format sheets isn't explained (how do I do that?),for example:

In creating the Dashboard tiles, how do you make a macro to round the edges of all the tiles? do you record doing it for one tile and then apply to whole sheet? to which do you assign the Macro to ?

By gulshan i

Jan 9, 2024

I wanted to express my gratitude for the excellent program you have put together. The instructions provided were exceptionally clear and easy to follow, making the learning process smooth and enjoyable. The challenges presented were not only engaging but also proved to be incredibly helpful in honing my skills. Furthermore, the information provided throughout the program was valuable and beneficial, enhancing my understanding of the subject matter. Overall, I am impressed with the thoughtfulness and effectiveness of this program, and I feel more confident in my skills as a result. Thank you for your commitment to providing a high-quality learning experience. Best regards,

By Pasumarthi S

Sep 24, 2021

The data analysis and visualization is very more important in my job. I takes me a interest towards this course. And i personally had big interest towards this course about the visualizations and analysis. Many important tools and topics were covered in this course such as Pivot chart analysis, Trend lines, Mapping and Creating Dash board.... and it became hands on experience towards my analysis process.

And I really liked this course which was simple and easy to understand. Overall, doing this course is a great value addition to my work space.

By Vick S

Nov 18, 2021

Thank you for this incredible course. Despite having some knowledge of excel as I use it daily at work, I learned a lot and acquired load of skills in this course. The material was presented in a very good format with the information straight to the point. I feel no minute of this course has been repetitive and it consisted of only useful facts. The case studies are very interesting and challenging. I will definitely recommend to friends and colleagues, and will enroll another course for sure! Thanks..!

By Abdoulaye B

Sep 25, 2021

I started with Excel Skills for business, completed the 4 courses and then I began this one. I'm really happy to be here and to be able to learn so much. Thanks for the financial aid without which I could not achieve this. I'm really thankfull. Sorry if my english is a bit off, french is my 1st language. Thanks Nicky and thanks Prashan, ([with my Prashan's voice: remember, practice makes permanent :-)], I'll practice again and again till my brain saves every little detail ;-)) Thanks a lot.