Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
1,238 ratings
345 reviews

About the Course

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top reviews

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

Filter by:

326 - 344 of 344 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

By viktor k

Sep 05, 2018

Very good introductory course in VBA. I have used much of what i have learned in this course to automate certain procedures that me and my team members are using in our gas turbine industry, customer support engineering day to day activities. VBA enabled me to automate these procedures and minimise human induced errors, and generate effortlessly and rapidly a number of solutions to certain straightforward engineering tasks.

By Achmad P W

Sep 09, 2018

Great fundamental building of VBA Macro programming knowledge and techniques for a person who has no programming or mathematical university background at all. While easy to understand, the course also challenges us to think beyond what is taught, unlocking your mind to logical potential never before experienced. The only minus part is that for a few parts in the course, sometimes the instructor have misread or mistype few information, although it was covered right away with correction marks. Nonetheless, it does not weigh down any bit to this course quality. Highly Recommended!

By Vasili E M

Sep 20, 2018

You learn a lot here. Highly recommened. It will challenge you!

By Ingrid F

Sep 21, 2018

the course was very informative and helpful.

However, it would be easier to concentrate on VBA if people who don't use mathematical formulas that much would not have to deal with maths that much.

By Markus M

Aug 31, 2018

The course is well structured and the concepts are explained pretty good - one can follow the screencasts nicely. I subtracted one star, since the assignments/quizzes are too complicated (not too dificult!) in my eyes. I really like challenges, but I want to learn the concept of VBA primarily - therefore the (although announced) focus on math heavy and scientific problems is a little distracting. I spent more times figuring out the math than figuring out the coding while doing the assignment. That is a little unfortunate. The isntructor is super friendly and helpful though. The quizzes are well done, only the assignements could be altered towards a VBA focus rather than having complicated problems with a little VBA. I will continue with part 2 of the course, as I am interested in more applied stuff with VBA.

By Michael R

Oct 31, 2018

I thought the course was excellent. Good level of challenge, well structured and paced. I think the hard test thresholds to progress to the next stage each week are really valuable and encourage revision. There are probably a few developments required to help the user overcome the silly mistakes and oversights that block successful execution of a coding problem or question. Get that worked out and I really think it's going to be really hard to sell this kind of tuition through a bricks and mortar campus.

By Ondrej P

Nov 21, 2018

Great course to start with VBA. The course focuses on 'how we can solve problem P using VBA', which is suits me much more than typical courses which start with language syntax, data types and so on, on meaningless examples. In this course you can learn all of those basics while actually solving particular problems - and this course demonstrates several ways how to solve different kinds of problems. For people with non-mathematical background some of the topics may seem scary - many problems come from engineering, however they should not be scared. The formulas are provided (no need to do any math there) and student only consumes their result.

By TANVEER A B

Nov 24, 2018

Its a good basic for programming and i really enjoyed. Prior excel experience is required. For working professional like me its difficult to complete the course in 1 month, so your subscription goes into 2nd month and course fee is again deducted and you are left with no option but to continue if you want to pass it. So i recommend organizers to consider 2 months default period for single time fees deduction.

By Haydn S

Apr 16, 2019

Great course. Well explained and easy to follow. Some of the assignments could be a bit more specific in what is required (e.g. calling a function within another function - rather than writing out code in the second function). But all things considered, highly recommended.

By Ryan

Jun 13, 2019

Great course. Week 4 is particularly more difficult than the preceding sections. The VBA cheat sheet is very useful for Weeks 1-3, but could be improved to help explain different For Loop structures and common errors when building a For Next Loop. Thank you Dr. Nuttelman.

By Michael G

May 16, 2019

This was an EXCELLENT course. Although I have previous programming experience (I was already familiar with loops and conditional structures), I found the course very informative. I also think it is an excellent introduction for students with little or no programming experience. The instruction, examples, and explanations were clear and informative. I will be recommending the course to others who could benefit from it. Thank you Professor Nuttelman for a great course.

NOTE: I reserve five stars for courses that are so good they defy description. It would be rare for me to give a course five stars. A four-star rating from me indicates an excellent course in all material respects. (And only refers to the content - not the Coursera environment.)

By Nachum S

Jul 14, 2019

Amazing course. Only problem is that the assignments are very hard to get right because you need to do it perfectly

By Jesse

Jul 24, 2019

Good and relevant instruction

By Siddhesh

Aug 11, 2019

the course is greate. only suggestion is, please give access to assignments and homework problems for audit also.

By Malavika D

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent course to dive into VBA. I found the assignments particularly useful. Module 5 is a big bonus!!

By Nikoline M

Sep 20, 2019

Very good introduction to VBA, however ever a bit math heavy for someone working in business, and haven't used algebra since college. Would still recommend.

By Grégoire P

Sep 08, 2019

Very good teaching by Prof. Nuttelman, who explains new notions very clearly. On the improvement side, I would perhaps suggest adding a few exercises to vary a bit the problems students have to solve.

By Amrane S

Oct 25, 2019

Missing some help when we blocked on the assignement

By Raffaele M

Jun 15, 2018

Lots and lots and lots of errors, in the slides, in the speech, and also in the quizzes (with the author writing ("I need to fix that"). Part 5 really interesting.