Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Managers

Finance for Non-Financial Managers, Emory University

4.4
61 ratings
19 reviews

About this Course

Finance is for “Non-financial Managers” who want to understand key financial principles and apply them in a real-world context. Over the course of the program window, you will work your way through a series of nine modules that move from understanding basic financial principles to applying financial analysis and ratios to drive decisions. In addition, each module is capped with an ending self-evaluation to ensure that you have absorbed the following key learning objectives: + Understand the language associated with finance + Know how and when to use financial terms and analysis techniques + Read and assess company performance using financial statements + Recognize the link between organizational strategy and financial objectives + Use "the numbers" to your best advantage to make more informed decisions...

Top reviews

By RG

Jun 29, 2017

Tom Smith is a great professor; he makes the material interesting and understandable. Great course!

By CH

Mar 19, 2018

Very clear instructions and a quick recap of corporate finance.

Filter by:

19 Reviews

By Josué Molina

Mar 03, 2019

As for the content it was really good and the professor made it very easy to understand but there were a couple of videos where he was working on his excel tables but it wasn't shown on the video so it was kind of difficult to know exactly what he was doing.

By Muath

Mar 02, 2019

good course but there is a needing to improve course material

By Sujata Ojha

Feb 13, 2019

The course was excellent and simple for those of us from the non financial background. However, would appreciate quick responses( atleast within 2 working days) to my activity/queries (which are still awaited).

Thank you.

By Dan Isaac

Jan 29, 2019

Very good course and great instructor.

By Romain PLÉ NEMO

Jan 08, 2019

Very good

By Paolo Nascimbeni

Oct 15, 2018

The course started very well, the professor and the teaching was quite clear ( even if the video was really out of focus ). Later on in the course there were several points where the teacher is working on a spreadsheet but we cannot see the spreadsheet at all. I could not see what he was doing or writing since the teacher was writing on a piece of paper that we could not see, so it's hard to follow, and often his screen it is too small / not focused. The course started extremely well, then it seemed the teacher just rushed to finish the course. Luckily I took another course with coursera that was excellent or just based on this course, I would abandon the system.

I also found some errors in the excercizes but I had no idea on how to report them.

By Ricardo Bucio Mora

Aug 31, 2018

Very practical and useful, to know more about the projects and the costs that this involves in each stage, the return and the planning for each action that should be taken

By Prakash Arun Sonpatki

Aug 13, 2018

Very good course that helps you analyse balance sheets and income statements, and to evaluate company performance using various ratios. The course covers topics on investment decision techniques and cost of capital calculations that provides you methods/models to help you take the right decisions while perfoming your duties.

By Ian Carlos Montesinos

Aug 10, 2018

very helpful course. allowed me to have a clear vision, and better understand finance from a company´s standpoint

By Pablo Romero

May 13, 2018

This training was very clear and gave me some tools to understand the financial language