Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Startups

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Startups by Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST)

4.6
stars
259 ratings

About the Course

Finance is one of the key ingredients for successful startups. Many entrepreneurs, however, lack knowledge of finance. This course teaches basic financial knowledge needed in starting and operating startups to entrepreneurs or would-be entrepreneurs who did not major in finance. Students of this course will learn to read and understand financial statements such as balance sheets, income statements and cash flow statements. They will also practice simple financial planning of a startup. This course also covers the concept company valuation as well as how startups get funding. This is a practical course aimed at direct application of the knowledge gained into running real startups. It also aims to enable entrepreneurs and would-be-entrepreneurs to understand the "language of finance" so that they can talk to professionals with confidence....

Top reviews

AE

Sep 1, 2018

Execellent course, I found an oppurtunity meeting with Professor Steve Ahn. He is so friendly additionally in sociial life. I suggest eveyone this course for intrested. Thanks for everything...

SD

May 8, 2020

The course helped me to build finance basics from making a balance sheet to making a Cap table. I also learnt about how to valuate a company and alot more, A big thanks to Steve sir:)

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 70 Reviews for Finance for Startups

By SUNNY D D

May 9, 2020

The course helped me to build finance basics from making a balance sheet to making a Cap table. I also learnt about how to valuate a company and alot more, A big thanks to Steve sir:)

By UR20

May 8, 2020

Good Course For those who has started their new company or planning to start it soon. The Financial fundamental may help you to make your financial planning much better.

By Daniel N L T

Apr 29, 2021

I loved every bit of it.

By Tran H D

Jul 23, 2023

After moving to team management position many years ago, I soon realized understanding of finance and accounting concepts are very important to your success and your team or department's success. As I talked to seasoned professionals one of the most critical skills that they earn from an MBA is their newly acquired knowledge in finance and accounting enough so they can make decisions on budgeting, planning and financing for projects.

I have studied many many finance courses online and offline from the most renown names and institutions but always found that I lack the comprehension of the fundamental concepts, I can simply get by and complete certain tasks and exercises but never intuitively comprehend the core concepts.

Until a week ago when I signed-up for this course Finance for Startups by Steve Ahn, Professor at Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST), Steve had the innate talent to convey concepts in the most concise and simplistic way possible, in mere 2 or 3 days I have passed the course and learned so much more than many hours and years.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this course for anyone who is new to Finance and want to intuitively understand the fundamental concepts. Believe me, it would be so much beneficial to your management career and the course provides the knowledge similar to any most expensive courses you could find.

By Christoph M

Aug 12, 2020

This is a brilliant introductory course into finance and startup investment for non-finance folks. I am truly impressed how clearly and concisely Mr. Ahn introduces the various concepts. His simplified examples are easy to understand, yet drive the point home. This course will give you the basics and it does so very well. With this knowledge you can then go and dig deeper with more specialized resources.

By Andre G

Dec 28, 2022

It's quite an informative course for Startup founders. Good examples help to understand the main ratios and documents. If you want to make strategic decisions, you should understand how to compare the effectiveness of different businesses. A business model is the central part of an investor's focus, and it is created and represented in CF, BS, and P&L. Good luck to all founders!

By Dowon H

Nov 2, 2021

I learned a lot about finance throughout this course! I am a stem student who wishes to establish his own startup which facilitates machine learning and expands the access to broader area, and I needed to take a course which could teach me how to take control of finance. By taking this course, I believe I have stepped closer to my future. 감사합니다!

By Ibnu B

Jun 29, 2022

This course is very good and useful for someone who wants to start a business, because it teaches the basic financial knowledge needed to start and operate a startup. We are taught to read and understand financial reports such as balance sheets, income statements, cash flow statements and how startups can get funding from outside investors.

By Cagdas C

Jun 4, 2023

Steve Ahn's very simple but rich way of explanations of the subject reminds me quote from Richard Feynman :" If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself ." Ahn knows the Finance and explains it to you.

Thank you Ahn.

By Marharyta V

Sep 9, 2020

Good course to understand all the basics. Especially I like that all question in Tests are practical. You need to sit down and calculate. It really helps to learn the material and not just repeat what has been said during the lectures.

By Muhammad A S

May 13, 2023

Absolutely Amazing , I was able to complete this course within 2 weeks because the Professor teaching method is So nice , also this course taught me so much basics things about finance which will help me in my future/

By Daivik M

Sep 9, 2019

Its is a good course on the basics of finance for any startup entrepreneur. An easy going and conceptually sound course. I would definitely recommend this to any new startup founders without a MBA/Commerce background.

By Ahmet Z E

Sep 2, 2018

Execellent course, I found an oppurtunity meeting with Professor Steve Ahn. He is so friendly additionally in sociial life. I suggest eveyone this course for intrested. Thanks for everything...

By Phanish C

Oct 8, 2018

Great course for founders from tech background. Simple and easy introductions and practical examples. Highly recommended as a first course in finance for founders.

By Adrian K L

Aug 12, 2020

Thank you so much for perfectly explaining these difficult courses. This gave me a challenge, but it's truly worth it. Thank you professor!

By Raphael G B R

Dec 18, 2018

Very concise and complete course. The examples used clearly illustrate the principles taught . I recommend this course for my colleagues.

By Jane C

Jul 10, 2022

I loved this course what a great introduction to finance for startup companies. I enjoyed every minute of it. Thank you!

By Leandro R Z S

Nov 2, 2020

The course is excellent ! it teaches you very important fundamentals of financing in general and startups in particular.

By Genaro R

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent course, I recommend it for everybody with a startup and in need of valuation. Thank you Steve for the content!

By Vanshika T

Aug 9, 2022

This course helped in gaining more knowledge about Finance & Accounts in the real world

By Stanislav S

Sep 11, 2019

I spend time only for real soft skills for my future.

Thank you! It was understandable.

By Awoma S O

May 31, 2019

This course was very insightful. I'll recommend it as a must for first-time founders.

By Carlo M R

Jan 18, 2020

it is a complete course that covers all the corporate finance fundamental pillars

By JinSong K

Oct 22, 2020

Thank you so much, Professor. I got very valuable knowledge from this course.

By j k

Jun 18, 2020

Thank you for the master's explanations, which were simple and understandable