Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of AR

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of AR by Meta

4.7
stars
88 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn the basics of augmented reality (AR). You will focus on where AR fits in the XR spectrum, how AR is used, what AR can do today—and in the future—and the various technologies used for building such experiences. You will also learn about computer vision in AR, the software development lifecycle, and careers in AR development. By the end of the course, you will be able to: - Explain how AR fits into the XR spectrum. - Distinguish between AR in social media (Meta Spark), AR on a browser (web AR), and AR in a mobile app (Unity AR). - Describe AR’s defining characteristics, affordances, and capabilities. - Explain how computer vision relates to AR development. - Give an overview of the AR software development lifecycle and production. - Describe how AR is used in the marketing, education, gaming and entertainment industries. To be successful in this course, experience with object oriented programming and basic web development is needed. JavaScript is a plus but not required....

Top reviews

LM

Apr 30, 2023

Lots of excellent information. Keep in mind this is theory and best practices and not hands-on information, but still extremely valuable and important

DW

Mar 29, 2024

I loved the course a lot. Explanations were simple and concise. None of it seemed boring. Plenty of quizzes to test my knowledge. Thank you team.

Filter by:

1 - 23 of 23 Reviews for Foundations of AR

By Ernest W

Apr 21, 2023

It's okay as an introduction to specialization. I like the fact that it explains design thinking process from the very beginning even if main assignment isn't directly incorporating that knowledge.

It's a brief introduction of concepts and technologies behind VR/AR/MR but on the other hand short videos and articles about concepts are not even touching how difficult and advanced these concepts are. But it's not necessary if you won't do these things from scratch - but I understand that's not the goal of this specialization.

Maybe it's my opinion but some questions in quizzes were vague and some answers which are incorrect technically at some point are correct.

By Olivia

Oct 6, 2023

Really impressed with this course. It goes over everything you’d need to know as a beginner, with lots and lots of quizzes after videos or subjects. There’s a peer review project at the end too, but there’s plenty of active users. I think this is a great course and well worth your time if you want to start in AR generally! The best beginner ar course I’ve found. I did Google’s but it’s poor compared to this.

By Wei

Apr 30, 2024

I think this is very useful content, even though much of the knowledge is basic. But for a beginner, it has helped me quickly establish a framework and cognitive system.

By Leah M

May 1, 2023

Lots of excellent information. Keep in mind this is theory and best practices and not hands-on information, but still extremely valuable and important

By Dhiraj W

Mar 30, 2024

I loved the course a lot. Explanations were simple and concise. None of it seemed boring. Plenty of quizzes to test my knowledge. Thank you team.

By Juan A

Jun 1, 2023

Great introductory course for learning more about the basics of AR and the software development lifecycle.

By Lakshit K

May 27, 2023

Something better to come after all this course is completed thanks so much for the course.

By Andrii S

Aug 5, 2023

Nice course. Very useful base information about AR.

By nicolas c

Oct 9, 2023

very good introduction to AR

By Mustafa B

Jun 22, 2023

Very good. Thank you.

By Yousuf A R

May 23, 2023

That was really good.

By Daniel E

Feb 15, 2024

Great course!

By Teja S S G | A

Jun 30, 2023

Exceptional

By JONXUROZOV M K

Jun 4, 2024

ajoyib

By Ayidh A

May 29, 2024

a

By Xi B D Z

Sep 10, 2023

Although I like most of the general content in this course, I don't think it's refined enough. The important points are often not highlighted, and some questions in quizzes are somewhat unclear while some are very straightforward.

The peer reviewed project design also lacks some instructions on how AR can be involved, and the example design document is not great either. There could be a lot more examples in this course in general instead of vague theory, and I don't think the quiz structure here is enough to mean much at all.

Both the development cycle and design process should have more solid examples and at least some practice around it if this course wants learners to actually pick up something from the quick videos.

By Deleted A

Dec 5, 2023

Great overview BUT . . . would have been nice to actually see examples of Spark AR throughout instead of stock video of AR, seeing as though Meta made the course.

By Ricardo F B M

Aug 11, 2023

Its a little bit simplified but good for the Meta AR Developer Professional Certificate

By Muhammad H

Jul 19, 2023

good course overall, the end portion could use more infographics

By Liu, Y

Mar 17, 2024

Quiz questions can be designed better

By Ishan K

Aug 21, 2023

The course content was valuable, yet there seemed to be an excessive focus on generalized topics, causing some stretching of those subjects. As a result, the allocation of time appeared skewed towards these overarching concepts, rather than adequately addressing the impartation of practical technical skills.

By SEYEDEBRAHIM H

Jan 24, 2024

assignment was too hard

By GUILLAUME F T

Jan 3, 2024

to much talking, not enough showing