Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Cybersecurity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Cybersecurity by Google

4.9
stars
19,653 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills you need to prepare for an entry-level cybersecurity job. In this course, you will be introduced to the world of cybersecurity through an interactive curriculum developed by Google. You will identify significant events that led to the development of the cybersecurity field, explain the importance of cybersecurity in today's business operations, and explore the job responsibilities and skills of an entry-level cybersecurity analyst. Google employees who currently work in cybersecurity will guide you through videos, provide hands-on activities and examples that simulate common cybersecurity tasks, and help you build your skills to prepare for jobs. Learners who complete the eight courses in the Google Cybersecurity Certificate will be equipped to apply for entry-level cybersecurity roles. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Identify how security attacks impact business operations. - Explore the job responsibilities and core skills of an entry-level cybersecurity analyst. - Recognize how past and present attacks on organizations led to the development of the cybersecurity field. - Learn the CISSP eight security domains. - Identify security domains, frameworks, and controls. - Explain security ethics. - Recognize common tools used by cybersecurity analysts....

Top reviews

LC

Jul 3, 2023

Great introduction into the remaining courses. I love that there are different learning methods, ie, audio and reading and that there are quizzes at the end of each to help you digest the information.

SD

Jan 1, 2024

Grate , it clear my thoughts about cyber security and added more knowledge in cyber security journey like rules while investigation some threads and tools that are used by cuber security proffesional.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 4,139 Reviews for Foundations of Cybersecurity

By Kiranraj B

Jul 28, 2023

The course is well paced and they get you comfortable with the topics even though we do not have any sort of prior exposure in this field. It is very good for the beginners who are new to this field

By Lunate L

May 20, 2023

Information was well organized, easy to learn, and study. with frequent note writing, and some breaks . You can learn a good brief summary of what's to come, and what to research more in the future.

By Chirag K

May 15, 2023

For a foundation course, this one was easy to understand, it explained all basic concepts in a fluid way and built up the base for the upcoming courses. I'm eager to move on to the other courses now.

By emile g

May 18, 2023

Surprised by the quality of this course. repeating items so you learn by seeing definitions and concepts over and over again while using great analogy to make difficult concept understandable

.

By Dilukshan S

Oct 28, 2023

! Cybersecurity is a critical and multifaceted field that involves protecting computer systems, networks, and data from various digital threats. Here is a review of the foundations of cybersecurity:

By M G

Jan 8, 2024

I think this is a great start for anyone who is starting from absolute zero. I think that since I've been toying with the idea of getting into Cybersecurity for 2 years now, it was a great refresher!

By Sreeya S

Jun 16, 2023

In the certificate , why am i not getting my name printed ? Instead "Coursera Learner"?

By Kole T S

Jun 13, 2023

The instructors for the course did an amazing job at presenting all of the information to us! The course is informative and definitely will expand your knowledge specifically over Cybersecurity.

By Winston T

May 8, 2023

A good starting course to give people an understanding about cybersecurity.

Although some discussion section is a bit confusing, but overall the course is a good and informative course

By Davy

May 19, 2023

The questions on the quizzes were often meaningless and the multiple choice answers were unbelievably vague and ill-defined to the point where no answer was entirely correct.

By Jalal S S A

Jun 10, 2023

Dear Instructors of the Foundations of Cybersecurity Course at Google,

I wanted to take a moment to express my deepest gratitude for the incredible learning experience you provided throughout the course. Your expertise, dedication, and passion for cybersecurity have truly made a lasting impact on my journey in this field.

Firstly, allow me to introduce myself. My name is [Your Name], and I embarked on this course with a strong desire to deepen my understanding of cybersecurity and acquire the necessary skills to contribute meaningfully to the industry. As a lifelong learner, I am always seeking opportunities to expand my knowledge and stay updated with the latest developments in technology. This course seemed like the perfect fit to enhance my cybersecurity expertise.

I chose to take this course because I firmly believe that cybersecurity is a critical aspect of our increasingly digital world. With the growing threats and vulnerabilities that organizations and individuals face, I wanted to equip myself with the knowledge and skills to make a tangible difference in securing digital systems and protecting sensitive information. The Foundations of Cybersecurity course seemed like the ideal starting point to build a strong foundation in this field.

I am pleased to share that the course has exceeded my expectations in every way. From the very beginning, the course structure, content, and delivery were impeccable. The way you organized the modules and topics ensured a smooth learning journey, allowing me to grasp the fundamental concepts before diving into more advanced areas.

What I truly loved about the course was the emphasis on practicality. The hands-on labs and simulations were invaluable in reinforcing the theoretical knowledge and providing a real-world perspective. Being able to apply the concepts in a practical setting not only enhanced my technical skills but also instilled confidence in my ability to tackle real-world cybersecurity challenges.

Furthermore, the breadth of topics covered in the course was remarkable. From threat analysis to network security, encryption, incident response, and compliance, every aspect was explored in depth, providing a comprehensive understanding of the cybersecurity landscape. I appreciated the balance between theory and practical applications, as it allowed me to develop a holistic understanding of the subject matter.

Your dedication as instructors was evident throughout the course. The quality of the course materials, including the informative videos, interactive quizzes, and additional readings, showcased the meticulous effort put into curating the content. Your ability to simplify complex concepts and communicate them effectively is commendable.

The course has had a significant impact on my professional growth. Not only have I gained a solid understanding of cybersecurity fundamentals, but I have also acquired practical skills that I can immediately apply in real-world scenarios. The course has expanded my career prospects and opened doors to exciting opportunities in the cybersecurity field.

I am truly grateful for the knowledge and insights I gained from this course. Your guidance and expertise have played a crucial role in shaping my cybersecurity journey. The impact you have made on my professional development is immeasurable.

Thank you once again for your dedication, passion, and commitment to providing an exceptional learning experience. I am proud to have been a student in the Foundations of Cybersecurity course at Google, and I look forward to continuing my cybersecurity journey with the skills and knowledge I have acquired.

With utmost appreciation,

Jalal Saleem

By Donald P P

May 19, 2023

Definitely not thoroughly vetted on the quizzes and tests for correct or erroneous answers. Like someone rushed it. I hope the rest of the courses are better as I get in to areas I am less versed on so I am not improperly instructed in things.

By Teo V

Jun 22, 2023

very basic and repetitive. way too much focus on learning the definitions of similar-sounding phrases. no practical knowledge.

By Rachel L

Jan 10, 2023

Good and interesting introduction to cybersecurity for those wanting a fast and accessible overview of some of the tools and concepts in cybersecurity. Topics covered include ethics, commonly used programming languages, vocabulary used in the field, frameworks, and even some tools for job searching. The videos are short, watchable, and contain a lot of information without seeming overly dense. Overall, this is a well organized and good course to get a sense of what cybersecurity is about.

By Bryan R

May 5, 2023

Explanation of CISSP Domains could've been a little more straight forward

By Kaiquan M

Mar 23, 2023

Google's Cybersecurity Specialisation Course 1 was good in covering:

-What this 8-course specialisation will cover, including abit of an introduction to what is to come (eg. the 8 CISSP security domains, cyber tools to cover in this specialisation, programming skills)

-common cybersecurity terms and what they mean

-common cybersecurity attacks and what they mean

-transferable and technical skills

By sanjay b

Jun 12, 2023

useless course

By Tabetha G

Jan 15, 2023

The Foundations of Cybersecurity course is a great start on anyone's cybersecurity journey. I personally had some knowledge of these concepts but really needed the refresher. This is a great course for anyone who is even curious about cybersecurity.

By Anil K S

May 13, 2023

grateful in 2023 , that i have received an such vast knowledge from Google .

Thank you to All Google Team and Instructors of this Course .

Great Job by Google Team ,

By Nwabueze A

May 5, 2023

AMAZING COURSE! I AM CONFIDENT THAT I WILL GET VALUE AS I PROGRESS. THANK YOU GOOGLE!

By Hamza Y

May 10, 2023

Great course! It covers almost all the basics of cybersecurity in a proper manner.

By Jorge P

May 11, 2023

It is a great introduction to have a bird's eyes view of how cybersecurity works.

By Yuvraj S B

Jun 1, 2023

I recently had the opportunity to complete Google's Cybersecurity Foundation Course, and I must say it was an outstanding learning experience. The course provided a comprehensive overview of cybersecurity concepts and practices, equipping me with essential knowledge and skills to tackle the ever-evolving challenges in this field.

One of the most impressive aspects of the course was its well-structured curriculum. It covered a wide range of topics, from the fundamentals of cybersecurity to advanced techniques and strategies. Each module was thoughtfully designed, providing a clear understanding of the subject matter. The inclusion of real-world examples and case studies further enhanced the learning experience, allowing me to see the practical application of the concepts.

The course instructors and industry experts were incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about the subject. Their expertise was evident throughout the course, and their guidance and insights provided valuable perspectives on cybersecurity best practices. The interactive nature of the course fostered a collaborative learning environment, enabling me to engage with fellow learners and exchange ideas and experiences.

What sets this course apart is its emphasis on hands-on learning. The practical exercises and assessments challenged me to apply the knowledge gained and develop my skills in real-world scenarios. This hands-on approach not only reinforced my understanding but also boosted my confidence in tackling cybersecurity challenges.

Furthermore, the course materials and resources provided were comprehensive and up-to-date. The online platform was user-friendly, making it easy to navigate through the modules and access additional learning materials. The course also encouraged continuous learning by providing supplementary resources and references for further exploration.

Completing the Cybersecurity Foundation Course has been a significant milestone in my professional development. The knowledge and skills gained are directly applicable to my work in ensuring digital security for individuals and organizations. The course has not only expanded my expertise but has also reinforced my commitment to promoting a secure online environment.

I would highly recommend Google's Cybersecurity Foundation Course to anyone interested in pursuing a career or enhancing their knowledge in the cybersecurity field. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced professional, this course offers valuable insights, practical skills, and industry-recognized certification. It is an investment that will undoubtedly pay off in the rapidly evolving world of cybersecurity.

Kudos to Google and the course instructors for delivering such a high-quality learning experience. I am grateful for the opportunity to have been a part of this program and look forward to exploring further learning opportunities with Google in the future

By Hiren R

May 26, 2023

I recently had the opportunity to enroll in the Foundation Course on Cybersecurity offered by Google on Coursera, and I must say it was an exceptional learning experience. As an aspiring cybersecurity professional, I found this course to be highly informative, well-structured, and immensely beneficial to my overall understanding of the field. First and foremost, the course content was comprehensive and covered a wide range of cybersecurity topics. From the fundamentals of computer security to advanced concepts like network security, cryptography, and ethical hacking, the course left no stone unturned. Each module was carefully designed to provide a deep understanding of the subject matter, with practical examples and real-world case studies to reinforce the concepts. What truly sets this course apart is the expertise and credibility of the instructors. Being developed by Google, one of the leading tech companies in the world, I had high expectations, and they were definitely met. The instructors were not only knowledgeable but also adept at explaining complex concepts in a clear and concise manner. Their passion for cybersecurity was evident, and it greatly motivated me to delve deeper into the subject. The interactive nature of the course was another highlight. The inclusion of hands-on exercises, quizzes, and assignments allowed me to apply the theoretical knowledge in a practical setting. Moreover, the course provided access to various tools and resources, enabling me to gain practical experience and enhance my skills. The learning platform itself, Coursera, proved to be an excellent choice for hosting this course. The user-friendly interface and well-organized course materials made it easy to navigate and keep track of my progress. The option to learn at my own pace was particularly advantageous, as it allowed me to balance my studies with other commitments. Furthermore, I am extremely grateful to have received a scholarship for this course, which has made it possible for me to pursue my cybersecurity education. Google's commitment to supporting aspiring professionals through such initiatives is commendable and speaks volumes about their dedication to cultivating talent in the field. In conclusion, I highly recommend the Foundation Course on Cybersecurity by Google on Coursera to anyone interested in pursuing a career in cybersecurity. The course provides a solid foundation of knowledge, delivered by expert instructors, and offers valuable hands-on experience. With its comprehensive curriculum and the support of a reputable platform like Coursera, this course is undoubtedly a stepping stone towards a successful career in cybersecurity. Thank you, Google, for offering this outstanding educational opportunity.

By Kit O

May 13, 2023

I recently had the opportunity to delve into the 'Foundations of Cybersecurity' course offered by Google, and I am genuinely thrilled to share that it exceeded my expectations on every front.

The course is aptly named, as it offers a solid foundation in the realm of cybersecurity. It's the perfect gateway into this expansive field, catering to both novices and those with a basic understanding of the subject. The course material is meticulously detailed, ensuring that learners gain a comprehensive understanding of core cybersecurity concepts, principles, and practices.

What sets this course apart is Google's remarkable approach to knowledge dissemination. The content is presented in a manner that is engaging and digestible, and yet doesn't compromise on the depth of knowledge shared. The lessons were structured logically and thoughtfully, allowing for a smooth progression through the material. The hands-on activities and real-world examples augmented my learning experience, allowing me to understand the practical application of the theoretical concepts being taught.

The course provided me with a broad overview of various aspects of cybersecurity, including threat landscapes, security architecture, incident response, and cybersecurity ethics. I particularly appreciated the sections on network security and cryptography - two areas that are pivotal in today's digital world.

One of the standout features of this course was the emphasis on career development within the cybersecurity industry. The course not only equipped me with knowledge and skills but also gave me the confidence to pursue further studies and career opportunities in this field.

As I reflect on my learning journey, it's clear to me that 'Foundations of Cybersecurity' has been instrumental in igniting a passion for cybersecurity within me. I am excited and eager to continue in this program and build on the knowledge I have gained so far.

In conclusion, 'Foundations of Cybersecurity' by Google is an extraordinary course that is well worth the time and effort. Whether you're a beginner looking to understand the basics or someone seeking to refresh and update your knowledge, this course has something to offer. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking to embark on a journey into the fascinating world of cybersecurity.