Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Public Health Practice: The Public Health Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Public Health Practice: The Public Health Approach by Imperial College London

4.8
stars
293 ratings
111 reviews

About the Course

The Public Health Approach course is the first instalment of the wider Foundations of Public Health Practice specialisation from Imperial College London's Global Master of Public Health (MPH). The scope and content of this course has been developed from the ground up by a combined team of academics and practitioners drawing on decades of real-world public health experience as well as deep academic knowledge. Through short video lectures, practitioner interviews and a wide range of interactive activities, learners will be immersed in the world of public health practice. Designed for those new to the discipline, over four modules (intended for four weeks of learning), learners will become familiar with the scope, origins, ethics, principles and paradigms of public health practice. But there is also important foundational content for those coming from more experienced practitioner backgrounds. The 'Public Health Approach' is a phrase that is used widely to describe an up-stream, preventive, values-driven and evidence-based approach to improving population health. By the end of this course, learners will be confident with identifying and describing a wide range of public health challenges using the language and reference points of the public health profession. The subsequent courses require the knowledge from this course, as learners will be introduced to the public health toolkit of health needs assessment and evaluation, before taking deeper dives into behaviour change and health protection....

Top reviews

SO

Sep 18, 2020

Nice course. However, I finished my peer review assignment 4 days ago, and I am still yet to get a grade. I have reviewed 7 assignments so I do not understand why mine has not been reviewed.

KM

Sep 24, 2020

This was an excellent survey course in the basics of Public Health. It is not easy! Prof. Pinder and the rest of his crew are very articulate and clear. They make it look easy. It isn't!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 112 Reviews for Foundations of Public Health Practice: The Public Health Approach

By Jocelyn L

Jan 6, 2022

This course taught me so much, but just know that the readings typically take longer than the estimated time

By Asif E

Jun 17, 2020

Really enjoyed this course as a foundational piece. Kudos to the team at Imperial College London

By Chiranjivi A

Jul 23, 2020

An early course that is very important to develop one's career as a Public Health Professional!

By s z

Mar 31, 2022

Hi,

This course was great, practical and informative. I enjoyed and learned. Thank you so much.

By Peace A

Jun 13, 2020

This course has opened my eyes to a lot on Public Health and the Public Health Approach.

By Farah A S

Oct 23, 2020

this course really helps me getting to know a broader perspective of public health

By Weronika S

Aug 9, 2020

Perfect course, full of useful information. I really enjoyed it and learnt a lot.

By Nsisong O

May 22, 2020

The course was easy to understand & impactful. Excellent work Imperial college!

By Oluwabunmi M

Mar 24, 2022

​this course helped sharpen and it broaden my knowledge about public health .

By Tim F

Nov 19, 2020

Great course. Excellent foundational material. Learned a lot in this class!

By Rose B

Feb 9, 2022

Highly educational, really well instructed, thoroughly enjoyed this course

By Mohamed E

Jun 10, 2022

Well designed and very informative, a quite rich educational experience.

By MM C

Mar 16, 2021

Congratulations!!

Remarkable, clear, assertive and innovative.

By MARISA S

Dec 9, 2020

It was a good challenge ,, encourage everyone to focus more

By Renan M d M

May 8, 2021

Excelente forma para começar a estudar sobre saúde pública

By James E M I

Jul 26, 2021

Help get a better understanding of my working area.

By Samantha H

Nov 4, 2020

Thank you for a great course!

Samantha Henry

Guyana

By serena k

Mar 6, 2022

comprenhensive and easy to understand program.

By Lu-Ann L M

Oct 16, 2020

Eeducation is the fear of God.Thanks Coursera.

By Margaret M B B

Dec 1, 2020

Very informative and helpful. I learned a lot

By MR M H

Dec 8, 2020

Very well organised and highly informative!

By Merry L

Aug 27, 2021

comprehensive material and great delivery!

By Elisa H

May 19, 2020

Very good and complete introduction on PH.

By Tanvir A

Dec 11, 2020

FANTASTIC-GIVES A LOT TO LEARN AND THINK.

By BLAIECH Y

Nov 17, 2021

great course , very interesting program