Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
1,640 ratings
414 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT
Jul 6, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH
Apr 7, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 410 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Muhammad U S

Oct 11, 2020

Highly recommended for the beginners. If you are new to RL then this course is the best along with Sutton and Barto Book.

By parham

Jul 6, 2020

there is so many great fundamental stuff here, with deep theoric background, but it lacks some practical approach

By Christopher B C

Sep 8, 2019

I thought the lectures were informative, but the pacing could have been a bit faster to get through more content.

By Rafael V M

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent course, with several practical examples of the theory being explained. I found week 3 a little dense.

By Balsher S

Jul 10, 2020

Week 3 should be improved a bit. It is a bit confusing to understand. Btw Great course. Keep the good work up.

By Sharmili S

Apr 15, 2020

Quizzes and assignments are a bit challenging. It might be easier if questions are better elucidated.

By Arthur B

Nov 24, 2020

Great course, yet a bit superficial. If you want to understand details, you have grind on your own.

By Daxkumar J

Feb 3, 2020

this is a basic course of the RL and its very great to learn with University Alberta.

By Anirudh B

May 13, 2020

Needs more coding implementation according to me. But overall theory was good.

By Zia M U D

May 4, 2020

Tutors are fantastic, but should also focus on programming not just on theory.

By Mohamed H

Feb 14, 2020

I think it will be perfect if the board and pen are used to drive equations.

By Maxim V

Jan 6, 2020

Good content, but most of it is in the textbook, not so much in the videos.

By Sri R R

Apr 17, 2020

The course was cool but needed some more programming assignments.

By Francisco R

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent in terms of learning the foundations of RL.

By Jeroen v H

Oct 17, 2019

Quite theoretical. But a good base of the concepts.

By Husam D

Nov 4, 2019

I wished there were more coding assignments

By Shahram E

Jun 25, 2020

c

o

u

l

d

b

e

w

i

t

h

m

o

r

e

e

x

a

m

p

l

e

a

n

d

t

e

a

c

h

b

y

c

o

d

i

n

g

By Mark R

Oct 26, 2019

Interesting course.

By 배병선

Oct 31, 2019

Good!

By Arpan M

Oct 17, 2020

good

By Youval D

Jan 21, 2020

Good examples can simplify things greatly. there where several places where an extra step would add value. Some lessons, such as the problem with the trucks could go a little deeper. Assignment grading system is buggy. I spend hours (that I do not have) because I used "transition" as a variable. After I figured this out, I was no longer able to know if other error is due to some other things the Notebook does not like or if there are actual errors. I also posted some questions but never got any response to any of them.

By Chandan R S

May 9, 2020

Not much satisfied with the course structure...

To successfully understand and complete this course, you constantly need to refer the reference book.

Most of the students are referring to online courses so that they can learn more efficiently than reading,

any casual book reader can easily complete this course but for the person who like to learn from videos rather than book reading (like me), it was not so great experience.

By Rafael C P

May 12, 2020

The content is there and it is good, but teachers lack good teaching skills and lessons feel rushed (Ng lectures come to mind as positive examples of good practices). Also, lessons aren't self-contained, as you need to read the book if you want to get good grades on the tests. I was looking for a smoother experience than the book, not to be told to read the book, which I can do without a course.

By Saeid G

Dec 10, 2019

The good thing about this course is that it is based on the bible of reinforcement learning and it is thoughts by the experts in the field. However, the pace of the teaching is extremely fast and it is quite hard to keep with the pace even for someone with some background in the RL.

By Iuri P B

Jul 3, 2020

It needs more explanation about the fundamentals, examples and sections that demonstrate how each, for instance, Policy Iteration and Value Iteration differ. Despite that, the course is really good and I would recommend for a friend.