Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
2,138 ratings
529 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT
Jul 6, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH
Apr 7, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 529 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Prakhar J

Aug 28, 2020

The content was very well organized, but applications could have been better understood using more complex numerical algorithms and more assignments.

By krishna c

Dec 31, 2020

The guest lecture on truck fleet management was not great, the teacher tried to cover lot more material in a short time in the video then possible.

By Ramakrishnan.K

Jun 21, 2020

The fundamentals of Bandits and MDPs are well covered. A major plus is the way we are made to read the text book before attending the lectures.

By Slav K

Jan 4, 2021

A solid start with theoretical fundament. Assignment 2 was too cumbersome, lacking the description of actions encoded in the assignment.

By Petru R

Jan 20, 2021

More Python examples are needed throughout the lessons.

Not only at the final. No proper introduction to DL Python library is given.

By NEHUL B

Sep 9, 2020

I was hoping for a bit more practical application too, but this course does a solid job at teaching you the theory thoroughly.

By Matthew C

Aug 24, 2019

Auto-grading of programming exercises did not work that well, but other than that, it was very instructive and well presented.

By Mark C

Sep 27, 2021

The course is mostly a repeat of the text book. Fortunately the text book is free. Regardless, the material is interesting.

By Muhammad U S

Oct 11, 2020

Highly recommended for the beginners. If you are new to RL then this course is the best along with Sutton and Barto Book.

By Matthew W

Jul 17, 2021

pretty good course for RL basics, not as in depth as the book and programming assignments were too easy, but good intro

By parham M

Jul 6, 2020

there is so many great fundamental stuff here, with deep theoric background, but it lacks some practical approach

By Christopher C

Sep 8, 2019

I thought the lectures were informative, but the pacing could have been a bit faster to get through more content.

By Rafael V M

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent course, with several practical examples of the theory being explained. I found week 3 a little dense.

By Balsher S

Jul 10, 2020

Week 3 should be improved a bit. It is a bit confusing to understand. Btw Great course. Keep the good work up.

By Sharmili S

Apr 15, 2020

Quizzes and assignments are a bit challenging. It might be easier if questions are better elucidated.

By Arthur

Nov 24, 2020

Great course, yet a bit superficial. If you want to understand details, you have grind on your own.

By Aze A

Dec 10, 2020

I enjoyed the course, especially week 3 and week 4 materials. I would have like more examples.

By Daxkumar J

Feb 3, 2020

this is a basic course of the RL and its very great to learn with University Alberta.

By Simon N

Dec 20, 2020

Very good introduction. Helps you get through Sutton and Barto (free pdf supplied).

By Anirudh B

May 13, 2020

Needs more coding implementation according to me. But overall theory was good.

By Zia M U D

May 4, 2020

Tutors are fantastic, but should also focus on programming not just on theory.

By Mohamed H

Feb 14, 2020

I think it will be perfect if the board and pen are used to drive equations.

By Maxim V

Jan 6, 2020

Good content, but most of it is in the textbook, not so much in the videos.

By Sri R R

Apr 17, 2020

The course was cool but needed some more programming assignments.

By Francisco R

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent in terms of learning the foundations of RL.