Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
1,560 ratings
394 reviews

About the Course

Reinforcement Learning is a subfield of Machine Learning, but is also a general purpose formalism for automated decision-making and AI. This course introduces you to statistical learning techniques where an agent explicitly takes actions and interacts with the world. Understanding the importance and challenges of learning agents that make decisions is of vital importance today, with more and more companies interested in interactive agents and intelligent decision-making. This course introduces you to the fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning. When you finish this course, you will: - Formalize problems as Markov Decision Processes - Understand basic exploration methods and the exploration/exploitation tradeoff - Understand value functions, as a general-purpose tool for optimal decision-making - Know how to implement dynamic programming as an efficient solution approach to an industrial control problem This course teaches you the key concepts of Reinforcement Learning, underlying classic and modern algorithms in RL. After completing this course, you will be able to start using RL for real problems, where you have or can specify the MDP. This is the first course of the Reinforcement Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AT

Jul 07, 2020

An excellent introduction to Reinforcement Learning, accompanied by a well-organized & informative handbook. I definitely recommend this course to have a strong foundation in Reinforcement Learning.

NH

Apr 08, 2020

This course is one of the best I've learned so far in coursera. The explanations are clear and concise enough. It took a while for me to understand Bellman equation but when I did, it felt amazing!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 391 Reviews for Fundamentals of Reinforcement Learning

By Romesh M P

May 21, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, especially the guest segments (I got to know important people from that). Presenters did a good job but can be more relaxed.

By Marcello M

Aug 13, 2020

Very good theoretical contents, pretty much in line with the textbook - practical coding parts are mostly exercises of conversion of equations into code

By Mahmmoud M

Sep 29, 2019

However, Missing the lectures of slide, the supported book is very good. The lectures are very simple and one can finish fast.

Thanks for teaching team.

By Prakhar J

Aug 29, 2020

The content was very well organized, but applications could have been better understood using more complex numerical algorithms and more assignments.

By Ramakrishnan.K

Jun 21, 2020

The fundamentals of Bandits and MDPs are well covered. A major plus is the way we are made to read the text book before attending the lectures.

By NEHUL B

Sep 09, 2020

I was hoping for a bit more practical application too, but this course does a solid job at teaching you the theory thoroughly.

By Matthew C

Aug 24, 2019

Auto-grading of programming exercises did not work that well, but other than that, it was very instructive and well presented.

By Muhammad U S

Oct 11, 2020

Highly recommended for the beginners. If you are new to RL then this course is the best along with Sutton and Barto Book.

By parham

Jul 06, 2020

there is so many great fundamental stuff here, with deep theoric background, but it lacks some practical approach

By Christopher B C

Sep 08, 2019

I thought the lectures were informative, but the pacing could have been a bit faster to get through more content.

By Rafael V M

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent course, with several practical examples of the theory being explained. I found week 3 a little dense.

By Balsher S

Jul 10, 2020

Week 3 should be improved a bit. It is a bit confusing to understand. Btw Great course. Keep the good work up.

By Sharmili S

Apr 15, 2020

Quizzes and assignments are a bit challenging. It might be easier if questions are better elucidated.

By Daxkumar J

Feb 03, 2020

this is a basic course of the RL and its very great to learn with University Alberta.

By Anirudh B

May 13, 2020

Needs more coding implementation according to me. But overall theory was good.

By Zia M U D

May 04, 2020

Tutors are fantastic, but should also focus on programming not just on theory.

By Mohamed H

Feb 14, 2020

I think it will be perfect if the board and pen are used to drive equations.

By Maxim V

Jan 07, 2020

Good content, but most of it is in the textbook, not so much in the videos.

By Sri R R

Apr 17, 2020

The course was cool but needed some more programming assignments.

By Francisco R

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent in terms of learning the foundations of RL.

By Jeroen v H

Oct 17, 2019

Quite theoretical. But a good base of the concepts.

By Husam D

Nov 04, 2019

I wished there were more coding assignments

By Shahram E

Jun 25, 2020

c

o

u

l

d

b

e

w

i

t

h

m

o

r

e

e

x

a

m

p

l

e

a

n

d

t

e

a

c

h

b

y

c

o

d

i

n

g

By Mark R

Oct 26, 2019

Interesting course.

By 배병선

Oct 31, 2019

Good!