Chevron Left
Back to Generative AI: Introduction and Applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Generative AI: Introduction and Applications by IBM

4.6
stars
581 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed for everyone, including professionals, executives, students, and enthusiasts, interested in learning about generative AI and leveraging its capabilities in their work and lives. This course is your first step toward understanding the capabilities of generative AI, powered by different models, including large language models (LLMs). In this course, you will learn about the fundamentals and evolution of generative AI. You will explore the capabilities of generative AI in different domains, including text, image, audio, video, virtual worlds, code, and data. You will understand the applications of generative AI across different sectors and industries. You will learn about the capabilities and features of common generative AI models and tools, such as GPT, DALL-E, Stable Diffusion, and Synthesia. Hands-on labs, included in the course, provide an opportunity to explore the use cases of generative AI through IBM Generative AI Classroom and popular tools like ChatGPT. You will also hear from the practitioners about the capabilities, applications, and tools of generative AI....

Top reviews

JG

Apr 10, 2024

Very good overview of Generative AI, including it's history and present day use. I enjoyed the opportunity to learn about and try out a variety of generative AI apps for text, images, coding and more!

JP

Mar 15, 2024

Generative AI was practically broken in bits for us to really comprehend . You just have to pay attention so you don’t mix the tools and their functions up. Thank you Coursera 🙏🏼 Jennifer MGBEKEN

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 148 Reviews for Generative AI: Introduction and Applications

By Karalea F

Nov 17, 2023

Good content and very informative. Would have been better if some of the interactives worked properly and the speaker on the videos talked a bit slower; it was rushed.

By Stephen O

Mar 3, 2024

A good introduction to the capabilities of generative AI, I recommend this to anyone that is curious or interested in the subject of generative AI and its real world applications

By Richard T

Mar 30, 2024

I appreciated the thoroughness and attention to details from this course. I learned a great deal of concepts and tools, especially in Lesson three Glossary.

By Greg G

Dec 24, 2023

This is a great, comprehensive introduction to generative AI and the media it affects.

By Nicholas M

Jan 24, 2024

The content of this course is incredibly simple to the point of uselessness, it is essentially stating that generative AI exists and listing a bunch of example models. It lists endless use cases, many of which are highly questionable (using synthetic data to train predictive models for instance) and the exercises are mostly guiding you step by step through opening chatGPT and writing a prompt or similar. Most of the quiz question essentially boil down to "what kind of tool would you use to generate an image": 1. An image generator. 2. A text generator. This course is included as part of the Generative AI for Data Scientists Specialization, but I would strongly recommend any Data Scientists thinking of taking this Specialization to at least skip this course and for something more useful.

By Suman D

Feb 23, 2024

A very comprehensive & a must take for even those who want a quick knowledge about the whole world of Generative AI in a matter of hours.

By Bill W

Apr 2, 2024

The information in the class is really helpful. However, the narrator talks VERY fast like he is just reading from a script. People creating a class need to realize that others will be hanging on every word and need to speak slowly. I had to turn down the speed of the narration just to keep up with notes.

By Daniel S

Apr 2, 2024

dont like the way the videos are narrated.. it may as well be an AI reading slides. It is a breathless wall of bullet points read at breakneck speed. I am looking for a generative AI program that feels more like it is being taught by a human.

By Tera R

Jan 3, 2024

The pace is fast. I can see they used AI tools for voice. While content is good for complete beginners, the recording is very fast even for knowledgable folks.

By Karun R

Feb 19, 2024

Nothing useful

By Marc G

May 17, 2024

Really low quality content. This course would benefit from actual interviews of people discussing HOW and which tools they used in Generative AI in their field than just listing a giant laundry list of apps. Also, it feels like they are trying so hard to put IBM's WatsonX tool up there and keep pushing IBMs other tools, which aren't really seen as industry leaders in the GenAI field. Honestly this course was such a disappointment and waste of time. I don't recommend it to anyone unless they fix these things, make it more engaging, and actually teach people how to use the tools.

By Cheng Z

Apr 18, 2024

Signed up for Applied AI and suddenly IBM and Coursera decided to update the program to AI Developer program. Thumbs down, I only committed my time for 7 courses, but now you added 3 more courses and I can't continue anymore. Wasted my time big time!

By Jeremy L

May 11, 2024

Too much overview of too many of the systems and tools for GEN AI which made it hard to know what to focus on in preparation for the test.

By Kevin A v G E

Jan 31, 2024

No me deja continuar el curso y estoy al 91%

By Andrea Y

Apr 21, 2024

The course is brilliantly structured for both beginners and seasoned professionals. The content is delivered through engaging, easy-to-digest modules, complemented by practical, hands-on projects that solidify learning and demonstrate real-world applications. The instructors are experts in their fields and provide invaluable insights. With flexible scheduling and a supportive online community, this course is a fantastic resource for anyone looking to delve into the world of generative AI. It has truly broadened my understanding and sparked further interest in AI technologies. A resounding five stars!

By Yasuhiro S

Feb 9, 2024

This course efficiently teaches the knowledge necessary for practically engaging in data science by utilizing generative AI. It allows you to broadly understand what is possible. Although it is a very simple approach, I believe that the foundational content is effective for further knowledge. Additionally, by leveraging tools to lower the learning barrier, it is very well designed for those who want to step up their game at the moment they acquire the knowledge.

By Michelle M

Jan 25, 2024

Upskill with IBM Generative AI - introduction and applications. This is the skill you need for the future. Great course - rich content. This course proved a great introduction into the world of AI. I have used Generative AI prior to this course. On my successful completion I can confirm I was under utilizing generative AI. Understanding AI is the key to optimizing your productivity.

By Nikesh K

Jan 10, 2024

The informational content provided in the videos on AI was extensive, covering a broad range of topics. However, some of the videos were delivered at a fast pace, and it felt like they were primarily created to mention various tools without delving deeper into their functionalities or applications.

By Jonathan N

Jan 12, 2024

Great information for an AI introductory course. Vast tools are introduced for various purposes. However, it'll take awhile to remember which tool work best for a particular purpose (you'll find it a hard way if you don't remember them when come the quizzes/exams :-))

By Jan F

Nov 27, 2023

Very good course. I gained a lot of knowledge without it getting too technical. And learned a good amount of new info from the examples and labs where I practiced using a bunch of new tools I wasn’t aware of. Just about anyone would benefit from taking this course.

By Basel R

Mar 20, 2024

The course covers a wide range of generative AI models and the sectors that uses the AI and the way how companies are competing to integrate AI in their operations. along with its strengths, limitations, and real-world use cases.

By Hemil S

Dec 21, 2023

I certainly liked the course. Its very insghtful and helps to understand broader aspects of Gen AI for an individual looking to begin their understanding. Thanks to all the instructors & contributors for putting this through.

By J N J

Dec 12, 2023

Excellent course work for an introduction and learn about the applications of Generative Artificial Intelligence. Videos are quite intuitive. IBM has done an excellent job of helping me to learn and apply Gen AI knowledge.

By Erika D

Jan 19, 2024

This course was really easy to follow and did a great job of introducing the tools available for new AI users. I really appreciated that the language was not super technical making this much easier to learn.

By Alexey Z

May 9, 2024

It is a well structured and delivered course. Clear narration, helpful orientation information in the beginning of the course and each module. Overall, nice and systemic panorama of generative AI tools.