Chevron Left
Back to Concurrency in Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Concurrency in Go by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
570 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to implement concurrent programming in Go. Explore the roles of channels and goroutines in implementing concurrency. Topics include writing goroutines and implementing channels for communications between goroutines. Course activities will allow you to exercise Go’s capabilities for concurrent programming by developing several example programs....

Top reviews

RP
Dec 20, 2020

Excellent course. Great instructor. Dives right into computer science fundamentals to fully explain the concepts. Good programming assignments. Only thing left to include concurrent design patterns .

MR
Nov 10, 2020

Has a Javascript Developer, and this course opened my mind to concurrency, not just in go, but in computing. I would recommend to anyone looking to understand true. concurrency

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 118 Reviews for Concurrency in Go

By 五分钟诗人

Aug 18, 2019

Very helpful.

By Jonathan H

Sep 27, 2018

great course!

By Ashwin D

Apr 7, 2020

Good course!

By Manikant R

Jun 18, 2020

Well taught

By Saurabh S K

Sep 23, 2019

Very Useful

By M. H A P

Sep 23, 2020

Excellent

By Fernando P

May 11, 2021

Awesome!

By Bruno M e M

Oct 26, 2020

Perfect!

By Ahmad e D

Nov 17, 2020

🔥🔥🔥

By yichen z

May 3, 2019

nice

By Janitzio A O S

Nov 10, 2019

Considero muy relevante el conocimiento de lenguajes modernos como Golang, los felicito. Como intento de aportación podrían considerar la evaluación automática de las actividades de programación, es cierto que el modelo de evaluación de pares puede ser altamente provechoso pero también y en ocasiones la evaluación es un mero trámite, sin retroalimentación o inclusive destructivo o negativo. Los contenidos pueden mejorar y hacer mucho más intensivos considerando que el curso es de nivel de experiencia medio, si consideramos como la referencia lo escrito en el libro "The Go Programming Language (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing Series) por Alan A. A. Donovan y Brian W. Kernighan".

Siempre he agradecido a Coursera la oportunidad de aprender. No dejen de apoyar y de poner al alcance del mundo excelentes cursos de excelente universidades.

By Jeffrey V

Jul 15, 2021

Because of the complexity of concurrency, I felt the course should have been longer, with readings and links to resources for better understanding the content. I knew a bit about concurrency in Go prior to taking the course, but if I were walking into this as a novice or lower-intermediate, I would find this to be insufficient and confusing. Also, the final assignment should have been better explained. There seems to be a lot of confusion surrounding its requirements. The instructor is really good, but I get the feeling that the course has been neglected over the years. I still recommend this course, but realize that you will have to explore this topic outside of Coursera--such as books on Golang.

By Michael D

Feb 12, 2021

Discrepancies between the slides and the talks are a bit off putting, otherwise a very good course. Please consider adding reading materials in a format that doesn't rely on you having a licence for MS Office - I run Linux and having to import the PPTX files into Google was annoying when they could have just been PDFs

By Camilo M

Dec 28, 2019

The topic of concurrency in general is not something that I usually think about, having learnt about it long time ago it was great to get back at it again with a new language that I knew nothing about. The course taught me not only the important concepts, but how to implement it using go.

By Eric W

Apr 15, 2021

I found some of the assignment content a bit ambiguous in terms of requirements, and there were errors in some of the requirements. Generally very good course though - have been programming in GO for a little while - it was a great course to bring it all together for me.

By Harvey G

Jun 16, 2021

A​ challenging course on some advanced topics. The final assignment (the philosophers dining problem) far is too complex and esoteric in my opinion, and marking it is difficult. It could be improved by making the requirements of the final assignment clearer and concrete.

By Akshat A

Dec 23, 2020

Method of instruction is clear and engaging. The assignments are also interesting and decently challenging. Would have rated 5 if there were more assignments though. Maybe more programming exercises to test the understanding of go's concurrency constructs.

By Peter P

Dec 27, 2020

A good introduction to concurrency in Golang. It's a bit heavier in theory rather than practice. As others mentioned the initial Moore's Law paper is a bit out of place. I did enjoy the final assignment, however.

By Leam H

Jan 27, 2019

Needs more TA and instructor interaction. Lots of outside reading required, but over all a good introduction. You really need to have decent programming skills before attempting this.

By Akashdeep D

Jun 23, 2019

could be better. there's a lot of concepts here and UCI condensed a lot of it into a few videos per week. more assignments with clearer docstrings would be more helpful

By Luis R A S

Jul 21, 2020

Excelent course, I've encountered many problems, but the people who were taken the course at the same time helped me a lot, Use the discussion forums!

By Olaf D

Apr 23, 2019

Overall I enjoyed the course but there were a bunch of inconsistencies which where confusing at times.

By Niall D

Jan 23, 2019

1 star lost because week 1 is unnecessary. Cool course, as it is easy to do in a week.

By Juan C

Apr 20, 2020

There are some errors on tests that have been flagged and haven't been fixed.

By Sebastian R

Oct 24, 2019

Much better when video is chopped up. Easier for microlearning sessions :)