Chevron Left
Back to Concurrency in Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Concurrency in Go by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
570 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to implement concurrent programming in Go. Explore the roles of channels and goroutines in implementing concurrency. Topics include writing goroutines and implementing channels for communications between goroutines. Course activities will allow you to exercise Go’s capabilities for concurrent programming by developing several example programs....

Top reviews

RP
Dec 20, 2020

Excellent course. Great instructor. Dives right into computer science fundamentals to fully explain the concepts. Good programming assignments. Only thing left to include concurrent design patterns .

MR
Nov 10, 2020

Has a Javascript Developer, and this course opened my mind to concurrency, not just in go, but in computing. I would recommend to anyone looking to understand true. concurrency

Filter by:

101 - 118 of 118 Reviews for Concurrency in Go

By Amiya M

Jan 20, 2021

I guess a final project should be their to develop then it would be great

By Hongyi L

Oct 28, 2018

I hope there will be a TA in future. The class is great enough.

By Hesham E

Jun 30, 2020

Perfect course, with mix of theory and practical examples.

By Soham D

Apr 16, 2021

Practical session should be encouraged more

By subrata d

May 18, 2019

It's really a good course.

By Michael S

Jan 22, 2021

The course material was very good, and the presenter did an excellent job. I was especially impressed that he gave background conceptual understanding, not just language syntax elements. Slides were pretty good, sometimes very good. But the web site was a mess! At the end, I waited four days (impatiently) for a dining philosophers project to be available for me to grade, so I could finish the course. It never showed up. Finally I went to the forums and responded to someone's request that I review his assignment, and that allowed me to complete the course. There was nothing, nothing in the course anywhere, to tell me that this was either possible or necessary. Why did the web site not give me an assignment to grade when there were multiple students begging to have their assignments graded in the forums? And do course assistants ever respond to forum posts? Very, very bad technical execution of the course.

By Alexander K

Dec 12, 2019

In formation is useful but assignments are not clear enough, module 2 propose to reproduce raise condition however threads in Go are not explained yet. Module 4 assignment is quite tricky and gives big possibility to be blocked during review because requirements are not clear.

By Amit S

Jun 6, 2020

Content was rushed very quickly. First week content was bit stretched. Although the content was relevant but stretched. Rather reading from slides, content could have being more interactive.

By Robert M

Feb 7, 2021

The class goes in sufficient details through the go concurrency features but more concrete examples would be useful to retain the material.

By xiaoyang

May 1, 2020

Too much details on concurrency basics, not suited for the ones with other programming language experience.

By Michael S

Jan 3, 2020

Shabby and messy

By Max W

Jun 5, 2021

Light on content, with an emphasis on the very basics of concurrency and Moore's law. I was hoping that an intermediate course would jump right into the Go concurrency concepts instead of spending half the course on remedial concurrency topics.

It may be that the course isn't very fully attended in June of 2021, but I was having a hard time getting folks to review my assignments and/or finding assignments to review (you must review at least one for yours to be graded).

By Daniel R

Dec 23, 2019

The concepts in this course are critical for any Go developer to know. However the course itself contains all sorts of extraneous information and could easily be done in two modules instead of four. There are many more go topics that could be included in this class instead of wasting time talking about Moore's Law and repeating information.

By Tim W

May 10, 2020

Content reasonably good. Some errors in quizes and assignments.

Assignments could use better descriptions and rubrics as often they did not test many of the features included in the assignment. Also one of the earlier assignments used knowledge that was not introduced until the following module.

By Peter M

Aug 24, 2020

Why say something in once concise sentence when you can say it in hundreds of words? There is so much unnecessary waffling in all these Go courses.

Almost all of the first 2 'weeks' is not relevant to Go. Moore's law indeed! Why?

The lecturer loves the sound of his own voice.

By Gonzalo R

Apr 4, 2021

The instructions for the assignments are too vague. First two lectures in week 1 are not specific about go.

By bob n

Aug 12, 2020

Sloppy, babbling presentation. Multiple inexcusable typos in slides, trying to learn a new programming language/syntax when the presentation contains syntax errors is just plain wrong. Presenter is disorganized, ramble and runs off topic. First week has NOTHING to do with GO. Programming concepts needed to complete second assignment given IN THE FOLLOWING week. I'm so grateful there isn't a fourth course in this series, I could not take much more of "professor" Harris. He might be fun to share a beer with, but not as an instructor.

By Joey W

Jul 14, 2021

I have loved the two previous Go courses, and been looking forward to getting to the course on concurrency. Unfortunately, this course embodies the very reasons I could not stand attending college. Right from the beginning, I had to sit through 39 minutes of lectures on a deep dive into topics that really are only relevant if I'm trying to specialize in hardware engineering. Now, I'm being asked to WRITE AN ESSAY covering those topics. I'm here to learn Go, not to dive into the hows and whats of modern CPU architecture.