Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Google Kubernetes Engine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Google Kubernetes Engine by Google Cloud

4.6
stars
2,553 ratings
507 reviews

About the Course

This one-week, accelerated online class equips students to containerize workloads in Docker containers, deploy them to Kubernetes clusters provided by Google Kubernetes Engine, and scale those workloads to handle increased traffic. Students also learn how to continuously deploy new code in a Kubernetes cluster to provide application updates. At the end of the course, you will be able to: • Understand container basics • Containerize an existing application • Understand Kubernetes concepts and principles • Deploy applications to Kubernetes using the CLI • Set up a continuous delivery pipeline using Jenkins • Locate more documentation and training. To get the most of out of this course, learners should have basic proficiency with command-line tools and Linux operating system environments, as well as Web server technologies such as Nginx. We also recommend systems operations experience, including deploying and managing applications, either on-premises or in a public cloud environment. >>> By enrolling in this course you agree to the Qwiklabs Terms of Service as set out in the FAQ and located at: https://qwiklabs.com/terms_of_service <<<...

Top reviews

NP

May 07, 2018

The course can help deep understanding docker and learn about google Kubernetes that amazing product from google help deploy software or web app ,scaling, and management of containerized applications.

MK

May 05, 2018

Amazing course. I have got good insight about Kubernetes, Google Kubernetes Engine and learnt many new techniques. Thanks for Google Cloud and Coursera for offering a valuable course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 508 Reviews for Getting Started with Google Kubernetes Engine

By Victor S

Dec 10, 2017

Too superficial. The use case with Jenkins is pretty nice, but it is not enough. The labs are just a sequence of instructions and it is better just going to Google's tutorials.

By Gautam S

Sep 12, 2019

I didn't learn anything much as the guidelines were clearly stated in the labs and we just had to copy paste. Had the course been 4 weeks long and we were prompted to work on our own google clouds, it would have been an amazing course. I felt like I was being spoon-fed. The course would've been much better if there were videos explaining what exactly the lab content meant. Also there was literally very less content explained in the videos, given that this is a intermediate course. I suggest you to please make the course more newbie-friendly and justify the name 'Introduction'. Thank you & please review the course

By Nguyen D P

May 07, 2018

The course can help deep understanding docker and learn about google Kubernetes that amazing product from google help deploy software or web app ,scaling, and management of containerized applications.

By Manikandan K

May 05, 2018

Amazing course. I have got good insight about Kubernetes, Google Kubernetes Engine and learnt many new techniques. Thanks for Google Cloud and Coursera for offering a valuable course.

By Eric R F

Jun 05, 2018

The 2nd, 3rd and 4th Labs of this course are amazing. I gave me enough knowledge to architecture how the company I work for can benefit with the use of k8s and Google Cloud.

The 1st Lab is pretty good also, but covers a lot of basic stuff. The other one are pretty much amazing.

By Lucas B

May 18, 2019

Fast-paced and worth it! This is a fantastic introduction to Kubernetes focusing on the basic terminology and deployment/administration of docker containers to a cluster. It introduces labels, containers, pods, services, namespaces, and several different types of deployment along with a whole lot of different CLI calls to understand what is going on in the cluster.

I'm a developer with a very strong systems background and this course was easy to finish in a couple of days. The videos are good but not sufficient -- the real high quality content is in the course labs, which are DEFINITELY worth the purchase price.

By Bryan M

Feb 12, 2018

This class has very well constructed and had detailed labs that go through the fundamentals of using Docker and Google Kubernetes Engine.

It provides a great overview of Kubernetes general concepts as well as practical usage and impacts.

In my opinion, this is one of the best courses on this subject matter to date. Highly recommended for IT professionals that are trying to retrain their skills and stay relevant.

By Subhojit R

Dec 09, 2019

This was an ideal course for a beginner like me. Though the labs were a complete copy paste affair , one can still grasp the basics of dockers and containers by attending this course to take their learning forward towards more extensive in depth courses . By no means does this course comprehensively covers all the concepts but nonetheless a great course to kickstart this aspect of devops .

By Bharath P

Jun 04, 2018

Very good learning experience in very short span of time and i loved it. Especially

qwiklabs-gcp training LAB setup done was really awesome and i was able to learn & understand the command quickly and no headaches during learning instead more knowledge than what i was expecting. thanks and more to read and explore on the GCP and K8S offerings.

By Lorhana A d T

Jun 06, 2018

O curso vai direto ao ponto, as aulas são curtas o que torna o curso mais interessante e nada cansativo, além da da explicação em vídeo é possível também colocar em prática o que o instrutor fala no video com os labs que são disponibilizados, ótimo curso e recomendo ele a todos que tenham interesse nos serviços do gcloud.

By Pan S T

Feb 09, 2018

This course does require some prior knowledge of vi (or text editor via Command Line) in order to make the Lab sessions (Google Cloud Console) smoother. Other than this gripe, the presentation and pacing are fine for introductory material for using the Google Kubernetes Engine (formerly, Google Cloud).

By Peng Z

Dec 14, 2017

The lab work is very useful for me. I am glad to use Google Cloud Platform first time, and the lab work went well. I had already some experiences on docker, k8s, etc, which might help my lab work. I am now quite confident to use Google Cloud services in future if there is such project at work.

By Siddharth J

Jun 11, 2018

This is an amazing course to have hands on experience with Kubernetes and also get an understanding of how it can be utilized for your own apps. Labs are designed in such a way that by the end of the course, you tend to remember the commands and use them almost unconsciously.

By Parag G

Jun 03, 2019

It's a great course on kubernetes. It described most of the features of containerizing applications on google cloud using Kubernetes orchestration mechanism. Also it describes in depth about how to build CI/CD pipelines for Kubernetes deployments on Jenkins and Spinnaker.

By Anil M M

Jan 05, 2019

This course was really helpful with its simple yet striking videos and awesome lab wherein all the magic happens. Come and get your hands dirty and go with an exhilarating feeling.

Last but no the least, thank you Google and Coursera for bringing the course to the masses.

By Jang W

Aug 05, 2019

This Lecture is very interesting. Have a good time. I have a study that Docker, Kubernetes in basic, Pods,Service and Deployment to Kubernetes with Jenkins and Spinnaker. Have a nice day. I hope that I study more advance level. More... More.... More!!!! Thanks!!!!

By Nikolay S

Feb 25, 2020

I was really glad to take this course.

Completing labs I managed to understand what Google Kubernetes Engine is. It's really useful to deep into cloud environment by using services just to understand how they work together.

By the way, support team are awesome!

By Cho H

Apr 03, 2019

Thanks for your kindness guide, I could progress totally with our teammates. These kind of online guide can be learned by un-majored colleagues such as me. Thanks again and I would really want to register next time at this kind of education.

By Manuel A M R

Mar 29, 2018

Un curso magnifico, sencillo e intuitivo, sin duda alguna los genios de la gran G pusieron todo su talento y esfuerzo en compartirnos su vasto conocimiento en el no tan nuevo trending de contenedores el futuro de el computo e Internet hoy.

By Alain M

Aug 26, 2018

This course is very insightful and covers most of what any developer would need to get started with k8s. There is just so much to do learn, but what is covered in the course should be sufficient as introductory to Google Kubernetes Engine

By Shyam U

Jul 23, 2018

I have been using openshift for quite some time and I am familiar with Kubernetes. I think this course is the right one for someone to get started onto Kubernetes and be able to build upon the knowledge to take up advanced topics.

By Michaël R

Nov 27, 2017

Good introductory in getting started with Google Kubernetes Engine. Everything went smooth, and it showed the basic possibilities.

Perhaps adding additional resources on more complex situations might be be an extra bonus.

By Pradeep D

Jan 22, 2020

Contents are good to get basic understanding of Kubernetes Engine and various advantages of it. The deployment models exercise is too good to grasp and visualize what the various models are and internals in brief.

By Diego V d J

Jun 04, 2018

I am new to containers and i've found Kubernetes to be a little hard for me to understand. But the course and professors were great and i could understand many things about containers and continuous integration.

By Dor B D

Jul 16, 2019

Very good course, a lot of details to keep / remember for later use. Very good explanations during the sessions as well as good labs. It wasn't easy, many things to understand, training etc. Recommended course.