Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
2,250 ratings

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top reviews

ER

Mar 21, 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

PD

Nov 26, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

Filter by:

451 - 473 of 473 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By MARISOL P V

Oct 4, 2017

Great!

By Charudatta J

Jun 26, 2020

nice

By DINESH K K

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Battina D G

May 10, 2020

GOOD

By Katie S

Sep 14, 2020

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...

By Samantha F

Apr 5, 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

By Sami L

Dec 6, 2016

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

By Bhavna S

May 22, 2017

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

By Luis H

Jul 3, 2016

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

By Riya A

Jun 28, 2021

I found this course boring because there was so much history and so many things have to be remembered.

By Dmitrii P

Apr 9, 2017

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

By Sebastian J M G

Aug 13, 2020

I dont like how classmates grade the work, even if its a good one

By arshla j

Sep 24, 2016

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

By Gary D G

Jun 7, 2020

To many videos and reading

By Erick A R A d l S

Feb 24, 2018

The course is very light.

By Tarun V M

May 1, 2020

purty gud

By Mi Z

Aug 2, 2018

This course is really dry and I feel what I learned in the videos are not necessarily connected with the assignments. This is the 3rd course under Graphic Design certificate and is my least favorite one.The ones about fundamentals of Graphic Design and Typography are both really helpful, but not this one.

By Shahmeer A

Apr 24, 2022

This course is worst about ideas from the history of graphic design and in the history of graphic designing courses. The videos were so long and boring I had to skip them and I just completed this because I wanted to complete the specialization but this course is the worse of all courses

By Ala'a N E

Oct 2, 2019

This course wasn't interesting at all, nor assignments. Please try to enhance the way of presenting the theoretical information.

By Liudmila V

Jun 27, 2016

This course is about nothing, it is poor illustrated and uninformative. The lecturer's manner is anno

By Ahmed M

Mar 18, 2022

struck with peer reviews

By Sarah E M

Jul 14, 2020

I don't recommend at all

By Kathleen D

Sep 11, 2016

This course is