Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
1,908 ratings
396 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD
Nov 26, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
Dec 4, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 390 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Virginia L

Nov 17, 2017

I love the examples, the theory behind without being too didactic. It could be longer

By E. C C

Apr 6, 2017

Solid, if minimal introduction to some points from the History of Graphic Design.

By Louise O

Jun 7, 2020

I found this course very interesting! I loved learning where it all started.

By Aishwarya V

Dec 8, 2016

Great content. There is a lot to learn from this course. Excellent lectures.

By Amor S

Oct 15, 2019

If there are some recommendation for reading, it would be better.

By Nicole S

May 24, 2018

Good course, wish had more time to get a big picture perspective.

By Olena T

Jun 29, 2017

The course is informative and develops analysis skills.

By Maria B

Sep 12, 2017

i would prefer more insight into the european design

By Abayomi B

Apr 7, 2017

This course is very informative and inspiring.

By Lakshya M

Jul 26, 2020

A really nice course course for a starter.

By 当英直

Oct 24, 2016

Clear pattern of graphic design history!

By Karen

Sep 21, 2016

Good start for learning History of GD.

By jyothsna p

Jun 22, 2020

Nice course , a little boring though.

By Khan Z A

Aug 5, 2020

learned a lot from the course.

By Cameron S

Apr 11, 2017

Nice and informative

By Christine E

May 17, 2020

Very interesting!

By Glaide W

Oct 10, 2020

Good classes

By Alexandra K M

Mar 6, 2019

I't was good

By Peter R

Jan 3, 2017

Excellent.

By MARISOL P V

Oct 4, 2017

Great!

By Charudatta J

Jun 26, 2020

nice

By DINESH K K

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Battina D G

May 10, 2020

GOOD

By Katie S

Sep 14, 2020

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...