Chevron Left
Back to Hiring Practices

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hiring Practices by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
150 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Hiring Practices. In this course, you will learn how to develop a strategic plan to attract, recruit and retain employees at every level, from those just entering the workforce through those at the executive level. We will explore each step of the recruitment, selection, and onboarding process, providing a thorough explanation of the uniqueness of the step and its fit and importance within the entire talent lifecycle. Special attention is paid to diversity and inclusion as it relates to each of these steps and how we can successfully harness these most valued practices. Exploring these processes can be valuable at any level, whether this is an interest you are looking to discover or for a seasoned human resource professional wanting to expand upon an already solid knowledge base. The course combines materials focused on current hiring trends along with over 20 years of real-life practical work examples, providing you with an easy-to-understand format for your hiring practices. Learning goals for this course include: - Develop a strategic plan for recruiting both exempt and non-exempt positions - Identify and understand the importance of each step in the recruitment process - Incorporate diversity and inclusion throughout the recruitment process, highlighting the significance of those elements - Describe a successful selection process - Identify important components of successfully onboarding new employees...

Top reviews

V

Oct 18, 2021

I'm really enjoying this course. the explanation, and the case is related to mine. and from this course, I learn much about how planning recruitment. Thank you!

DM

May 29, 2022

I found this course well organized and full of great information. The lectures were interesting and we were provide a lot of real world examples!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Hiring Practices

By Zadina C

Sep 16, 2021

This class really helped me to understand Hiring Practices and how they work together in order to hire and retain a diverse pool of talent.

By Donna M

May 30, 2022

I found this course well organized and full of great information. The lectures were interesting and we were provide a lot of real world examples!

By Maria C

Mar 2, 2022

Excellent! Best for beginners! Love it.

By VIGNESH U

May 21, 2021

It was a great skill for learning .

By Bruno T

Jun 26, 2023

Short and full of information. On topic, straight to the point, and no unnecessary content. Covers all aspects of recruiting, placing an emphasis on diversity and inclusion. There are several quizzes along the course that help you test your understandings.

By Damaris G

Oct 13, 2022

I don't have that much experience with Human Resources or Hiring. This course was helpful, and the teachers were great at clearly explaining the material. Thank you very much! It feels lovely to be able to further my education and career.

By Asya H

Jan 10, 2022

Took a great advantage from the lectures, which are full of up-to-date information relevant to the post-Covid period! Wonderful, practical course! Special thanks to the instructor, Allison AndersonOpens in a new tab, for such a sophisticated course!

By Patricia C

Sep 18, 2023

I have learned so much and I feel like learning more. Because HR is my passion and I look forward to growing and acomplishing my goals. Very grateful to University of California, Irvine, Ms Anderson and Coursera.

By Dana E

Jun 8, 2022

The material was well organized. I appreciated the variety of activities, ppt, video and reading. The inclusion of the written activities helped to cement in the course goals of teaching hiring practices.

By Maria N

Mar 18, 2022

Useful overview/introduction of hiring practices, easy to follow, helpful reading and videos. Taught by enthusiastic, experienced instructor. Assignments and discussions aligned with course objectives.

By 08_AULIA V

Oct 19, 2021

I'm really enjoying this course. the explanation, and the case is related to mine. and from this course, I learn much about how planning recruitment. Thank you!

By Artemio S

Sep 8, 2022

The course is very easy to complete. Finished within a month and learned alot about the practices to use when it comes to hiring.

By Gaylin E

Mar 10, 2022

This was such an informative and really helped me learn a new skill as I am trying to transition into a new career.

By Nats V

May 18, 2022

I really loved it! So MUCH information, amazing tests and a bunch of useful links. Thank you!

By Junaid A K

Jul 7, 2022

Very precise and informative. Excellent for those who want to build basic understanding.

By Rajeev K M

Jan 17, 2022

Course was very informative and will definately help in improving the hiring process.

By Galal I A

Jun 15, 2022

Thanks to MS Alison for this simple , and I recommend this course for begginers .

By ashunda t

Apr 3, 2022

It was very thoroughly and nicely presented. The information was attainable.

By aryaa z

Oct 2, 2021

This course was really helpful to learn about hiring practices.

By Tania N

Oct 8, 2021

Useful contents, Practical touch-ups, Good Luck!

By LAMIDI A A

Sep 26, 2022

Very informative and educative

By AMDI S

Dec 22, 2022

A great and insightful course

By Shagufa T

Jun 16, 2022

Great

By Emma W

Jan 2, 2024

This course would be perfect for beginners with no prior experience or education in HR. I already work in HR and was just looking for a bit of a refresher and this was somewhat helpful to me. The slideshows are easy to follow along. Alison adds her own examples and tips rather than just reading straight from the powerpoints, but still keeps the videos straightforward and relevant. The quizzes are short and fair, if you take notes you should have no issue getting 100%. One tip, if you're not in the US some points are irrelevant as they focus on American legislature so you have to do a bit of your own research but that's expected as it's offered by an American school. I question the validity of the grading, as most discussion posts I read were either clearly copied and pasted from ChatGPT, or just completely off the mark of the question. When peer reviewing the final assignment, I saw many submissions that should have gotten 0% but it seems as though you automatically pass just for submitting anything. From a recruiter perspective, if I saw someone completed this course on their resume it wouldn't make them any more attractive as a candidate.

By Anneli L

Aug 30, 2022

The course was a great introduction to Hiring Practices. I wish there had been an option to ask questions directly to Allison or another individual versed in HR, especially after having paid for the course (it's the first time I've done this) and to have a little more direction during the final assignment would have been helpful.