Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift by IBM Skills Network

4.4
stars
344 ratings

About the Course

After completing this course, you will be able to build applications in a cloud native way using containerization tools and technologies, and deploy your applications in any public, private or hybrid cloud at incredible scale. This course introduces you to containers and explains how containers differ from virtual machines. It also covers the importance of containers in cloud computing, as well as the emerging ecosystem of related technologies such as Docker, Kubernetes, Red Hat OpenShift, and Istio. Throughout the course you will apply what you learn with hands-on labs. From getting started with Docker, to orchestration and scaling with Kubernetes, and simplifying deployments with OpenShift. The labs are performed using your web browser on IBM Cloud and Skills Network Labs environments, that are made available to you at no charge. in the project at the end of the course you will build a container image and deploy and scale it on Cloud using OpenShift. Containerization is likely the most significant invention in IT since the introduction of virtualization. Open source projects like Kubernetes and products like Red Hat OpenShift have become standards for people looking to deploy and manage containers at scale. Everyone from small startups to large multinational corporations is transitioning to these technologies, and they are looking for people who are skilled in these areas. This course is of interest to anyone who wants to be a cloud practitioner - cloud developers, cloud architects, cloud system engineers, devops engineers, cloud networking specialists and many other roles. The material also serves the needs of those who perform the tasks of advising, consulting, building, moving and managing cloud solutions. There are no hard requirements needed to be able to take this course other than basic computer literacy, and a foundation level understanding of Cloud Computing....

Top reviews

RB

Dec 25, 2021

The course was really helpful and cleared the concept and idea behind using containers. The hands-on lab exercise helped me in understanding the code in a better way.

GM

Jun 29, 2021

Great introduction course! The tools provided by IBM and OpenShift are a must to anyone who wants run and scaling containerized applications in the cloud with ease.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 112 Reviews for Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift

By Roman B

Jan 12, 2022

Thank you, guys! It's really a great and informative course. Still I've got one moment and it is connected to the fact that I passed it not for working as a developer, but I need it as I work as a technical writers team lead and I'm not a programmer at all. That is why I would ask you if it's possible to add some more reference information in videos as it's sometimes hard to get the idea - what the commands are for, what are the main instruments for work and so on. The course is intended for beginners but sometimes seems it's not. Still, many thanks to you.

By Manuel D

Jan 10, 2022

Bis auf temporäre Probleme bei der Anmeldung zur IBM Cloud CLI in manchen Labs (und leider auch bei der finalen Prüfung) finde ich den übermittelten Content gut aufbereitet und leicht zu folgen.

By Emiliano C

Apr 28, 2022

Very good intro to Containers, good content. I didn't give 5 stars because there are some bugs that make you lose time during the lab sessions, especially the last - and longest - one.

By xzibit

May 28, 2021

Ошибки в задании не исправлены, хотя о них пишут на форуме. И плюс последнее задание сразу не освещают, что надо будет делать скриншоты, которые прикрепляешь к работе

By Mohamed Z C

Nov 20, 2020

The Course represents a good starting point for everyone who want to use containers, however, i think it could be better if there were more hands on labs.

By Ricardo M

Jun 23, 2021

Very good introduction to the basic concepts of Containerization and Kubernetes. Good examples to get a starting feel on how to work with such tools

By José C R

Dec 17, 2021

I learned a lot, with a great lab environment for practice. Even though on the final project OpenShift lab it had some delay issues.

By Michael S

Apr 5, 2021

Good introduction to the specified tools and how cloud-native development can work pretty easily. The exercises were too guided.

By M C

Jul 27, 2021

I am unable to complete the project as the lab environment will not function for me and continues to error on each attempt.

By Cristóbal O

Jan 6, 2022

Very well explained for a newcomer. Lab is... difficult to handle since it keeps crashing. Excellent content though.

By T T

May 24, 2021

Great Introductory course on Docker and Kubernetes. Would recommend 10/10.

By Alfonzo V

Nov 29, 2021

Some exercises failed at the first attempt, needed to wait and try again

By Iñaki C

Feb 22, 2021

Problems with final submition, but great introdoctury course.

By Mohamed A K D

Nov 27, 2020

Very good class.

Exams and Practices was very interesting

By Ikbal R

Apr 16, 2022

Good introductory course to containers and openshift

By Pankaj Z

Mar 17, 2021

One of the finest courses on Docker, Kubernetes.

By Dmytro P

Apr 18, 2021

Course is good, but lab environment is buggy

By gwendoline s

Feb 23, 2021

FYI, there are some mistakes in the quizz

By Pankaj G

Dec 15, 2021

Excellent course with a perfect hands on

By Marco N

Oct 29, 2021

O​verall, the course itself was nice. The course videos and labs helped solidify my experience with Docker, Kubernetes and OpenShift. However, the one thing that really killed this course was the final project. Other courses I've taken so far will tell you where to take screenshots, but this one did not. If that wasn't bad enough, you will need to delete something as instructed in the project guide and need to take screenshots of the state before the delete. I see in the discussion forums that a lot of people had to reset their projects due to not knowing about what screenshots to take until the very end. There are little to no threads discussing how to reset the final project.

By Daniel W

Aug 8, 2021

Good intentions to provide a controlled, simulated lab environment when the course matter consists of large systems. There was however quite some trouble with that lab environment. (Quick response and adjustments from the course responsibles though.) The theory was mostly an enumeration of facts about Docker, Kubernetes and OpenShift. I missed descriptions of problems and system design reasoning.

By Jie-Chau H

Sep 27, 2021

the pear graded system (a student graded another student's work) is somehow not good. if one student didn't realize the grading standard well, or not understand the studying content so well, he would likely give wrong scores/comments to other's work.

By Joel J

Jul 7, 2022

I​ feel that the information provided was too breif and not explained in enough detail to adquately prepare the student to complete the test and assignments required for this course.

By Joakim G

Apr 20, 2022

Some problems in final exam, and instructions was not as clear as one gotten used to.

By Luca M

May 28, 2021

Too many problems with the Labs, but if fixed the course is smooth and nice