Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift by IBM

4.4
stars
63 ratings
23 reviews

About the Course

After completing this course, you will be able to build applications in a cloud native way using containerization tools and technologies, and deploy your applications in any public, private or hybrid cloud at incredible scale. This course introduces you to containers and explains how containers differ from virtual machines. It also covers the importance of containers in cloud computing, as well as the emerging ecosystem of related technologies such as Docker, Kubernetes, Red Hat OpenShift, and Istio. Throughout the course you will apply what you learn with hands-on labs. From getting started with Docker, to orchestration and scaling with Kubernetes, and simplifying deployments with OpenShift. The labs are performed using your web browser on IBM Cloud and Skills Network Labs environments, that are made available to you at no charge. in the project at the end of the course you will build a container image and deploy and scale it on Cloud using OpenShift. Containerization is likely the most significant invention in IT since the introduction of virtualization. Open source projects like Kubernetes and products like Red Hat OpenShift have become standards for people looking to deploy and manage containers at scale. Everyone from small startups to large multinational corporations is transitioning to these technologies, and they are looking for people who are skilled in these areas. This course is of interest to anyone who wants to be a cloud practitioner - cloud developers, cloud architects, cloud system engineers, devops engineers, cloud networking specialists and many other roles. The material also serves the needs of those who perform the tasks of advising, consulting, building, moving and managing cloud solutions. There are no hard requirements needed to be able to take this course other than basic computer literacy, and a foundation level understanding of Cloud Computing....

Top reviews

CH
Feb 3, 2021

This was actually a worth while tutorial on the basics of K8s and tools that go along with it. (2021)

TM
Feb 23, 2021

It is very good introduction and some hands-on experience course for the beginners.

Filter by:

1 - 23 of 23 Reviews for Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift

By Oh G W

Jan 2, 2021

This course contain peer review grading.

Please note that you might not get your grading unless you actively look for peers in the forum.

You might not get the correct grade cause not everyone is skilled in grading assessment.

You might not pass the course cause your peer might fail your assessment without properly grading.

As a technical course I have no idea why IBM choose to have peer review grading as the final assessment, they should at least put a warning on the course description.

By Cristian

Dec 28, 2020

I have just finished a Red Hat training and is from another league. it includes Guided Hands-on and written training support, real-life scenarios.

This training hugely lacks the hands-on/ real-life approach like:

here is Docker. this is the command line this is the file, etc.

The voice seems to be text to speech. (I hope I am not wrong because I do not intend to offend anyone. My only point is that I don't see the target of the training. If you want me to use Docker on IBM cloud, let's see how we can actually use it)

I went through the first week but I decided it is not well-invested time. Overall it is good if you know nothing about Docker but it will not make you familiar with it either.

By Stephan K

Dec 17, 2020

Demanding but achievable in short time great result, thanks and good luck.

By Mark H

Feb 15, 2021

I have to be very honest, I found this course a bit of a problem. Some of the practicals didn't work.

Also the final assignment was very clear either.

By Paul B

Feb 19, 2021

The course content is fine, but the final project is an absolute mess and is impossible to complete.

By Artur

Dec 22, 2020

Many thanks to the team that made this course!

If before starting it I was absolutely not aware of what Docker and subsequent technologies are, now I know much more and have a good understanding of these.

Thank you!

By Shichao Y

Dec 26, 2020

It's a recommended course for those who wanna step into the world of DevOps. The practice is well-designed for beginners and requires merely a fundamental background knowledge.

By Cameron H

Feb 4, 2021

This was actually a worth while tutorial on the basics of K8s and tools that go along with it. (2021)

By tanbir m

Feb 24, 2021

It is very good introduction and some hands-on experience course for the beginners.

By Tuncer T

Dec 31, 2020

A very good introductory course, but there are little problems in lab sessions.

By Srini K

Dec 28, 2020

Love the hands-on approach. very good introduction to a complex topic

By Maria J L B

Jan 13, 2021

¡Estupendo! Me ha proporcionado una visión de todo muy completa.

By Nadir L

Feb 1, 2021

Excellent course. Very well taught and practical.

By Mohamed A M

Nov 8, 2020

Thank you coursera and big thanks as well to IBM

By Sertaç C

Feb 24, 2021

please fix platform errors rest is fine

By Vitalie P

Dec 28, 2020

IBM cloud is exceptionally good

By leol

Dec 2, 2020

Very informative session!

By Ahmad S

Dec 24, 2020

Very Good hands on labs

By Mohamed Z C

Nov 20, 2020

The Course represents a good starting point for everyone who want to use containers, however, i think it could be better if there were more hands on labs.

By Iñaki C

Feb 22, 2021

Problems with final submition, but great introdoctury course.

By Mohamed A K D

Nov 27, 2020

Very good class.

Exams and Practices was very interesting

By gwendoline s

Feb 23, 2021

FYI, there are some mistakes in the quizz

By Martin Z

Feb 25, 2021

This course gives a nice overview about containers. That's about it, however.

Many command line examples and configuration files are only explained vaguely and the labs (including the final graded one) resemble guided tours rather than playgrounds. One or two of the labs were broken and the forums are full of calls for help or assistance that are being ignored by mentors (should there be any).

Finally, the graded quizzes are often phrased imprecisely or delve on trivia and things that were only mentioned in passing.