Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift by IBM Skills Network

4.4
stars
348 ratings

About the Course

After completing this course, you will be able to build applications in a cloud native way using containerization tools and technologies, and deploy your applications in any public, private or hybrid cloud at incredible scale. This course introduces you to containers and explains how containers differ from virtual machines. It also covers the importance of containers in cloud computing, as well as the emerging ecosystem of related technologies such as Docker, Kubernetes, Red Hat OpenShift, and Istio. Throughout the course you will apply what you learn with hands-on labs. From getting started with Docker, to orchestration and scaling with Kubernetes, and simplifying deployments with OpenShift. The labs are performed using your web browser on IBM Cloud and Skills Network Labs environments, that are made available to you at no charge. in the project at the end of the course you will build a container image and deploy and scale it on Cloud using OpenShift. Containerization is likely the most significant invention in IT since the introduction of virtualization. Open source projects like Kubernetes and products like Red Hat OpenShift have become standards for people looking to deploy and manage containers at scale. Everyone from small startups to large multinational corporations is transitioning to these technologies, and they are looking for people who are skilled in these areas. This course is of interest to anyone who wants to be a cloud practitioner - cloud developers, cloud architects, cloud system engineers, devops engineers, cloud networking specialists and many other roles. The material also serves the needs of those who perform the tasks of advising, consulting, building, moving and managing cloud solutions. There are no hard requirements needed to be able to take this course other than basic computer literacy, and a foundation level understanding of Cloud Computing....

Top reviews

RB

Dec 25, 2021

The course was really helpful and cleared the concept and idea behind using containers. The hands-on lab exercise helped me in understanding the code in a better way.

GM

Jun 29, 2021

Great introduction course! The tools provided by IBM and OpenShift are a must to anyone who wants run and scaling containerized applications in the cloud with ease.

Filter by:

101 - 114 of 114 Reviews for Introduction to Containers w/ Docker, Kubernetes & OpenShift

By Luca M

May 28, 2021

Too many problems with the Labs, but if fixed the course is smooth and nice

By Frank R

May 19, 2021

Too much guided assignments

By Zach D

Dec 30, 2021

Had high hopes for this course, but it is NOT worth it. Along with a few other issues the lab environment is unbearable.

The information in the instructional portion is great and easy to follow along to, but I've run into multiple issues with the lab environment including:

- Running into connection errors,

-Not given proper guidance on replacement criteria (for example it will say something along the lines of "input <$YOUR_ACCOUNTNAME>" in which case you don't know if you're supposed to use <ACCOUNT_NAME>, ACCOUNT_NAME, or $ACCOUNT_NAME and have to play around with multiple inputs before getting the right one

- Most frustrating was not being able to troubleshoot. Some connection issues can be resolved by logging out and clearing cache according to the forums, however I was physically unable to logout as the lab environment stalled for 15 minutes before I gave up.

Additionally, you will NOT receive feedback on incorrect quiz answers so you'll be left not knowing why you were wrong and have to research answers on your own.

After completing a few weeks of assignments I will not be finishing the course as it is not proving to be worth it.

By Tim R

Aug 5, 2022

Basically well explained, but the course can not be completed, because div. problems arose. Authorization failed. Routing of the application not accessible. I have now spent 4h + to search forums and still it remains unsuccessful.

By Skye F

Aug 15, 2022

Final project connections were extremely unreliable and it was a struggle to wait for everything to work to finish the source.

By David C

Oct 8, 2021

nice course destroyed by missing instructions for final review requirements

By Edan G

Aug 13, 2022

ibm cloud sucks

By David J K

Aug 12, 2022

T​he IBM cloud account creation did not work. The support had to do it manually. The outcome was an account, which was not authorised to create a namespace, which was one of the first instructions in a lab. I hope support will fix this.

E​DIT: Support did not fix the account, they created the namespace manually and got back to me, of course the next step failed immediately as I was no able to create a Natural Language Understandin serive required for the final exam. A staff member in the discussion forum replied and claimed I could use a pay-as-you-go account even though a working trial account was part of the course I am paying for. This is literally the worst customer experience I ever whitnessed.

By Ozan S

Apr 17, 2022

The course requires you to create a free account from cloud.ibm.com but due to a change in IBM policy, you can't do that anymore. You need to enter your credit card and create a non-free account.

Anyway, I think it is ok to pay some amount and create my own account to complete this course. But no success, the site charged an amount from my credit card while giving an error on the welcome page. I gave up and took another course.

As the information in the course is outdated, I am dissappointed.

By Jens S

Feb 15, 2022

The introduction to Docker and Kubernetes is rather short and shallow. The remainder of the course focuses on a very buggy and slow web UI to manage Kubernetes, which seems completely unnecessary. I recommend to use the official Kubernetes tutorials instead.

By Hamza R

Jul 13, 2022

Too much information on Kubernetes. It should be taken slowly, step by step. Useless tutorial as it goes to advanced level. I have to study too much from elsewhere.

By Jorge A L M

Nov 15, 2021

I could not finish the course because of failures in openshift web console app. It never worked when trying to open the lab for per grade assignment.

By Ricardo R

Jun 2, 2022

This is a copy paste from a corporate training.

There was not even a real professor but it was just an AI voice over of slides.

By Frederic B

Jun 14, 2021

T​he course is good in general but the labs have many errors and do not allow to finish the course in time.