Chevron Left
Back to Intermediate Object-Oriented Programming for Unity Games

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Intermediate Object-Oriented Programming for Unity Games by University of Colorado System

4.7
66 ratings
18 reviews

About the Course

This course is the third course in the specialization about learning how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course assumes you have the prerequisite knowledge from the previous two courses in the specialization. You should make sure you have that knowledge, either by taking those previous courses or from personal experience, before tackling this course. The required prerequisite knowledge is listed in the "Who this class is for" section below. Throughout this course you'll build on your foundational C# and Unity knowledge by developing more robust games with better object-oriented designs using file input and output, inheritance and polymorphism, and event handling. This course gives you even more tools to help you build great games with C# and Unity! Module 1: Start using files to implement your Unity games Module 2: Learn how inheritance and polymorphism help us write less code for our games Module 3: Implement event handling to make better object-oriented designs and add menus to your Unity games Module 4: Explore the complete implementation of a small Unity game Module 5: Complete final peer review “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

Top reviews

RC

Nov 22, 2018

I like Dr.T so much ! Best professor I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!! super fun and really useful! thanks a lot ! It's highly recommended!

DC

Jun 04, 2018

Hard to grasp at first but understandable if you put enough effort!

Filter by:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for Intermediate Object-Oriented Programming for Unity Games

By Annabel S

Jul 15, 2018

Most of it was good, but he could have explained event systems and how to implement them a lot better.

By Raivis J

May 02, 2019

Workload for week 3 assignment was a bit disproportionate, especially compared to week 4.

Concept of events and listeners was not discussed in detail, it would have benefited from general introduction of c# delegates.

By Hernan P d P

Apr 25, 2019

Completed the other two courses of the specialization super fast due to my previous coding experience, but here i struggled with some of the lessons. The teacher goes fast and when giving a new lesson doesn't loose too much time explaining things from previous lessons, which it can be a good or a bad thing. Very happy with the course overall.

By Jinwoong K

Apr 12, 2019

I liked this course

By Angeliclovewind

Apr 09, 2019

The part of event manager is too difficult to understand.

By Twinkal K R

Apr 05, 2019

this course is more useful

By Hiroki N

Feb 16, 2019

there are problems in programming patterns introduced in the course. The EventManager class should be the received of an event and then it should dispatch the event to the registered listener, instead of adding listeners to invokers there.

By Semenov N

Feb 14, 2019

Very good course. There are highlighted many important topics like Unity events, File Input/Output, Exceptions, Menu system and approach with special Manager classes for gamedevelopment in Unity.

By Maria B

Feb 04, 2019

It's the 3rd course of the specialization I took here, and this one was really usefull for me. I finally got how to use delegates/events, and also learned how to build more than one scene game. Very great experience that helps not only to create games but improve your coding as well.

By Alfonso E S P

Feb 01, 2019

Very interesting, Dynamic and Fun

By Ran C

Nov 22, 2018

I like Dr.T so much ! Best professor I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!! super fun and really useful! thanks a lot ! It's highly recommended!

By Pep S M

Sep 17, 2018

Funny and useful!

By Aaron A

Aug 19, 2018

A great teacher, very concise, great analogies. The course moves along at a decent pace, so you won't be twiddling your fingers, but you won't feel lost in the deep end.

Great coursework on event handling.

By Julia K

Aug 12, 2018

Great 3rd part of this specialization.

By Ngoc N

Jul 15, 2018

Great course. Learn step by step to build a simple game

By Danilo C

Jun 04, 2018

Hard to grasp at first but understandable if you put enough effort!

By Zheng L

May 10, 2018

solid knowledge and solid project

By Moustafa E E M M N

Apr 16, 2018

Assignment is not related to the course content, I have joined three courses with Dr. T and this is the fourth but really assignment is very hard to complete with only the course material which leads you to buy the book to finish. I don't like this course and if I found that the next course of specialization is the same I will cancel the whole specialization.