Chevron Left
Back to Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
2,545 ratings
888 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wished you knew how to program, but had no idea where to start from? This course will teach you how to program in Scratch, an easy to use visual programming language. More importantly, it will introduce you to the fundamental principles of computing and it will help you think like a software engineer....

Top reviews

MT
Jun 3, 2020

for a total beginner in coding, this course was the perfect start! It was easy to understand, and easy to program (coding wit already?)\n\nThank you so much for offering such a wonderful way to learn!

ED
Apr 4, 2016

the course is what the name says it is, an introduction to programming, great course for any code beginner. Lecturer is doing amazing job and keeping the lectures interesting, easy and understandable.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 896 Reviews for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

By SOKRATIS F

Jun 6, 2021

T​hank you !! Really valuable

By shubham s

Sep 18, 2018

Love the way they taught me

By Ahmed K

Sep 30, 2015

nice course i loved it

By Anne V

Jun 24, 2021

I was very helpful

By Nicolas A

Feb 10, 2021

It was pretty good

By 125 A N

May 31, 2020

Its alright to me

By surya a

May 10, 2020

Certificates PLZ

By Nuggu S V R

Oct 4, 2015

Great course!!!

By Pankaj G

Apr 26, 2020

Good start!!

By Богдан

Oct 7, 2015

Interesting!

By Yash P

Nov 29, 2020

Good course

By Rene M

May 17, 2021

Good one!

By Mohamed H M

Aug 20, 2020

perfect

By Anusha K

May 26, 2021

Good

By muzaffar a

May 21, 2021

GOOD

By Aniket S

Jan 9, 2021

Easy

By kayvan K F

Aug 30, 2016

good

By Rendra P

Apr 2, 2016

good

By tauha i

Apr 30, 2020

.

By Kristine R

Sep 22, 2020

A very interesting and interactive course with helpful quizzes and questions throughout the modules. The two project assignments were really fun to try out, especially the game assignment. I do see the pratical benefits of students reviewing eachothers projects as this would be an impossible task for staff to undertake (lectures not given in real time, no funding for this, etc) but I have a gard time accepting that peers don’t give honest reviews and don’t take the time to double check your code or try out different results in your assignments. If the dishonest reviews are based on hasty half heartened tries or just due to a lack of understanding the English language and the instructions given, I don’t know, but it bothers me that other people’s lack of engagement is what determines your final grade. As for the programming language; Scratch is not something to rely on if you’re Interested in pursuing a career within programming.

By Rebecca T

Jan 24, 2021

I wanted to like this class, but it's hard to navigate through this course when the material is for an earlier version of scratch. Many of the functions are very different between the two versions. It's even more frustrating because you are expected to use the older version of scratch to complete homework assignments. The material needs to be updated to apply to the most easily available version of scratch that is currently out there.

By Masako S

Jan 5, 2021

The contents are interesting. However, the video needs lot more work. Codes are almost invisible. Explanations hard to follow. Because the study material were provided, I could see what is being taught. In my experience, the teacher speech that contains too many "we" in the speech is not that friendly for learning. The body language just invites negative feelings.

By David S

Sep 2, 2020

This course covered the basics of computer programming and software engineering. Though it use scratch desktop as it programming tool, knowledge from this course can be applied in any other programming language with regards to the approaches to designing a program.

By Brieuc A

Jun 21, 2019

Very clear, easy to understand, and taught with a lot of good humour. A warning, however: if you are serious about programming and want to learn a lot in a short time span, this course will be much too light and superficial for you.

By Michael K

May 19, 2021

In den Videos wird leider eine andere Scratch Version angezeigt als zur verfügung steht. Die Zeitansätze für die Übungen sind manchmal viel zu kurz, vor allem für die Übungen die hochgeladen werden sollen.