Chevron Left
Back to Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
3,120 ratings

About the Course

Have you ever wished you knew how to program, but had no idea where to start from? This course will teach you how to program in Scratch, an easy to use visual programming language. More importantly, it will introduce you to the fundamental principles of computing and it will help you think like a software engineer....

Top reviews

EA

Jun 3, 2020

for a total beginner in coding, this course was the perfect start! It was easy to understand, and easy to program (coding wit already?)

Thank you so much for offering such a wonderful way to learn!

ED

Apr 4, 2016

the course is what the name says it is, an introduction to programming, great course for any code beginner. Lecturer is doing amazing job and keeping the lectures interesting, easy and understandable.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,083 Reviews for Code Yourself! An Introduction to Programming

By Sodiqov A F o

Mar 15, 2023

5

By Okechukwu N

Aug 31, 2021

.

By Eizhele g

Jun 27, 2021

By sailaja d

Jun 18, 2021

By NIKOLAOS L

Nov 3, 2020

A

By Tharuka W

Aug 19, 2020

y

By Jolibeth S H A

Jul 7, 2020

i

By Deleted A

Jan 11, 2016

E

By Foong Y L

Dec 14, 2015

f

By jarrod j

Sep 18, 2015

i

By Florence W

Feb 22, 2022

At first, I was a littel apprehensive about taking an online webinar class. Not sure if I would receive the information I need. But this class was really good. I was able to obtain a better insight into programming structures and design. Each class was well laid out and easy to follow. There was one thing I found that was not so good and that was nagavting for the resources, project submissions, peer grading. The way it is laid out, Its difficult to locate if your not within the class structure. Having those links readily available form any location within the course I think, would be better. I had heard of Scratch before, but never ventured to find out about the platform. I was pleasantly surprised, I will be using it more now that I have been exposed to it....Thank you for the learning.

By Ariadne T

Aug 26, 2015

The course was highly informative, entertainingly presented and does not require an unreasonable amount of time to complete. It serves well as an introduction to programming, especially the two course projects, where the peer review system works well. The instructors and mentors show a commitment to helping students and improving the already well-run course. An unusual and welcome feature of this Coursera course is the immediate verification of one's typing. My only criticism is the lack of downloadable written/pdf material related to the course, although students who go on to learn programming languages will likely relearn much of the knowledge they gained here.

By Fiona N

Jul 15, 2020

If you're like I was (prior to this course), which is someone who can barely function a computer, let alone program anything, then this is a great course for you. Scratch (the programming tool used throughout the course) is definitely geared toward kids learning to program, but I still found this course useful in learning the basic terminology of coding and the thought processes required to successfully program something. After completing this, I'm eager to take a course in the basic principles of HTML, CSS, and Java, and to learn how to work WordPress (and I actually feel confident that such a course will make sense to me!)

By Cynthia D

Jun 7, 2020

This is a really good course for someone who wants to start coding. When you are learning a coding language, every course I have taken assumes you have knowledge about things you do not. They are not truly beginning courses. This course really gives you the fundamentals to understand how to code and what to think about when trying to code. I didn't give this course five stars because I don't think the moderators were involved enough. There were quite a few problems with Scratch and for a beginning course, students need a little more input from moderators. So glad I took this course.

By Deleted A

May 15, 2020

The videos and presentation of material were a bit lackluster but the content was very interesting and I feel like I have a solid foundation in programming in Scratch. I would have liked more discussion on how to apply what we learned in Scratch to other types of programming, like near the end when the instructors compared Scratch to Python. I think it would have been more useful to learn about other applications for programming throughout the course instead of just near the end.

All in all, though, I had a great time!

By RAJYASRI N

Jun 30, 2021

The course 'Code yourself- An introduction to programming' is very well designed and I want to specially thank my teacher, Ms. Areti, for the way she presented.  I would give 4.5 out of 5 for the course. Thank you Coursera for giving me the opportunity to know the basics of programming.  For someone with more than 3 decades of teaching experience, it was fun time being a student once again and it has opened up a lot of possibilities for designing  learning activities.

By Jawairia M

Jan 25, 2023

It was a great course! but there are a few points you should add for the learners to understand things better:

1. Please in the start of course add list of all blocks used in scratch and its uses and then take a quiz so before starting the course a student knows what is going to be implemented in the program.

2. Before even adding blocks to program in lecture there should be a pop up screen asking what do a student thinks which block will be used?

By Zakkiyya A G

Mar 6, 2022

Good course for introductory to programming. Starting in the middle of the course and near the end the course starting to move a little fast. It did not really explain in detail how to use some of the different tools for the blocks. I just wish the course spent a little more time on utilizing varibles, utilizing operations, utilizing control options, utilizing events and creating new blocks. Overall, the course was fun.

By RANJITHKUMAR M

Sep 28, 2022

Polarization is used in sunglasses to reduce the glare. Polaroid filters are used in plastic industries for performing stress analysis tests. Three-dimensional movies are produced and shown with the help of polarization. Polarization is used for differentiating between transverse and longitudinal waves.08-Jan-2021https://byjus.com › ... › Light Sources

Polarization of Light - Definition, 

By Gregory B

Mar 12, 2016

Great course on introductory computer programming! The video lectures are clear, concise, and well-produced. Quizzes and assignments integrate and reinforce learning objectives well, while still adding new challenges. The fact that Instructor Areti Manataki is gorgeous, very articulate and knowledgeable, and enthusiastic is an added bonus!!

By Yajayra S C

Sep 14, 2015

This is an excellent introduction to programming. The exercises are very dynamic and the tutors did a great job by explaining the program, both in English and Spanish. The bonus interview might seem like extra time but it's totally worth it. The only recommendation for the class is not to rush the exercises after the 3 week. Thank you!

By Muhammad A B H M K

May 11, 2020

I really like this course. I can really follow the syllabus that they designed. I have no background on programming. Learn scratch as an intro definitely gives me alot exposure and i intend to pursue further in programming. Really enjoy it. Absolutely recommended it for those who would like to get basic intro into programming.

By Magne H B

Oct 20, 2015

This course is pretty fun. Also, despite the perhaps childlike impression one gets of the programming language Scratch, it still resembles other languages in logic and in prinsiple. Towards the end of the course, we saw the same few lines of code in Scratch and Python, and it showed their similarity.

By jonathan a

May 27, 2018

I have to admit it has been the easiest introduction into coding I have come across so far. i am happy i made this choice. i would have given a five star but i just started and do not know what is ahead. i am sure by the end i would give 10 star rating if possible. And big thanks to Coursera.

By Luis P C

Oct 3, 2020

You will learn the foundational concepts of programming in a very fun and engaging way. Scratch is very intuitive and it is a wonderful idea to present the pieces of code as building blocks. Finally, there are several interviews with professionals of a wide variety of fields.