Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to DevOps

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to DevOps by IBM

4.8
stars
2,673 ratings

About the Course

Get started with your DevOps journey with this beginner-friendly course! DevOps skills are high in demand and expected to be one of the fastest-growing skills in the software industry. This course is designed to be a first step in obtaining those valuable skills. This self-paced introductory course explores DevOps as a cultural movement. It describes the business case for DevOps, and covers its essentials. This course teaches new ways of thinking, working, organizing, and measuring to fully realize the benefits of DevOps. By applying DevOps practices, you will be able to build better products for your users. You will learn how breaking down silos and organizing developers and operators into single cross-functional teams is necessary for truly adopting DevOps. Having everyone contributing and everyone being responsible for success is at the heart of DevOps. You will see how building a culture of shared responsibility and transparency is the foundation of every high-performing DevOps teams. You’ll learn how you can use cloud native architecture to build resilience in your products and learn about helpful DevOps tools like horizontal scaling and independently deployable microservices. You will explore how Agile Methodologies like Scrum are crucial to DevOps as well as learn about Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery (CI/CD), which enables frequent deployments and working as a team to create high-quality code. This course concludes with case studies about DevOps-based scenarios, which you will analyze and relate to DevOps concepts learnt throughout this course. This course is designed for those new to DevOps as well as those looking to increase their current knowledge of DevOps....

Top reviews

AA

Mar 11, 2022

It is really a great course toward understanding what DevOps really is. After taking this course, your all perspective of DevOps will change and your mindset will change with a new DevOps thoughts :).

ME

May 25, 2022

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 695 Reviews for Introduction to DevOps

By Charles T

Oct 29, 2022

Very enthusiastic instructor. Information was delivered clearly and covered interesting topics that better helped me grasp the cultural changes of DevOps and how it improves the development process.

By Adeyinka O

Feb 20, 2022

Can't wait to undertake any other course facilitated by this instructor. The presentation is fantastic, deep, and all-inclusive, and you're just buried into it and never wanting to take a break.

By Anna M

Feb 28, 2023

It is not beginner-friendly at all, and you should have a solid knowledge of web/mobile development to understand everything properly.

The thing I hate the most is quiz and assessment design not aiming to test your real proficiency, but rather some ephemeral concepts. I've passed everything 100%, but there's hardly anything I could really implement in the future workplace.

Also, I would really appreciate practice, which is entirely lacking in this course, unfortunately.

By Bram V D

Jun 24, 2023

This was an odd one. There's very little in terms of real content. This entire course could have been summed up in a 10 minute introduction to DevOps. The lecturer is weirdly intense and opinionated, bordering on the aggressive. The quizzes are oddly specific, featuring questions about which conference early DevOps pioneers attended -- as if that's in any way relevant knowledge.

By Mihisara K

Mar 20, 2022

I learned a lot from this course. I love the energy in Mr. Rofrano. He's an excellent Instructor. I really appreciate the course. Made learning much easy. Thanks a lot, Coursera.

By Mohammad J

Jun 29, 2022

I'm new to programming and have never worked in the industry so most of this went over my head. However, I was able to see the bigger picture and learn about how to optimize and better utilize teams to get work done efficiently.

The instructor was extremely insightful and made this course interesting and easy to learn.

As an aside, this course took roughly 6 hrs to complete watching at 1.25x speed

By Syachin D

Feb 15, 2022

Very interesting and useful course! I would like to see fewer questions about history in the tests, like "who wrote this book". I also think this course is not quite for beginners, maybe you should also make a note about this on the course description

By Hasan H

Aug 27, 2023

It was an amazing journey. This course made me familiar with many concepts I had difficulty understanding. It inspired me to continue my journey on learning more about DevOps. Great job, coursera!

By Swetanshu P

Apr 7, 2023

The course content is about introduction and it's very short . They will provide u all kind of knowledge and introductory for devops which is just overview, it wont make u a devops engineer , might you have to have a proper knowledge of devops in proper way

By Fadhil A

May 8, 2022

I would highly recommend this course to everyone working in tech. Regardless of one's career. This course is not just about tools or technologies, it is about work practice and culture; The Culture of DevOps, taking this course has helped me in getting a better knowledge of many thing, It has helped open my mind to what DevOps actually is ad how the culture if applied correctly could be used to improve business and work.

Being an Engineer in Operations, I was able to relate with almost everything in this course, and I certainly understand and have an insight into Knowledge that I never thought of before.

This course would be beneficial to everyone in tech.

By Francisco L M

Apr 28, 2022

I really loved the course. The content is well structured and organized, the instructor has a way of explaining content in such an amazing, funny and engaging way.

I am confident to keep on learning about this cultural change "DevOps" that is impacting the way organizations build and deploy software. And most of the things I learned can be used in may other domains

By Jermaine T

Apr 27, 2022

I enjoyed the course. I really urge students to take their time and don't try to rush throught the course. Let every piece of information sink in, and engage in the discussion modules to really reflect and write on these topics.

By Joel D

Apr 4, 2022

This was a great introductory course! I really enjoyed the narration of the entire course, I felt like the narrator really put his all into it. I think his passion for the topic really helped me stay interested.

By Samuel A B

Apr 21, 2022

Exceptional. Thank you for sharing this wonderful and insightful knowledge with me. I hope to apply these principles not only in my organization but in every aspect of my life.

By Savio E

Jan 26, 2022

It was a fabulous course and all thanks to the passionate trainer John Rofrano.

By Kennedy I N

Nov 25, 2022

All thanks to John Rofrano for being a fantastic teacher.

He explained everything in detail, and even as a beginner, I understood and had a conviction for DevOps and software engineering.

But I had a problem, There were no practical lessons regarding the tools mentioned. I'm a beginner, and when I saw the employment criteria for a software engineer and DevOps. They require practical knowledge not theory. I mean how to use, operate and write codes with the tools.

Big Thanks to IBM and the lovely team

By SYED A A

Dec 12, 2022

GREATE EXPERIENCE LEARN SOME NEW SKILLS

By Zachary W

Mar 23, 2023

Overly repetitive - the number of lecture videos could probably be cut in half. Most of the course content seemed to be trying to sell DevOps rather than teach anything of value. I don't necessarily disagree with any of the benefits of DevOps claimed, but it felt like the instructor was trying to get me to join his MLM scheme.

By Fadi G

Jan 30, 2024

a lot of repetitions in this course making it takes much longer than it should, which leads the learner to lose interest in the track he wants to study.

By Ajay C

Feb 10, 2023

Basic course. Such theory is easy to learn in google search.

By Jan-Martin M

Mar 20, 2024

Sorry but it bored me very much. I want to know what DevOps is and not learn for the 10th Time what agile, waterfall, yadayada is

By Zuleika H

Aug 14, 2022

no examples of relevant practices

By Deleted A

Apr 28, 2023

"Introduction to DevOps" is an excellent resource for anyone looking to learn about this transformative software development methodology. The course provides a comprehensive overview of the key principles, practices, and tools that make up the DevOps approach.

The instructor's clear and concise explanations make the material easy to understand, even for beginners. The course covers everything from the history of DevOps to its modern-day applications, including agile methodologies, continuous integration and delivery, and infrastructure as code.

One of the most valuable aspects of this course is its emphasis on collaboration and communication between development and operations teams. The instructor provides practical tips and tools for breaking down silos and fostering a culture of teamwork and shared responsibility.

Overall, I highly recommend "Introduction to DevOps" to anyone looking to improve their software development processes and stay ahead of the curve in today's fast-moving technology landscape. The course is informative, engaging, and practical, and the instructor's expertise and enthusiasm shine through in every lesson. Five stars all around!

By Astronomical 1

Aug 17, 2023

Amazing! Even if you are not a seasoned, totally experienced software developer (like me right now), or if you are just making a pivot into the software industry, you should take the time to learn these basics. The instructor explained the DevOps methodology in a way that I could understand it -- someone without any DevOps experience. The way he taught the fundamentals helped me understand them in a way that I could potentially see opportunities to organize teams in a way where tremendous impact could be made in almost any industry. My only regret is that I did not take this course earlier -- I had taken other DevOps fundamentals courses, but did not really feel that I could understand and grasp it well, except for maybe a few tools and practices. But this course helped me understand the fundamental needs to advocate for the one most important thing needed to make teams work DevOps -- the CULTURAL change!

By Rafid R F

Apr 25, 2024

I've just completed the 'Introduction to DevOps' course by IBM on Coursera! 🎓 This insightful journey has equipped me with the essential knowledge and skills needed to thrive in the dynamic world of software development and operations. From embracing a culture of shared responsibility to mastering Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery, I've gained a deep understanding of key DevOps principles and practices. With a focus on building resilient code, leveraging cloud native microservices, and breaking down organizational silos, I'm ready to drive impactful change in any team or organization. Grateful for the opportunity to learn from industry leaders like IBM, and excited to apply my newfound expertise to achieve my career goals!